Posted on 10-01-16, 12:34 pm
Panser
I AM DERP INCARNATE

Karma: 493
Posts: 178/328
Since: 08-20-16
Posted by Hiccup
Pretty sure there is a thread for a "tileset animations ASM hack" that may be of use.

But does that hack also make Mario able to appear BEHIND the tiles?
...I don't think so.
As far as i know, the quicksand animation works like the pipe textures, except that the quicksand is animated while the pipe textures aren't
Maybe that's another one of those hardcoded things. I'll go ask on Misc. patches thread
rip signature
Posted on 10-02-16, 08:07 pm
I Am Not Inteligent

Karma: 954
Posts: 257/380
Since: 03-04-14
I have a silly question: what happens if you increase the ROM's size? Like from the original 32 MB to 64 MB. Are there any benefits in doing so or is it bad and breaks the ROM or something?

I could not…
Posted on 10-03-16, 10:38 am
Roy Koopa
The guy who does things.

Karma: 12146
Posts: 2242/2784
Since: 07-01-11
Doesn't do any harm, I believe.

NSMBe expands the ROM size as it's needed anyway, though.
New Super Mario Bros.: Clone Tag Team 1+2 / New Super Mario Advance + Take 2 / Super Mario: Endless Earth
My two greatest assets have been mental stability and being, like, really smart.
Posted on 10-03-16, 01:41 pm
Panser
I AM DERP INCARNATE

Karma: 493
Posts: 188/328
Since: 08-20-16
I can't find the right palette file for UI_O_1P_game_in_d_ncg.bin, which one is it??
rip signature
Posted on 10-03-16, 08:27 pm (rev. 1 by Asprok on 10-05-16, 01:41 pm)
I Am Not Inteligent

Karma: 954
Posts: 260/380
Since: 03-04-14
Posted by MarioKart7z
I can't find the right palette file for UI_O_1P_game_in_d_ncg.bin, which one is it??

The palette is UI_O_1P_game_in_o_ud_ncl.bin, which is literally just after the image.

I could not…
Posted on 10-04-16, 01:03 pm (rev. 1 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 03:24 am)
Panser
I AM DERP INCARNATE

Karma: 493
Posts: 192/328
Since: 08-20-16
Posted by Asproek
Posted by MarioKart7z
I can't find the right palette file for UI_O_1P_game_in_d_ncg.bin, which one is it??

The palette is UI_O_game_in_o_ud_ncl.bin, which is literally just after the image.


^ This is how it looks like with all the 10 palettes in that file.
Tell me, just TELL me HOW is that supposed to look right
rip signature
Posted on 10-04-16, 01:33 pm
I Am Not Inteligent

Karma: 954
Posts: 261/380
Since: 03-04-14
You're supposed to tick the ‘16 Color’ checkbox on the palette window, you dummy. ;P Lol.

I could not…
Posted on 10-04-16, 01:49 pm (rev. 1 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 03:24 am)
Panser
I AM DERP INCARNATE

Karma: 493
Posts: 193/328
Since: 08-20-16
Posted by Asproek
You're supposed to tick the ‘16 Color’ checkbox on the palette window, you dummy. ;P Lol.


Took a while to look through all the 170+ palettes, but guess what, none of them look right in the slightest
rip signature
Posted on 10-04-16, 02:37 pm (rev. 1 by Asprok on 10-04-16, 10:24 pm)
I Am Not Inteligent

Karma: 954
Posts: 262/380
Since: 03-04-14
Then you must've done something wrong (or maybe I did?). Did you LZ-compress the palette before using it? Perhaps that's why it doesn't look right, though I didn't do it and it displayed fine.

I'll edit this post with an image if needed later.
EDIT: No, you definitely didn't do it right. Click the spoiler for the image. Also, the palette only splits into 15, don't need to exaggerate.


-_-
You silly, the image you're talking about is UI_O_1P_game_in_u_ncg.bin, that's why you get the wrong results. Please, ensure that you're giving proper details if you want help the next time—though it's part my fault for not seeing the image you attached, so sorry for that. The correct palette for that image is d_2d_UI_O_1P_game_in_o_ud_ncl.bin (and remember to tick the ‘16 Color’ option). :)

I could not…
Posted on 10-05-16, 03:50 am
Boomerang Brother
SEE YOU SPACE COWBOY...

Karma: 2193
Posts: 55/1045
Since: 02-12-16
How to replace music? I don't understand anything from Dirbaio's thread and custom musics could be cool. I only need to know how to put the musics in game since I'm getting in from the free-to-use SSEQ thread.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 10-05-16, 04:36 am
I Am Not Inteligent

Karma: 954
Posts: 265/380
Since: 03-04-14
There is a way to import SSEQs directly into the ROM (replacing the original ones), though I don't know how to do it or what program to use for that. The old-fashioned way (what I personally do) is as follows:
  1. Download Orengefox's modified sound_data folder (which basically organizes every single file numerically).
  2. Let's say you obtained this “nsmb2_castle.sseq” file from that thread—which is a rendition of the castle BGM from New Super Mario Bros. 2—and it's compatible with files WAVE_SHIRO.swar and BANK_SHIRO.sbnk. With the help of VGMTrans and opening up the ROM or just simply by intuition, you will need to find the SSEQ that uses the respective SWAR and BANK files (case in point: BGM_SHIRO.sseq).
  3. Cut and paste your custom SSEQ into the modified folder, copy/note the name of the original SSEQ, delete that file and rename your custom SSEQ to the original name (case in point: “nsmb2_castle.sseq” to “17 BGM_SHIRO”; whether it has an extension or not doesn't matter).
  4. Copy the path of the modified sound_data folder (e. g., C:\Users\pizza pie\NSMB\sound_data).
  5. Start NDS Editor, aka kiwi.ds. On the tab, select ‘Tools’, then ‘Make Sdat File...’ and paste the path in the Source Files Folder field. Press OK.
  6. You got a custom sound_data.sdat file! You may now close kiwi.ds. You can listen to the result by opening it up in VGMTrans, though not always does it sound accurate.
  7. Import back into NSMB and enjoy!
Hope I got that clear enough. By the way, Orengefox's tutorial on how to create SSEQs is outdated, you must read some of  KingYoshi's most recent posts there to know what exactly to do. Oh, and if you're gonna use any of my SSEQs, download those which are shown in my latest post.  MarioFanatic64's aren't updated.

