Pages: « 123456
Posted on 06-16-15, 09:42 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 9897
Posts: 4281/4453
Since: 06-08-11
.s files are regular text files, any text editor will edit them.

I use notepad++ too, it's really nice.
Posted on 07-04-15, 03:46 am


Karma: -13
Posts: 3/5
Since: 06-19-15
I'm having cmd issues when trying to use devkitpro. Can someone please PM me a link for the a prepatched version? Or a prepatched version with the 1-1 coop mod?
Posted on 07-04-15, 05:20 am
Shyguy


Karma: 468
Posts: 8/83
Since: 02-12-15
Can you post a screenshot of the error?
_________________________
Website | Twitter
MK8 Modding Central
Posted on 07-04-15, 05:46 am (rev. 2 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 03:16 am)


Karma: -13
Posts: 4/5
Since: 06-19-15

I had a seperate issue when I first did it. I saved the code as mphack.s and did everything properly--no luck. I wanted the 1-1 coop mod so that I could make custom levels (using NSMBe) at longer lengths (current MVL levels are limited in length for some reason). I would've loved to add maybe Bowser Jr into the first level with this mod.

Posted on 07-04-15, 06:41 am
Mariomaster

Karma: 8472
Posts: 469/1679
Since: 06-09-12
Open the Makefile, go to line 79 and remove -lgcc.
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 07-04-15, 07:01 pm (rev. 4 by dr0yed on 07-04-15, 10:18 pm)


Karma: -13
Posts: 5/5
Since: 06-19-15
Posted by Mariomaster
Open the Makefile, go to line 79 and remove -lgcc.


Did it, CMD ran through everything and closed. It seemed like everything worked. Boos are still red on NSMBe though..is that supposed to happen? Thanks for the reply.

EDIT: my r4i says that the rom is corrupt and won't open it. Dang. Tried on three seperate roms, deleting the entire template each time.

EDIT2: Fixed the spriteset thing thanks to @MarioMaster's advice, saved everything. ROM opens on emulators, but reads corrupt on two R4s.
Posted on 08-01-15, 06:58 pm (rev. 1 by  Ndymario on 08-01-15, 07:00 pm)
Lantern Ghost
That MvL Hacker

Karma: 1547
Posts: 13/769
Since: 04-11-15
Posted by dr0yed
Posted by Mariomaster
Open the Makefile, go to line 79 and remove -lgcc.


Did it, CMD ran through everything and closed. It seemed like everything worked. Boos are still red on NSMBe though..is that supposed to happen? Thanks for the reply.

EDIT: my r4i says that the rom is corrupt and won't open it. Dang. Tried on three seperate roms, deleting the entire template each time.

EDIT2: Fixed the spriteset thing thanks to @MarioMaster's advice, saved everything. ROM opens on emulators, but reads corrupt on two R4s.


That's strange I can use this on my r4i just fine... Do you have the latest update Stupid question:/

_________________________
Here's my MvL Hacking thread

Consider joining my NSMB DS Hacking Discord Server!

#HakingNoMore
Posted on 02-21-16, 03:21 am (rev. 1 by  Ndymario on 02-21-16, 03:30 am)
Lantern Ghost
That MvL Hacker

Karma: 1547
Posts: 17/769
Since: 04-11-15
Sry for the bump...

Is their any way you could make the code load Battle Stars, or is this not possible at all
_________________________
Here's my MvL Hacking thread

Consider joining my NSMB DS Hacking Discord Server!

#HakingNoMore
Posted on 03-05-17, 11:35 pm
Lantern Ghost
That MvL Hacker

Karma: 1547
Posts: 311/769
Since: 04-11-15
*Sry for the bump*

Ironically, if you remove the line of code that says disable initial spawn of the battlestar, this allows you to have bigstars AND have the sprite sets.

I say ironically because someone said it didn't work like that :p
_________________________
Here's my MvL Hacking thread

Consider joining my NSMB DS Hacking Discord Server!

#HakingNoMore
Posted on 07-22-18, 11:25 am (rev. 1 by  TheGameratorT on 09-22-18, 11:16 am)
Shyguy
DMA problems.

Karma: 787
Posts: 3/86
Since: 07-19-18
Why the sprites aren't appearing? They now don't crash the game but won't appear. For example the swingable rope doesn't load.

EDIT: Nvm I needed to change the sprite sets.
_________________________
NSMB Hacking Discord
Posted on 07-23-18, 01:13 am
Giant Red Paratroopa
Not Edible

Karma: 3346
Posts: 651/1447
Since: 02-12-16
I don't know for the swingable rope but I know a lot of sprites don't work properly in MvsL even with this ASM hack.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 09-30-18, 10:32 am (rev. 1 by  TheGameratorT on 10-05-18, 08:54 am)
Shyguy
DMA problems.

