Pages: 1
Posted on 08-18-21, 08:22 pm (rev. 8 by  subair on 08-24-21, 01:29 pm)
Red Goomba


Karma: 169
Posts: 46/49
Since: 03-04-19
How to create your own wX.nsbmd

[Coming soon]

How to create your own wXmove.nsbca

[Coming soon]

How to create your own wXtree.nsbmd

You will need these things here:

• Blender (latest version)
https://www.blender.org/

• Nintendo Plugins for Blender
https://github.com/jellees/nns-blender-plugin/releases/tag/v0.1.1

• NitroPaint
https://github.com/Garhoogin/NitroPaint/releases/tag/v2.5.4.2

• g3dcvtr
https://www.mediafire.com/file/essbc4ignvurdxh/G3DCVTR.rar/file

•modelling skills and experiences

READING THE TUTORIAL FIRST THROUGH BEFORE STARTING, IS RECOMMENDED!

GOOD LUCK


Let’s start:

Create whatever you want to create and try to avoid unnecessary polygons.
Also don’t name ANYTHING longer than 16 characters.

Then place it on the right spot!


Q: How do I know where to place it exactly?
A: Don’t worry! Just extract the original wXtree.nsbmd file from your rom with the NSMB Editor.
Then convert it to “.dae” with apicula by “drag&dropping” it onto the “.exe” file.
Afterwards import the dae file into Blender. Lastly, look at the coordinates of the objects for orientation and move your object to the place you want to!
I will leave a link to apicula here:
https://www.mediafire.com/file/j0q9dd9au4bn9gw/apicula.rar/file



Now we want to add the textures! Here are some rules to follow:

• size of all the textures need to be “power of 2” × “power of 2” in Pixel (examples: 64×32, 8×16, 128×4)


• don’t use too big textures (try to make the most textures less than 128×128)

Q: So some textures can be bigger than 128x128?
A: Yes, but you will have to make the other textures much much much smaller in return, so that they fit in vram. Just don't do it.
Q: But how do you know whether you've reached the total size limit of all textures? Is there a clear number?
A: No, there isn't. You can only find it out through testing. The bug will be very obvious!


• don’t use too many textures


• all the textures need to be converted to the Nitro TGA format


You will end up with bugs if you don’t keep to these rules!


Q: How do I convert my textures to the Nitro TGA format?
A: In NitroPaint go to File -> New -> New Texture.
Open the texture you need to convert.

Click on “Convert To…” and simply select the format that best fits for the texture (it mostly is tex4x4, a5i3, palette16 or palette256).
Lastly go to File -> Save.



Now we want to assign our converted textures to the model, so in Blender go to the “Material Properties” tab, click on “New” to add a new default material and then press on “Create NNS Material”.

Then delete the default material, because we won't need it anymore.

Set the “Material type” to “Textured + solid color” and the rest (UV Unwrapping) should be pretty clear.

Here is the final result of my w1tree model:

Now let’s export it! Go to File -> Export -> Nitro Intermediate and set the Magnification (it's something like scaling) to 1,0000.
Please uncheck, if “Export .ica” or “Export .ita” are checked.

Click on Export Nitro.


Lastly we need to convert the “.imd” file to “.nsbmd” with g3dcvtr. Just drag&drop it on the “.exe” file.


Afterwards replace w1tree.nsbmd in the NSMB Editor.



You did it!

Bugs that might appear after following this tutorial:

• w1tree gets rotated 90 degrees along the X-axis in the game.
Rotate the model -90 degrees along the X-axis in Blender before exporting, so in the game it will end up with 0 rotation along the X-axis. Then change the position of the model again, because after rotating it, the Y-axis becomes now the Z-axis in the game and the other way round.

• Some faces or whole meshes didn’t appear even though I followed all the steps correctly?
This may be happening due to the normals of the mesh being flipped in the wrong direction. Try selecting all the wrongly flipped faces in Edit Mode -> press ALT + N -> Flip, but it should be already visible in Blender.

• Some faces or whole meshes don’t appear although the meshes/faces are correcly flipped?
Probably because of the shape of your polygon. If it's not a triangle or rectangle, then make it!

If any other bugs appear, please tell me.
Discord: RealEyee#8878 or here in the chat.

How to create your own wX.nsbta

[Coming soon]

How to create your own wX.nsbtp

[Coming soon]

CREDITS:
Xgone for answering some questions
 skawo for answering some questions
RicBent for answering lots of questions
 KingYoshi for helping with this tutorial
Posted on 08-18-21, 08:28 pm
Pokey
the boy who always has something up his sleeve

Karma: 655
Posts: 606/690
Since: 02-01-21
That is very useful, Maybe i use this for my second hack
_________________________
My projects:
Posted on 08-18-21, 09:01 pm
Goomba
When the

Karma: 52
Posts: 28/31
Since: 05-12-20
Thank you for explaining (some) of the tutorial, Can't wait to do this some time in the future.
_________________________
hmmm what to say...
Posted on 08-24-21, 01:31 pm (rev. 1 by  subair on 08-26-21, 03:01 pm)
Red Goomba


Karma: 169
Posts: 47/49
Since: 03-04-19
I updated the thread. Added another solution for another possible bug.
Posted on 10-23-21, 09:24 pm
Newcomer


Karma: 1
Posts: 1/2
Since: 10-23-21
Sorry if this is a stupid question Is there a way to extract maps from the game and load those into blender?
Posted on 10-23-21, 10:01 pm
Giant Red Paratroopa
"A delaye, a dela. A delayed game, a delayepb. Bad Game Design." -Shigeru Meat

Karma: 3278
Posts: 1404/1442
Since: 02-12-16
Yeah, you can convert the NSBMDs to DAEs with Apicula.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 10-23-21, 10:26 pm
Newcomer


Karma: 1
Posts: 2/2
Since: 10-23-21
Posted by poudink
Yeah, you can convert the NSBMDs to DAEs with Apicula.

Thank you!
Pages: 1