Pages: « 1234
Posted on 05-20-18, 08:51 am
Administrator

Karma: 6592
Posts: 1228/1327
Since: 06-09-12
From what I saw rotation was a bit buggy anyways. It always has parts of the screen displayed twice.

Also I find it interesting that you can't disable the spacing berween the screens: Writing 0 to the register just makes the bottom screen disappear. 0xFF didn't help either.

Also @ Ninja NAH: I doubt forcing button inputs on an ISNE would benefit any hacks
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 05-20-18, 09:06 am
Red Goomba


Karma: 161
Posts: 34/38
Since: 01-21-16
Posted by RicBent
Made a quick mod to  Gericom's video enabler to configure the thing as you wish:

https://nsmbhd.net/file/VlyKSj5v1hlccZlg/NitroVideoConfigurator.zip



Basically let's you do exactly what the official software let's you do with a non video unit plus a few more things.


Edit: I wonder if there is a way to force button inputs. Would make it way cooler to play games...


Nice! I asked Gericom if he'd do something like this a a few days ago.
_________________________
DSHack.org:
https://www.dshack.org/forum.php
Posted on 05-20-18, 09:35 am
Shyguy


Karma: 105
Posts: 88/90
Since: 07-10-12
Posted by RicBent
From what I saw rotation was a bit buggy anyways. It always has parts of the screen displayed twice.

Also I find it interesting that you can't disable the spacing berween the screens: Writing 0 to the register just makes the bottom screen disappear. 0xFF didn't help either.

Also @ Ninja NAH: I doubt forcing button inputs on an ISNE would benefit any hacks

Rotation works right if the proper settings are used. I can look them up for you later.

Also yeah, that's strange.
Posted on 05-20-18, 10:24 am
☭ communist leader ☭


Karma: 9651
Posts: 2563/2602
Since: 06-26-11
the firmware is in a SPI flash, GBAtek documents it

maybe you can just run dsbf_dump.nds or whatever it was, if you can use a flashcart with the dev unit
_________________________
Kuribo64 - RH-fucking-cafe - Kafuka

zrghij
Posted on 05-20-18, 10:34 am
Shyguy


Karma: 105
Posts: 89/90
Since: 07-10-12
Posted by StapleButter
the firmware is in a SPI flash, GBAtek documents it

maybe you can just run dsbf_dump.nds or whatever it was, if you can use a flashcart with the dev unit

Flashcards don't work, because they use the rom bus for accessing sd. But if that application was altered to just load the firmware to memory. You could extract it from there using the pc application.
Posted on 05-20-18, 10:54 am (rev. 1 by RicBent on 05-20-18, 10:55 am)
Administrator

Karma: 6592
Posts: 1229/1327
Since: 06-09-12
I searched for the source of dsbf but was unable to find it
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 05-20-18, 11:01 am
☭ communist leader ☭


Karma: 9651
Posts: 2564/2602
Since: 06-26-11
libnds has code for reading the firmware, you can probably just use that
_________________________
Kuribo64 - RH-fucking-cafe - Kafuka

zrghij
Posted on 05-20-18, 11:32 am
Administrator

Karma: 6592
Posts: 1230/1327
Since: 06-09-12
void readFirmware(u32 address, void *buffer, u32 length);

Will try to dump it when I come home
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 05-20-18, 11:49 am
☭ communist leader ☭


Karma: 9651
Posts: 2565/2602
Since: 06-26-11
also, if possible, get RAM dumps while running the DS menu, so we can throw those into IDA and not have to decrypt them etc
_________________________
Kuribo64 - RH-fucking-cafe - Kafuka

zrghij
Posted on 05-20-18, 12:39 pm (rev. 1 by  Gericom on 05-20-18, 12:39 pm)
Shyguy


Karma: 105
Posts: 90/90
Since: 07-10-12
Posted by StapleButter
also, if possible, get RAM dumps while running the DS menu, so we can throw those into IDA and not have to decrypt them etc

From what I know that's impossible to do, because at that point the debug rom is not loaded, postbootflag is not yet set (so no jtag) and fiq is disabled. This makes it impossible to break execution and read ram. However, one could probably do that from an emulator after dumping the firmware.
Posted on 05-20-18, 03:54 pm (rev. 1 by RicBent on 05-20-18, 03:55 pm)
Administrator

Karma: 6592
Posts: 1232/1327
Since: 06-09-12
Well, my tool to dump firmware and bios to RAM is ready: nitroFwDumper.nds

(It's based on this: https://github.com/WinterMute/fwTool)

Havn't found a way to execute it yet because I have no idea how to encrypt the rom. "ndstool -se" complains about the rom not having a secure area.
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 05-20-18, 04:05 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 8731
Posts: 4424/4428
Since: 06-08-11
Homebrew roms should just work as is, you don't need to encrypt/decrypt them. (they don't "have" a secure area, they just don't use the stuff at 0x02000000-0x02000800. I've run homebrew roms with no problem

Does it not work?
Posted on 05-20-18, 04:08 pm
Administrator

Karma: 6592
Posts: 1233/1327
Since: 06-09-12
Oh, I thought the secure area was required or the DS refuses to boot it. Whoops

Edit: Yep, ROM works perfectly fine as is. Fail.
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 07-28-18, 12:22 pm (rev. 1 by pzlate on 07-28-18, 12:27 pm)


Karma: 16
Posts: 1/1
Since: 07-28-18
Thanks for that software to re-enable video. Just want to leave this here in case anyone wants to play retail GBA carts on their Nitro. It's a little bootleg but at least it works.

But basically, all you have to do is connect your dev kit, power on the GBA pak, then go to tools > game banner which forces the DS to boot into the firmware/home menu and you can boot your GBA carts from there.

What I'm curious about is, can you turn on GBA power via software like the video configurator. Otherwise I was thinking about maybe modifying the pcb itself to trigger the relay manually.

Posted on 07-29-18, 12:20 pm
Useless post generator

Karma: -73
Posts: 103/142
Since: 04-15-14
Brilliant find! I hope it gets sold to a homebrew developer and maybe we'll see the DS Homebrew scene make a comeback
I have no words to say to be honest. This box is sitting here with nothing.
Layout by Sherry_
Posted on 08-02-18, 04:04 pm
Cobrat
Now part of NSMBHD for more than 2 years. Time flies.

Karma: 1363
Posts: 657/663
Since: 02-12-16
well dirbaio made ds homebrew in the past
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 08-03-18, 03:06 pm
Useless post generator

Karma: -73
Posts: 114/142
Since: 04-15-14
Yeah, but is he retired?
I have no words to say to be honest. This box is sitting here with nothing.
Layout by Sherry_
Pages: « 1234