Posted on 01-11-15, 02:47 pm
Wendy Koopa
Once upon a time there was a tiger.

Karma: 4430
Posts: 1428/2506
Since: 01-17-13
This and Google should be enough to find everything IMO.


I don't know about you, tough.
Posted on 01-11-15, 02:58 pm


Karma: 109
Posts: 69/71
Since: 07-19-14
Posted by Thierry
This and Google should be enough to find everything IMO.


I don't know about you, tough.

thank you didn't see that thread
Posted on 01-11-15, 05:32 pm (rev. 1 by RicBent on 01-11-15, 05:33 pm)
Administrator

Karma: 6963
Posts: 405/1410
Since: 06-09-12
For everybody who needs a video:



Not mine but OK
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 01-11-15, 05:35 pm


Karma: 59
Posts: 40/116
Since: 09-16-14
we need a video for costum music for new super mario bros ds not mario kart ds! lol...
Posted on 01-11-15, 05:41 pm
Administrator

Karma: 6963
Posts: 406/1410
Since: 06-09-12
:facepalm:

It's the same
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 02-19-15, 07:15 am
Micro-Goomba
thegreatrazz

Karma: -4
Posts: 10/15
Since: 01-02-15
I will give it a try. See if it works...
Posted on 03-29-15, 11:52 am (rev. 1 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 03:14 am)
Red Paragoomba


Karma: 389
Posts: 43/58
Since: 07-23-14
I've been at this whole music hacking thing for 48 hours straight, and I've worked my way around many problems, but this one is one I just can't seem to tackle.



Prior to the Command Prompt step, I have successfully done everything else. Unfortunately, this step wasn't very detailed and there wasn't a lot to follow. I've tried many different ways of writing the prompt and this was the closest I got to solving the puzzle. What am I doing wrong? Have I mis-typed something or does my midi just not cut it?
_________________________
New Super Mario Bros. Empire | World 1 demo
Posted on 03-29-15, 12:01 pm
☭ coffee and cream


Karma: 9863
Posts: 1719/2647
Since: 06-26-11
Is there an extension to that file's name?
_________________________
Kuribo64 - RH-fucking-cafe - Kafuka

zrghij
Posted on 03-29-15, 12:07 pm
Red Paragoomba


Karma: 389
Posts: 44/58
Since: 07-23-14
Posted by StapleButter
Is there an extension to that file's name?


Extension? I'm not sure what you mean by that, but I'm assuming there isn't one since I didn't make any alterations to the filename.

Would you mind telling me what I have to do to put an extension? I'm a huge noob when it comes to Command Prompt and Google hasn't given me any good answers.
_________________________
New Super Mario Bros. Empire | World 1 demo
Posted on 03-29-15, 01:17 pm (rev. 2 by  skawo on 03-29-15, 01:20 pm)


Karma: 18535
Posts: 109/1086
Since: 04-02-13
Assuming "smw2_flower_garden" is in the same folder as midi2sseq, you want to do:

Downloads\MidiConverter\midi2sseq C:\Users\Matt\Downloads\MidiConverter\smw2_flower_garden.mid C:\Users\Matt\Downloads\MidiConverter\smw2_flower_garden.sseq
Posted on 03-29-15, 01:40 pm (rev. 1 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 03:14 am)
Red Paragoomba


Karma: 389
Posts: 45/58
Since: 07-23-14
Posted by skawo
Assuming "smw2_flower_garden" is in the same folder as midi2sseq, you want to do:

Downloads\MidiConverter\midi2sseq C:\Users\Matt\Downloads\MidiConverter\smw2_flower_garden.mid C:\Users\Matt\Downloads\MidiConverter\smw2_flower_garden.sseq


I've just tried exactly that (thanks for the help), but it still doesn't work.



