Pages: « 12345 »
Posted on 05-20-18, 08:51 am
Administrator

Karma: 7199
Posts: 1228/1460
Since: 06-09-12
From what I saw rotation was a bit buggy anyways. It always has parts of the screen displayed twice.

Also I find it interesting that you can't disable the spacing berween the screens: Writing 0 to the register just makes the bottom screen disappear. 0xFF didn't help either.

Also @ Ninja NAH: I doubt forcing button inputs on an ISNE would benefit any hacks
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 05-20-18, 09:06 am
Red Goomba


Karma: 175
Posts: 34/45
Since: 01-21-16
Posted by RicBent
Made a quick mod to  Gericom's video enabler to configure the thing as you wish:

https://nsmbhd.net/file/VlyKSj5v1hlccZlg/NitroVideoConfigurator.zip



Basically let's you do exactly what the official software let's you do with a non video unit plus a few more things.


Edit: I wonder if there is a way to force button inputs. Would make it way cooler to play games...


Nice! I asked Gericom if he'd do something like this a a few days ago.
_________________________
MKDS Hacking & Modding Server:
https://discord.gg/KhETqr7
Posted on 05-20-18, 09:35 am
Shyguy


Karma: 110
Posts: 88/90
Since: 07-10-12
Posted by RicBent
From what I saw rotation was a bit buggy anyways. It always has parts of the screen displayed twice.

Also I find it interesting that you can't disable the spacing berween the screens: Writing 0 to the register just makes the bottom screen disappear. 0xFF didn't help either.

Also @ Ninja NAH: I doubt forcing button inputs on an ISNE would benefit any hacks

Rotation works right if the proper settings are used. I can look them up for you later.

Also yeah, that's strange.
Posted on 05-20-18, 10:24 am
☭ coffee and cream


Karma: 9883
Posts: 2563/2648
Since: 06-26-11
the firmware is in a SPI flash, GBAtek documents it

maybe you can just run dsbf_dump.nds or whatever it was, if you can use a flashcart with the dev unit
_________________________
Kuribo64 - RH-fucking-cafe - Kafuka

zrghij
Posted on 05-20-18, 10:34 am
Shyguy


Karma: 110
Posts: 89/90
Since: 07-10-12
Posted by StapleButter
the firmware is in a SPI flash, GBAtek documents it

maybe you can just run dsbf_dump.nds or whatever it was, if you can use a flashcart with the dev unit

Flashcards don't work, because they use the rom bus for accessing sd. But if that application was altered to just load the firmware to memory. You could extract it from there using the pc application.
Posted on 05-20-18, 10:54 am (rev. 1 by RicBent on 05-20-18, 10:55 am)
Administrator

Karma: 7199
Posts: 1229/1460
Since: 06-09-12
I searched for the source of dsbf but was unable to find it
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 05-20-18, 11:01 am
☭ coffee and cream


Karma: 9883
Posts: 2564/2648
Since: 06-26-11
libnds has code for reading the firmware, you can probably just use that
_________________________
Kuribo64 - RH-fucking-cafe - Kafuka

zrghij
Posted on 05-20-18, 11:32 am
Administrator

Karma: 7199
Posts: 1230/1460
Since: 06-09-12
void readFirmware(u32 address, void *buffer, u32 length);

Will try to dump it when I come home
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 05-20-18, 11:49 am
☭ coffee and cream


Karma: 9883
Posts: 2565/2648
Since: 06-26-11
also, if possible, get RAM dumps while running the DS menu, so we can throw those into IDA and not have to decrypt them etc
_________________________
Kuribo64 - RH-fucking-cafe - Kafuka

zrghij
Posted on 05-20-18, 12:39 pm (rev. 1 by  Gericom on 05-20-18, 12:39 pm)
Shyguy


Karma: 110
Posts: 90/90
Since: 07-10-12
Posted by StapleButter
also, if possible, get RAM dumps while running the DS menu, so we can throw those into IDA and not have to decrypt them etc

From what I know that's impossible to do, because at that point the debug rom is not loaded, postbootflag is not yet set (so no jtag) and fiq is disabled. This makes it impossible to break execution and read ram. However, one could probably do that from an emulator after dumping the firmware.
Posted on 05-20-18, 03:54 pm (rev. 1 by RicBent on 05-20-18, 03:55 pm)
Administrator

