Pages: 1
Posted on 03-09-19, 05:28 pm
Mariomaster

Karma: 7534
Posts: 1445/1536
Since: 06-09-12
Got a short question not worth creating a thread for? Ask here!
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 03-14-19, 01:12 am (rev. 2 by  Ezradekezra on 03-14-19, 01:13 am)
Panser
I wonder if anyone will notice that I changed this

Karma: 322
Posts: 292/326
Since: 01-28-17
How do you create animated tiles for NSMB2? Also, how many frames of animation are animated tiles limited to for NSMB2?
--___________
-/-----------------\
/-------------------\
|------|------|------|
|--------------------|
|---\________/---|
\-------------------/
-\___________/
Posted on 03-14-19, 01:22 am
Mariomaster

Karma: 7534
Posts: 1455/1536
Since: 06-09-12
NSMB2 sadly just like the other NSMB games hardcodes tile animations. All you can do without modifying the code is edit existing ones. The animation graphics are store in the tileset sarc files and can be exported and imported with CoinKiller's sarc explorer. The ctpk graphic files for the animations can for example be edited with Kukki (https://github.com/IcySon55/Kuriimu/releases).
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 03-17-19, 11:01 pm
Rated All-Time Best Gimzie

Karma: 117
Posts: 25/25
Since: 07-07-17
Yep, it's possible to also create copies of existing ones by editing their internal names via CoinKiller's SARC explorer, and then editing animated tiles using Kukki linked above.
Posted on 03-23-19, 06:50 pm
Panser
I wonder if anyone will notice that I changed this

Karma: 322
Posts: 294/326
Since: 01-28-17
Do I need to edit the sprite settings of a Star Coin to make it fall when a POW block is used?
--___________
-/-----------------\
/-------------------\
|------|------|------|
|--------------------|
|---\________/---|
\-------------------/
-\___________/
Posted on 03-24-19, 05:07 pm
Newcomer
Local mod

Karma: 93
Posts: 3/9
Since: 10-17-16

Explos


The star coins in NSMB2 can't be affected by the use of a POW block.
Posted on 07-10-19, 06:08 am


Karma: 3
Posts: 4/5
Since: 03-03-18
How does one hack NSMB2? Does it still (somehow) use the NSMBe or are the rom files edited manually?
Posted on 07-10-19, 08:08 am
Melon Bug
That MvL Hacker

Karma: 1299
Posts: 699/727
Since: 04-11-15
NSMB2 uses CoinKiller as the primary level editor. NSMBe is only for NSMB Ds
_________________________
I'm the only person on this board that hacked MvL before it was cool.

Here's my MvL Hacking thread | Here's the MvL Community Hack! Archived, rip MvsL:CR

If you hack Mario vs Luigi, consider joining my Discord Server!

#HakingNoMore
Posted on 07-17-19, 10:55 am
Goomba
In denial that someday the NSMB betas would be found since 2014

Karma: 22
Posts: 31/33
Since: 03-09-14
How do I create a bcres/bcmdl file? I'm trying to model swap Mario for Tux.

I've got the rigging done but I don't know how to convert it to bcres/bcmdl. I tried using EFE to convert it from an OBJ but it gave me an unhandled exception. Any help?
Posted on 07-17-19, 05:36 pm
Boomerang Brother
Thinking of something clever to put here

Karma: 2024
Posts: 941/1017
Since: 02-12-16
well I'm pretty sure bcres and bcmdl are 3DS formats and not DS formats. you should try to convert that to nsbmd.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 07-17-19, 10:02 pm
Goomba
In denial that someday the NSMB betas would be found since 2014

Karma: 22
Posts: 32/33
Since: 03-09-14
Posted by poudink
well I'm pretty sure bcres and bcmdl are 3DS formats and not DS formats. you should try to convert that to nsbmd.

I want to hack NSMB2, not NSMBDS. I might see into hacking DS instead though if I can't get bcmdl working.
Posted on 07-18-19, 03:40 pm
Boomerang Brother
Thinking of something clever to put here

Karma: 2024
Posts: 943/1017
Since: 02-12-16
oh shit I didn't see this was the NSMB2 section. sorry.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 07-18-19, 05:29 pm
Newcomer
Local mod

Karma: 93
Posts: 6/9
Since: 10-17-16

Explos


Right now the only way to make a bcres is with nintendoWare, so if you wanna do model stuff for nsmb2 you will need to obtain those tools first.
Posted on 07-20-19, 05:29 am (rev. 1 by  Alzter on 07-20-19, 05:37 am)
Goomba
In denial that someday the NSMB betas would be found since 2014

Karma: 22
Posts: 33/33
Since: 03-09-14
Posted by explos
Right now the only way to make a bcres is with nintendoWare, so if you wanna do model stuff for nsmb2 you will need to obtain those tools first.

Thanks.
Posted on 02-11-20, 02:53 am (rev. 2 by  Ezradekezra on 02-17-20, 03:53 am)
Panser
I wonder if anyone will notice that I changed this

Karma: 322
Posts: 325/326
Since: 01-28-17
Does anyone know which file I need to edit to change the color of the water in the world 3 map? Also, will editing this also change the color of the water in other world maps?

EDIT: Also, which file contains the blue sky backdrop for the world 3 map?

EDIT 2: The problem is that there's a special file that I'll need to change to affect the color of the water.
--___________
-/-----------------\
/-------------------\
|------|------|------|
|--------------------|
|---\________/---|
\-------------------/
-\___________/
Posted on 02-21-20, 06:28 pm
Newcomer
Local mod

Karma: 93
Posts: 9/9
Since: 10-17-16

Explos


The water is in the model file for that world map (Model/CourseSelect/CS_W3.bcres) and it is colourized through the material settings that are applied to it, however, there currently isn't any way to edit the material settings.

Editing materials is something that is likely to be possible sometime in the near future as Switch Toolbox has been getting improvements to its support for the bcres format, and therefore it is likely that, in the future, it will allow for you to do what you want.
Posted on 02-23-20, 11:59 pm
Panser
I wonder if anyone will notice that I changed this

Karma: 322
Posts: 326/326
Since: 01-28-17
In that case, is it possible to export the CS_W3_Base0 model, delete the water and replace it, and re-import the model back into the original file? I've already figured out how to export the model using EFE so I can make the edits in SketchUp, but I can't figure out how to get it back into the original file. Almost every time I try to create a new CGFX model with EFE, the model's textures either get corrupted or I get an error that says "The index was outside the bounds of the array". I've been able to get EFE to create a CGFX model without error once, but I still have no idea how I was able to get it to work or how to combine the model with the pre-existing models from CS_W3.bcres.

Am I using the wrong tool? It was mentioned earlier in the thread that NintendoWare can be used to make .bcres models, but the only information that I can find about it is for a developer engine for the Switch.

There's probably just something I'm doing wrong (or just not understanding properly), so any help is appreciated.
--___________
-/-----------------\
/-------------------\
|------|------|------|
|--------------------|
|---\________/---|
\-------------------/
-\___________/
Pages: 1