I'm guessing the midi just doesn't cut it. I wouldn't understand why though; it only uses 9 channels, which is less than NSMB's 16 channels. Maybe I should just forget about custom music and stick with the vanilla tracks.
_________________________
New Super Mario Bros. Empire | World 1 demo
Posted on 03-29-15, 02:22 pm (rev. 1 by  skawo on 03-29-15, 02:22 pm)


Karma: 18535
Posts: 110/1086
Since: 04-02-13
Uh, no. That entire thing is a single command. Only press enter after you write ".sseq"
Posted on 04-28-15, 01:15 am (rev. 1 by Jakratzhu on 05-16-15, 05:51 pm)
Koopa
cyka blyat

Karma: 97
Posts: 41/118
Since: 06-10-14
Is this for adding your own music? I am so confused. Like if I want t make a custom grassland theme, how would I do that
_________________________
rush b сука блять
Posted on 05-16-15, 05:50 pm
Koopa
cyka blyat

Karma: 97
Posts: 46/118
Since: 06-10-14
Can someone link me a video tutorial of adding custom music? Im a noob at hacking and don't have a clue what to do t make custom music. I want to change the grassland theme. Thx
_________________________
rush b сука блять
Posted on 05-16-15, 07:19 pm (rev. 1 by Thierry on 05-16-15, 07:34 pm)
Wendy Koopa
Once upon a time there was a tiger.

Karma: 4430
Posts: 1559/2506
Since: 01-17-13
Hum first you should try to make a custom music as MIDI in FL Studio, and the rest is in the tutorial at the start of this thread.
Posted on 09-28-15, 08:08 pm (rev. 3 by  BrokenAce255 on 09-29-15, 11:09 am)
Red Paragoomba


Karma: 389
Posts: 46/58
Since: 07-23-14
Since the midi import method completely failed, I decided to give method B (using BGMs from other DS games) a try. I managed to follow through with all the steps without problems, but then when I loaded up the game in Desmume it crashed from the start. Wouldn't load at all. If I hadn't backed up the rom it'd be toast.

Seriously though, how do people even get custom music to work? It won't work for me even if I follow the guide to the last detail...
_________________________
New Super Mario Bros. Empire | World 1 demo
Posted on 09-28-15, 11:14 pm
Wendy Koopa
Once upon a time there was a tiger.

Karma: 4430
Posts: 1671/2506
Since: 01-17-13
Even if you hadn't backed up the rom you still could of have reimported a clean sound_data file taken from a clean rom.

Also maybe you didn't recompile the sound_data folder right, or else there might be something wrong with your folder.. I can't help you much as I can't check by myself.
Posted on 09-29-15, 02:25 pm (rev. 1 by  BrokenAce255 on 09-29-15, 02:26 pm)
Red Paragoomba


Karma: 389
Posts: 47/58
Since: 07-23-14
Oops... just idiotically realized I had to put the new sounds in with all the originals in the NSMB sound folder and delete the sounds being replaced.

That being said, I just tried that and made a new Sdat file. After replacing the original, the game went silent. Not a single sound works. Someone really needs to make the guide more detailed because I just cannot work this.
_________________________
New Super Mario Bros. Empire | World 1 demo
Posted on 09-29-15, 06:28 pm (rev. 2 by Thierry on 10-19-15, 10:26 pm)
Wendy Koopa
Once upon a time there was a tiger.

Karma: 4430
Posts: 1672/2506
Since: 01-17-13


Did you use a modified sound_data folder?
Posted on 09-29-15, 07:41 pm (rev. 1 by  BrokenAce255 on 09-29-15, 07:42 pm)
Red Paragoomba


Karma: 389
Posts: 48/58
Since: 07-23-14
I'm fairly certain I used the modified sound_data folder. Just to clarify though, upon extracting the downloaded zip file, I found that the actual folder in the download is simply called sound_data. I'm not sure if it was intentionally kept with the same name but I thought I'd point it out in case it matters.

I also made sure to rename the extracted sounds with both the matching file names and file numbers at the beginning, so it's also not an issue of not remembering to rename the files. I am concerned about the numberings though; none of the original files in the modified folder have numbers at the beginning, so I'm not sure if I'm actually supposed to keep those there of if they're just there for... idk, actually.

There's also another thing that was never made clear... am I supposed to add the file extentions onto the extracted sounds or is it a bad idea to do so? It never says in the guide whether or not I should.
_________________________
New Super Mario Bros. Empire | World 1 demo