Posted on 10-19-16, 01:41 pm
Bandit

defenetly


Karma: 3918
Posts: 688/806
Since: 06-09-12
If you just recolor the old model there is no need for a new animations file.
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - RHCafé - YouTube
Posted on 10-23-16, 07:32 am
Ninji


Karma: 213
Posts: 192/249
Since: 04-09-16
when I insert the ASM hack for the spike I get an error. How can I fix?
Posted on 10-23-16, 07:40 am
Morton Koopa
The guy who does things.

Karma: 8341
Posts: 2269/2449
Since: 07-01-11
Did you 1. Add new files to the ROM, 2. Import a retextured Spike model into one of the new files, and 3. change 'MODEL ID' in the patch to the file ID of the new Spike model?

Because you need to do all of those things.
New Super Mario Bros.: Clone Tag Team 1+2 / New Super Mario Advance + Take 2 / Super Mario: Endless Earth (Coming Soon!)
Here's a little lesson in trickery, this is going down in history...
Posted on 10-23-16, 07:44 am
Ninji


Karma: 213
Posts: 193/249
Since: 04-09-16
I would like to do all this, but the tutorial to add files to the Rom is a bit complicated for me
Posted on 10-23-16, 08:08 am (rev. 1 by  MarioFanatic64 on 10-23-16, 08:09 am)
Morton Koopa
The guy who does things.

Karma: 8341
Posts: 2270/2449
Since: 07-01-11
In that case, you can just retexture the existing Snow Spike model and change 'MODEL ID' to '1417'.

But then the ordinary Snow Spike would look weird as a normal Spike.
New Super Mario Bros.: Clone Tag Team 1+2 / New Super Mario Advance + Take 2 / Super Mario: Endless Earth (Coming Soon!)
Here's a little lesson in trickery, this is going down in history...
Posted on 10-24-16, 04:01 pm (rev. 1 by  skawo on 10-30-16, 09:23 am)


Karma: 11619
Posts: 761/933
Since: 04-02-13
Upside-down Grounded Piranha Plants and Grounded Venus Fire Traps:
@Rotate model if Nybble 11 set repl_0217A100_ov_51: repl_0217AEFC_ov_51: LDR R0, [R4, #0x8] LSR R0, #0x4 ANDS R0, #0xF LDREQH R0, [R4,#0xC] BXEQ LR MOV R0, #0x8000 STRH R0, [R4, #0xA4] LDRH R0, [R4,#0xC] BX LR @No gravity if Nybble 11 set repl_0217A3C0_ov_51: repl_0217A2A4_ov_51: repl_0217B074_ov_51: repl_0217B17C_ov_51: repl_0217B2AC_ov_51: STMFD SP!, {LR} LDR R0, [R4, #0x8] LSR R0, #0x4 ANDS R0, #0xF LDMNEFD SP!, {PC} MOV R0, R4 BL 0x209C85C LDMFD SP!, {PC} @Move stem hitbox if Nybble 11 set: repl_0217A178_ov_51: LDR R0, [R4, #0x8] LSR R0, #0x4 ANDS R0, #0xF MOVEQ R3, #0x0 BXEQ LR LDR R0, =0x54C LDR R1, =0xFFFF4000 STR R1, [R4, R0] MOV R3, #0 BX LR @Move stem hitbox if Nybble 11 set: repl_0217AF60_ov_51: LDR R0, [R4, #0x8] LSR R0, #0x4 ANDS R0, #0xF MOVEQ R3, #0x0 BXEQ LR LDR R0, =0x4BC LDR R1, =0xFFFF3000 STR R1, [R4, R0] MOV R3, #0 BX LR

Works with nybble 11 = 1.
Posted on 10-24-16, 04:25 pm
Porcupo
I AM DERP INCARNATE

Karma: 370
Posts: 220/312
Since: 08-20-16
Yay, more ASM code to dump into my ROM for absolutely no reason!

Jokes aside, how do i actually have to place the plant for it to appear correctly attached to tiles in-game?

Posted on 10-24-16, 04:32 pm


Karma: 11619
Posts: 762/933
Since: 04-02-13
Bottom of upright plant is top of upside plant
Posted on 10-31-16, 10:12 am (rev. 3 by  skawo on 10-31-16, 10:13 am)


Karma: 11619
Posts: 779/933
Since: 04-02-13
Proper Blue Shell Block Type
repl_020D07B4_ov_0A: STMFD SP!, {LR} MOV R1, R4 LDR R4, =#0x0088002B CMP R1, R4 LDMNEFD SP!, {PC} BL getPtrToMarioOrLuigi ADD R0, R0, #0x700 LDRB R0, [R0, #0xAB] LDR R1, =#0x0088002B CMP R0, #4 LDREQ R1, =#0x00080000 CMP R0, #0 LDREQ R1, =#0x00080000 LDMFD SP!, {PC}

Not the best code there, but it makes the Blue Shell-type regular blocks actually spawn Mushrooms if you're small or mini (like they should) as opposed to always shells. Does not affect the map blocks.