I could not…
Posted on 10-05-16, 01:35 pm
Panser
I AM DERP INCARNATE

Karma: 493
Posts: 195/328
Since: 08-20-16
Posted by Asproek
Then you must've done something wrong (or maybe I did?). Did you LZ-compress the palette before using it? Perhaps that's why it doesn't look right, though I didn't do it and it displayed fine.

I'll edit this post with an image if needed later.
EDIT: No, you definitely didn't do it right. Click the spoiler for the image. Also, the palette only splits into 15, don't need to exaggerate.



You silly, the image you're talking about is UI_O_1P_game_in_u_ncg.bin, that's why you get the wrong results. Please, ensure that you're giving proper details if you want help the next time—though it's part my fault for not seeing the image you attached, so sorry for that. The correct palette for that image is d_2d_UI_O_1P_game_in_o_ud_ncl.bin (and remember to tick the ‘16 Color’ option).

Huh? What? UI_O_1P_game_in_u_ncg.bin fails to open on NSMBe. I'm 100% sure i was talking about game_in_d
rip signature
Posted on 10-05-16, 01:45 pm
I Am Not Inteligent

Karma: 954
Posts: 266/380
Since: 03-04-14
You must be confused. You're totally speaking of UI_O_1P_game_in_u_ncg.bin and anybody else can confirm that (please, do).

I could not…
Posted on 10-05-16, 01:49 pm
Panser
I AM DERP INCARNATE

Karma: 493
Posts: 196/328
Since: 08-20-16
Posted by Asproek
You must be confused. You're totally speaking of UI_O_1P_game_in_u_ncg.bin and anybody else can confirm that (please, do).

DAMN YOU, BROKEN FNT.BIN!!!!11!11ONE!!11!1
rip signature
Posted on 10-24-16, 09:30 am (rev. 1 by  HonorableBore on 10-24-16, 09:39 am)
Paragoomba
Needs to learn English/manners.

Karma: -94
Posts: 1/74
Since: 10-24-16
I have a problem:
I don't know how to change the cannon. It is originally designed that it goes from W1 to W5, but I want to change it to W2. But even if I change the data, the icon still appears to be W5. May I ask what's matter!?

P.S. Also, I don't know how to open the NSMBe World Map Editor. (.nds Files cannot be loaded. ☹️)
_________________________
My username is made by a random word generator. Be sure to check out my hack! I will do my best on Remake Super Mario Random!
Posted on 10-24-16, 10:01 am
Fuzzy
Will never finish a hack

Karma: 1773
Posts: 375/777
Since: 03-25-16
Firstly, I don't think editing the cannon destination is possible without hex editing/ASM.
And you don't open .nds files. You need to extract overlay 9_8 and use that. It may have to be decompressed as well. Although a simple search should give you the answer to that.
_________________________
hey look, I did a thing
Posted on 10-24-16, 10:36 am (rev. 1 by  HonorableBore on 10-24-16, 10:37 am)
Paragoomba
Needs to learn English/manners.

Karma: -94
Posts: 2/74
Since: 10-24-16
Posted by cros107
Firstly, I don't think editing the cannon destination is possible without hex editing/ASM.
And you don't open .nds files. You need to extract overlay 9_8 and use that. It may have to be decompressed as well. Although a simple search should give you the answer to that.

Thanks!
_________________________
My username is made by a random word generator. Be sure to check out my hack! I will do my best on Remake Super Mario Random!
Posted on 10-24-16, 11:26 am (rev. 2 by  MarioFanatic64 on 10-24-16, 11:27 am)
Roy Koopa
The guy who does things.

Karma: 12146
Posts: 2272/2784
Since: 07-01-11
Posted by cros107
Firstly, I don't think editing the cannon destination is possible without hex editing/ASM.

This is not true at all, the Warp Cannon's sprite data can be set to go to any world.

The issue is that there is no texture for any world number that weren't used in the final game. There were no cannons that warped to W2, so there is no W2 graphic.
New Super Mario Bros.: Clone Tag Team 1+2 / New Super Mario Advance + Take 2 / Super Mario: Endless Earth
My two greatest assets have been mental stability and being, like, really smart.
Posted on 10-24-16, 11:34 am
Fuzzy
Will never finish a hack

Karma: 1773
Posts: 376/777
Since: 03-25-16
Oh. Alright, sorry.
_________________________
hey look, I did a thing
Posted on 10-28-16, 02:14 am (rev. 2 by  Ndymario on 10-28-16, 02:15 am)
Melon Bug
That MvL Hacker

Karma: 1319
Posts: 126/728
Since: 04-11-15
Couldn't you use ASM and load a file/texture or is this non asm?

EDIT I should probably learn to read the previous posts, lol
_________________________
I'm the only person on this board that hacked MvL before it was cool.

Here's my MvL Hacking thread | Here's the MvL Community Hack! Archived, rip MvsL:CR

If you hack Mario vs Luigi, consider joining my Discord Server!

#HakingNoMore