Karma: 787
Posts: 6/86
Since: 07-19-18
Found a bug with Sub Nohara. It seems that the tileset corrupts a bit.



And its gets worse if you continue after the You Win/Lose screen.

EDIT: This seems to happen only if the tileset is bigger than what it was supposed to, but it looks normal on singleplayer. I had to use the original tileset size but the bug still happens if you continue after the Win/Lose screen.
_________________________
NSMB Hacking Discord
Posted on 08-02-19, 10:14 am
Shyguy
Do you know da wea?

Karma: 39
Posts: 4/92
Since: 08-01-19
you know you could change gategory in NSMB in sprite set
Posted on 04-11-20, 07:05 am (rev. 1 by  ItzTacos on 06-28-20, 09:48 am)
Red Cheep-cheep


Karma: 545
Posts: 19/203
Since: 04-26-19
Just a bit
_________________________
Join the NSMB Hacking Discord!
Posted on 11-14-21, 08:19 am


Karma: 15
Posts: 12/25
Since: 10-27-21
Posted by Dirbaio
Okay, new version of the code.
 Shadey and I have been testing this out on IRC and it seems to work.

This time it works by not loading the hardcoded sprite sets at all. It doesn't load overlay 53 at all either. So now you're free to set anything in any sprite set. Including sprite set 16.

End of level flag and Bowser Jr. are confirmed to work.
Other bosses probably will crash because the particle crap. (The same reason as bosses crash on other levels than the originals)

Also hex editing Overlay 53 in the overlay table isn't needed anymore since it's not even loaded.

We also had to put more patches so it wouldn't load the NARCs (they aren't even used now!). Otherwise it would run out of memory.

So this is the code:

@ Replaces calcFileId
nsub_02009394:
        mov r0, r0, LSL#16
        mov r0, r0, LSR#16
       
        @If file is NARC-only, lets pray the right NARC is loaded...
        tst r0, #0x8000
        bxne lr
       
        ldr r1, =0x02085D04
        ldrsh r1, [r1]
        add r0, r0, r1
        mov r0, r0, LSL#16
        mov r0, r0, LSR#16
        bx lr

@Force Tileset 2 to be loaded
repl_020B39C8:
repl_020B3A80:
repl_020AE018:
repl_020AE070:
repl_020AE184:
repl_020AE1B8: @I have no idea what this is?
        bx lr
       
repl_020AF9EC:
        mov R0, #0

@Free something. This is probably good.
repl_020B3C4C:
        bx lr  

@Disable spawning of initial VS Battle Star
repl_0209C4E0:

@Force all player animations to be loaded (plnovs)
repl_02020738:

@Delete the hardcoded load overlay calls.
repl_021535BC_ov_34:
repl_021535C4_ov_34:
repl_021535CC_ov_34:
repl_021535D4_ov_34:
repl_021535DC_ov_34:

@Delete ov53:createOv53Heap() call
repl_021535EC_ov_34:

@Delete the hardcoded unload overlay calls.
repl_02152C34_ov_34:
repl_02152C3C_ov_34:
repl_02152C44_ov_34:
repl_02152C4C_ov_34:
repl_02152C54_ov_34:

@Delete ov53:destroyOv53Heap() call
repl_02152C2C_ov_34:
        bx lr
       
@Patch ov53:getPtrToOv53Heap() calls
@If result is 0, it will just use the default heap, which _should_ be fine.
repl_021535F0_ov_34:
repl_02153600_ov_34:
        mov R0, #0
        bx lr

@==============
@ NARC STUFF
@ NARCs suck, since we arent using them we should reaaally not load them.
@ Otherwise bye bye free RAM.

@ loadNarcForLevel
nsub_02018B40:
        bx lr

@ Dont load dat_2d and dat_enemy
repl_021535FC:
repl_0215360C:
        bx lr

What exactly do you mean by "set anything in any sprite set"? Does this let me use any sprite set or remove sprite sets entirely? If it does the latter will it also work in the main game?
Posted on 11-14-21, 04:11 pm
Giant Red Paratroopa
Not Edible

Karma: 3346
Posts: 1432/1447
Since: 02-12-16
It just means that all sprite sets work in MvsL. Without the hack, only a select few sprites can be used.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 11-14-21, 05:00 pm


Karma: 15
Posts: 13/25
Since: 10-27-21
Posted by poudink
It just means that all sprite sets work in MvsL. Without the hack, only a select few sprites can be used.

Thanks for clarifying!
Pages: « 123456