Item on Select
hook_0211F844_ov_0A: STMFD SP!, {R0, R1, LR} LDR R0, =0x04000130 LDRB R0, [R0] LSR R0, #2 ANDS R0, #1 LDMNEFD SP!, {R0, R1, PC} LDR R0, =0x0208B698 LDR R1, =0x009500DA STR R1, [R0] LDR R1, =0x09600D40 STR R1, [R0, #0x8] LDR R1, =0x1 STR R1, [R0, #0x4] STR R1, [R0, #0xC] LDMFD SP!, {R0, R1, PC}


Better than the horrible C version.
Posted on 10-31-16, 07:50 pm (rev. 4 by  MarioKart7z on 11-01-16, 07:02 am)
Porcupo
I AM DERP INCARNATE

Karma: 370
Posts: 235/312
Since: 08-20-16
Is it possible to make the game not render polygons that can't be seen? Just to reduce slowdowns, i imported an airship model over W7 castle ('cause i made that level an airship level) and now it's slowing down badly whenever i'm in W7. I could just edit the model and reduce the polygon count myself, and i'd happily do it... if i had the tools to do it, LOL. Plus i'm afraid of ruining the look, i'd rather water down a less complex model that appears more frequently like the NSMBW tower model i got
(both models are not mine, you can see them in some thread in the hacking resources subforum, forgot which thread it is)

Posted on 10-31-16, 08:08 pm


Karma: 11619
Posts: 780/933
Since: 04-02-13
Sure, hire someone who can write 3D engines and maybe he could implement that for you
Posted on 11-05-16, 03:53 pm
Porcupo
I AM DERP INCARNATE

Karma: 370
Posts: 242/312
Since: 08-20-16
Skawo, i found out something very wrong with your "Disable broken view Unknown functions" patch.
The rotating rooms in W8-final castle do not work anymore.
I checked the rooms that rotate on-screen, and their view's Unknown 2 are all set to 1. That means that setting Unknown 2 to 1 enabled Event IDs 36 through 39's ability to rotate the room, and since your patch disables all the vanilla behaviours for the unknown values then you basically made vanilla W8-final castle unbeatable.
Plz fix.

Posted on 11-05-16, 05:17 pm (rev. 3 by  skawo on 11-05-16, 05:27 pm)


Karma: 11619
Posts: 782/933
Since: 04-02-13
Just get rid of nsub_0201F118_main: then.

Posted on 11-05-16, 05:27 pm
Boomboom
Disgustingly Immature Naive Smartass

Karma: 2247
Posts: 1922/1962
Since: 06-26-11
I thought those were meant to be something to do with broken&unused "different bgs/tilesets per-view" thing...
_________________________
WarioWare: D.I.Y. pallete
Posted on 11-05-16, 05:34 pm (rev. 2 by  skawo on 11-05-16, 05:35 pm)


Karma: 11619
Posts: 783/933
Since: 04-02-13
I thought Unk2 just did absolutely nothing at all.

Here's an alternate fix that allows you to move the rotating thing to whatever value you want:

repl_020AEB8C_ov_00: BL MygetUnk2ForView CMP R0, #5 <- Set this to whatever you want MOVEQ R0, #1 MOVNE R0, #0 B 0x20AEB90

edit: dangit
Posted on 11-10-16, 02:07 am
Snifit
Stupidly Random

Karma: 356
Posts: 146/294
Since: 04-11-15
Have an idea (part of it I've said before)
Enable Battle stars in Single player, then reuse that code that triggers end round in MvL and replace it with ending the level so you can have multiple "paths" without having a goal pole
_________________________
I'm 1 out of 2 people on this board that hacks MvL

Here's my MvL Hacking thread

http://nsmbhd.net/thread/3670-the-official-mvl-hacking-thread-mvl/

If you can read this, you have scrolled too far down
Posted on 11-10-16, 02:30 am


Karma: 11619
Posts: 792/933
Since: 04-02-13
it'd be fifty times easier to just write a new sprite
Posted on 11-10-16, 03:17 am
Snifit
Stupidly Random

Karma: 356
Posts: 147/294
Since: 04-11-15
Didn't think of that/I didn't know you could do that
_________________________
I'm 1 out of 2 people on this board that hacks MvL

Here's my MvL Hacking thread

http://nsmbhd.net/thread/3670-the-official-mvl-hacking-thread-mvl/

If you can read this, you have scrolled too far down
Posted on 11-12-16, 02:02 am (rev. 1 by  skawo on 11-12-16, 02:02 am)


Karma: 11619
Posts: 797/933
Since: 04-02-13
Disable Falling Rock BG Animation in Stages with Zoom > 16

repl_0216341C_ov_36: LDR R0, =0x20CADB4 LDR R0, [R0] CMP R0, #0x1000 LDREQ R0, [R5,#0x60] MOVNE R0, #0 BX LR

Posted on 11-12-16, 02:38 pm
Porcupo
I AM DERP INCARNATE

Karma: 370
Posts: 254/312
Since: 08-20-16
What falling rock animation? Do you mean that raining debris thingy?