Pages: « 1234567 »
Posted on 07-10-12, 06:31 pm
Shyguy


Karma: 105
Posts: 3/90
Since: 07-10-12
Posted by ray
Posted by Gericom
Posted by ray
MKDS need both faces, otherwise the collison wont work
In fact it is only needed if you use backfaces. For the rainbowroad custom track it isn't needed.


At first I tried only with one, and then I felt trough the ground

Then I don't know. My mkdd tracks don't use backfaces in collision.
Posted on 07-10-12, 06:34 pm
Banned for being a complete idiot.

Karma: 494
Posts: 923/987
Since: 07-09-11
Wait are you talking about this  ray and  Gericom or are you talking about removing the face?
Posted on 07-10-12, 06:35 pm
Shyguy


Karma: 105
Posts: 4/90
Since: 07-10-12
Posted by ELMario
Wait are you talking about this  ray and  Gericom or are you talking about removing the face?
Yes, and about the backfaces of sketchup.
Posted on 07-10-12, 06:40 pm
Banned for being a complete idiot.

Karma: 494
Posts: 924/987
Since: 07-09-11
Posted by Gericom
backfaces of sketchup

What do you mean? Like when you export it will remove non-visible faces when you export? Or do you set which faces will not be rendered in Sketchup?
Posted on 07-10-12, 06:45 pm
Shyguy


Karma: 105
Posts: 5/90
Since: 07-10-12
Posted by ELMario
Posted by Gericom
backfaces of sketchup

What do you mean? Like when you export it will remove non-visible faces when you export? Or do you set which faces will not be rendered in Sketchup?
No, the blue side of faces in sketchup
Posted on 07-10-12, 06:48 pm
Banned for being a complete idiot.

Karma: 494
Posts: 925/987
Since: 07-09-11
The blue face is nothing more than a nice way to tell which face of the polygon it is. When you export and make a CT if you don't disable rendering of those faces, then they will be rendered when you play the track. The color of the faces in Sketchup don't do/mean anything more than that.
Posted on 07-10-12, 06:49 pm
Roy Koopa


Karma: 3871
Posts: 1726/2722
Since: 06-26-11
You still dont get it ElMo xD
The sides also have collision. These are also textures.
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 07-10-12, 06:50 pm
Banned for being a complete idiot.

Karma: 494
Posts: 926/987
Since: 07-09-11
I know that, but you don't have to render the underneath of the track since you will never see it anyways, and therefore save rendering time like  StapleButter said.
Posted on 07-10-12, 06:51 pm
Roy Koopa


Karma: 3871
Posts: 1727/2722
Since: 06-26-11
Lol the rendering time isnt important in MKDS, because it has a limited rendering distance, so everything keeps being smooth^^
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 07-10-12, 06:52 pm
Banned for being a complete idiot.

Karma: 494
Posts: 927/987
Since: 07-09-11
If you have a higher poly track then it WILL matter and will improve performance of MKDS. Like if you do a forest track.
Posted on 07-10-12, 06:54 pm
Roy Koopa


Karma: 3871
Posts: 1728/2722
Since: 06-26-11
If you have a higher poly track, some faces will disappear because too much polys If you keep the amount of polys under 2048, you wont have any rendering problems. Only if you have more (not recommend )
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 07-10-12, 06:56 pm
Banned for being a complete idiot.

Karma: 494
Posts: 928/987
Since: 07-09-11
Yes but if you don't render unecessary faces then you can still keep a higher poly count and not have random faces not render.
Posted on 07-10-12, 06:57 pm
Roy Koopa


Karma: 3871
Posts: 1729/2722
Since: 06-26-11
True, and now lets stop this piontless discussion xD Its jsut spammy
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 07-10-12, 07:01 pm
Banned for being a complete idiot.

Karma: 494
Posts: 929/987
Since: 07-09-11
This discussion is not pointless. It's a good tip if you want to make higher-quality tracks. But now this discussion doesn't need to continue so...
Posted on 07-10-12, 07:03 pm
Shyguy


Karma: 105
Posts: 6/90
Since: 07-10-12
Posted by ELMario
This discussion is not pointless. It's a good tip if you want to make higher-quality tracks. But now this discussion doesn't need to continue so...
About high quality tracks. Look at my youtube channel MKDS3.
Posted on 07-10-12, 07:13 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 8813
Posts: 1939/4431
Since: 06-08-11
The DS's hardware can handle maximum 6144 vertexs, which is 2048 triangles, or 1536 quads...

And I do think that games like MKDS can partition the NSBMD into multiple parts so that the only visible ones are rendered. The DS hardware even has a "box test" feature to test if a box is visible onscreen.

If MKDS supports this (which I'm prety sure it does), the hard thing would be partitioning the model. It could either be done automatically by the model importer, or defined manually when making the model... Dunno

Posted on 07-10-12, 08:59 pm
☭ communist leader ☭


Karma: 9847
Posts: 500/2635
Since: 06-26-11
Posted by Dirbaio
If MKDS supports this (which I'm prety sure it does), the hard thing would be partitioning the model. It could either be done automatically by the model importer, or defined manually when making the model... Dunno

Considering SM64DS, the precursor to everything DS-related, supports that, there's no reason MKDS wouldn't.

But the hard part is actually making it. I think it'd have to be done by hand.
_________________________
Kuribo64 - RH-fucking-cafe - Kafuka

zrghij
Posted on 07-11-12, 11:57 pm
Roy Koopa


Karma: 3871
Posts: 1734/2722
Since: 06-26-11
Meep. new Track is in work Actually not a forest track

_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 07-12-12, 01:17 am
Fuzzy
Full mod

Karma: 1138
Posts: 434/785
Since: 06-28-11
Wow! It's amazing how much progress you've made on these custom tracks. It's glitch free as far as I can tell, and it's starting to look like an official course with the correctly textured road. Nice work!
Posted on 07-12-12, 01:52 am (rev. 2 by  gridatttack on 07-12-12, 01:53 am)
Boomboom


Karma: 3108
Posts: 270/1989
Since: 06-28-11
Posted by ray
Meep. new Track is in work Actually not a forest track


Looks awesome!~ Also it seems texture mapping works better now (only the round turns don't seem properly textured)

BTW, I am really interested into trying mkds hacking.

What did you use to export a .obj file from sketchup into the game/ROM?
I would like to try making some tracks ^^
_________________________

Pages: « 1234567 »