Karma: 7199
Posts: 1232/1460
Since: 06-09-12
Well, my tool to dump firmware and bios to RAM is ready: nitroFwDumper.nds

(It's based on this: https://github.com/WinterMute/fwTool)

Havn't found a way to execute it yet because I have no idea how to encrypt the rom. "ndstool -se" complains about the rom not having a secure area.
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 05-20-18, 04:05 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 8913
Posts: 4424/4431
Since: 06-08-11
Homebrew roms should just work as is, you don't need to encrypt/decrypt them. (they don't "have" a secure area, they just don't use the stuff at 0x02000000-0x02000800. I've run homebrew roms with no problem

Does it not work?
Posted on 05-20-18, 04:08 pm
Administrator

Karma: 7199
Posts: 1233/1460
Since: 06-09-12
Oh, I thought the secure area was required or the DS refuses to boot it. Whoops

Edit: Yep, ROM works perfectly fine as is. Fail.
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 07-28-18, 12:22 pm (rev. 1 by pzlate on 07-28-18, 12:27 pm)


Karma: 16
Posts: 1/1
Since: 07-28-18
Thanks for that software to re-enable video. Just want to leave this here in case anyone wants to play retail GBA carts on their Nitro. It's a little bootleg but at least it works.

But basically, all you have to do is connect your dev kit, power on the GBA pak, then go to tools > game banner which forces the DS to boot into the firmware/home menu and you can boot your GBA carts from there.

What I'm curious about is, can you turn on GBA power via software like the video configurator. Otherwise I was thinking about maybe modifying the pcb itself to trigger the relay manually.

Posted on 07-29-18, 12:20 pm
banned for pulling same old drama antics

Karma: -47
Posts: 103/173
Since: 04-15-14
Brilliant find! I hope it gets sold to a homebrew developer and maybe we'll see the DS Homebrew scene make a comeback
Posted on 08-02-18, 04:04 pm
Bandit
hey look I'm 3 years old now

Karma: 1678
Posts: 657/819
Since: 02-12-16
well dirbaio made ds homebrew in the past
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 08-03-18, 03:06 pm
banned for pulling same old drama antics

Karma: -47
Posts: 114/173
Since: 04-15-14
Yeah, but is he retired?
Posted on 08-20-18, 08:20 am (rev. 7 by  SGC on 08-20-18, 08:26 am)
Red Goomba


Karma: 175
Posts: 39/45
Since: 01-21-16
Posted by Jamie
Brilliant find! I hope it gets sold to a homebrew developer and maybe we'll see the DS Homebrew scene make a comeback

To be honest, I doubt that.
I don't think it would really help it make a comeback if I must be honest, and it would take more than 1 person to do it.
How do I know this? I'm aware of 3 homebrew developers with one in their possession.
Daribo, Gericom, and myself.

I've helped worke on a homebrew game (Paper DS), and ROM hacks (GCGP, and EKDS) with mine along with others, and so has Gericom.

Although most of the big ones haven't really gone anywhere yet, or they've been scrapped.

Plus, I'm not sure why Daribo would sell his, when he's making stuff for it, as he said in a previous post,
like that Linux Library, for example. Clearly he plans to, or already has made use of it in the name of research,
or what have you.

These things aren't really magic, and you don't need them to make homebrew games with the Nintendo SDK, either.
They more or less are just a fast way of testing a game on real hardware, and make it easier to find bugs/glitches, and figure out why a crash happens, for example. If you aren't super dedicated, or a collector of some kind, these machines are practically worthless to anyone else, if I must be completely honest.
_________________________
MKDS Hacking & Modding Server:
https://discord.gg/KhETqr7
Posted on 08-25-18, 01:21 am (rev. 2 by famiac on 08-25-18, 01:22 am)


Karma: 11
Posts: 1/2
Since: 08-25-18
hi all. New here, but very happy about the developments in this thread

just cross-compiled the latest ndstool to run on windows in case people don't want to switch to linux every time they want to encrypt a rom
get it here
Posted on 08-27-18, 04:02 pm
Birdo


Karma: 2540
Posts: 2048/2057
Since: 06-26-11
Posted by famiac
hi all. New here, but very happy about the developments in this thread

just cross-compiled the latest ndstool to run on windows in case people don't want to switch to linux every time they want to encrypt a rom
get it here

Thanks for this. I wonder if it does it better than Encryptds Advanced...
_________________________
Will pay unspecified $ for NSMB beta.
Pages: « 12345 »