Pages: « 12345 »
Posted on 05-13-18, 09:09 pm
Red Paratroopa
who am i

Karma: 96
Posts: 77/171
Since: 04-15-18
Wow, that's really cool!
_________________________
Inferno Mario Bros. Website
Posted on 05-14-18, 02:45 am (rev. 2 by  thegreenbomb on 05-14-18, 02:47 am)
Red Paragoomba
Admin for the MvL Community Remix.

Karma: 57
Posts: 52/54
Since: 12-17-17
Posted by Gericom
My guess is that writing the cartridges is just through special commands and thus should be doable from a normal ds.
Hmm, so with some knowledge and research, someone could develop a homebrew program for the DS for writing to carts? Or has it been done? My guess is that you'd probably have to bypass the fpga verifing part somehow.
_________________________
You might not find me here a lot. I'm either doing other stuff or working on the MvL Community Remix.

You can help out here: https://discord.gg/Mq2W94g
Posted on 05-14-18, 09:00 am
Shyguy


Karma: 105
Posts: 81/90
Since: 07-10-12
Posted by thegreenbomb
Posted by Gericom
My guess is that writing the cartridges is just through special commands and thus should be doable from a normal ds.
Hmm, so with some knowledge and research, someone could develop a homebrew program for the DS for writing to carts? Or has it been done? My guess is that you'd probably have to bypass the fpga verifing part somehow.

Yeah, but only for writing to development cartridges. Normal cartridges are made of one-time writable rom memory and are therefore not rewritable.

That verify thing is just a feature of the is-nitro, nothing really special about it.
Posted on 05-14-18, 08:47 pm
Red Paragoomba
Admin for the MvL Community Remix.

Karma: 57
Posts: 53/54
Since: 12-17-17
Posted by Gericom
Yeah, but only for writing to development cartridges. Normal cartridges are made of one-time writable rom memory and are therefore not rewritable.

That verify thing is just a feature of the is-nitro, nothing really special about it.


Ah I see.

Could you de-solder the memory from the development cart and put it in a normal one? Unless the dev cart memory is totaly different than a normal one, besides being re-writable. I don't see why that wouldn't work. Probably worthless to do all that work, if you can play off a dev cart. (can you?)

Sorry for all the questions, I've only done this kind of work with SNES carts.
_________________________
You might not find me here a lot. I'm either doing other stuff or working on the MvL Community Remix.

You can help out here: https://discord.gg/Mq2W94g
Posted on 05-15-18, 07:43 am
Shyguy


Karma: 105
Posts: 82/90
Since: 07-10-12
Posted by thegreenbomb
Posted by Gericom
Yeah, but only for writing to development cartridges. Normal cartridges are made of one-time writable rom memory and are therefore not rewritable.

That verify thing is just a feature of the is-nitro, nothing really special about it.


Ah I see.

Could you de-solder the memory from the development cart and put it in a normal one? Unless the dev cart memory is totaly different than a normal one, besides being re-writable. I don't see why that wouldn't work. Probably worthless to do all that work, if you can play off a dev cart. (can you?)

Sorry for all the questions, I've only done this kind of work with SNES carts.

There's no need to do that. The whole point of a dev cartridge is that it works in normal ds units.
Posted on 05-15-18, 08:20 pm
Red Paragoomba
Admin for the MvL Community Remix.

Karma: 57
Posts: 54/54
Since: 12-17-17
Ah, alright.

So to sum it up, someone could write a program to write ROMs to a development cart through a normal DS, and it would be playable.

Neat.
_________________________
You might not find me here a lot. I'm either doing other stuff or working on the MvL Community Remix.

You can help out here: https://discord.gg/Mq2W94g
Posted on 05-15-18, 09:18 pm
☭ communist leader ☭


Karma: 9726
Posts: 2560/2618
Since: 06-26-11
Posted by Myria
However, a ray of hope exists: if you flash a cartridge with corrupted unused data, it will work fine, but if you then ask the IS-NITRO-EMULATOR (etc.) to verify the dump, it will say that the flash is bad. Try again with the hacked image and it will say that it's correct. In other words, something is able to read the security data.

Maybe it's just sending a special 'verify security data' command to the cart, which does all the verification work... dunno.
_________________________
Kuribo64 - RH-fucking-cafe - Kafuka

zrghij
Posted on 05-16-18, 04:43 am
Shyguy


Karma: 105
Posts: 83/90
Since: 07-10-12
Whatever the case, someone would have to log the commands to see what's going on. IIRC it's possible to repurpose an action replay for dsi to do that.
Posted on 05-17-18, 12:34 pm (rev. 7 by Lizardon on 05-17-18, 02:14 pm)


Karma: 1
Posts: 1/1
Since: 05-17-18
Hmm, I noticed something else is very wrong with dumping DS(i) games.
Seems to apply to all DSi hybrid games.

Look at 0x8000 to 0x9000 in a dumped rom.
And then search for the same bytes in the rom again.

For example, in an English Pokemon Black dump, the same bytes also exist at 0xC400000.
The same 0x1000 bytes repeat multiple times.

From checking the DSi SDK, I understand that it's not right that the bytes from 0x8000-0x9000 appear again in the rom.
There's usually some DSi related data plus 0xFF padding in the area with the repeats.

So I really think here's something that's completely wrong in the dumps.
Posted on 05-18-18, 08:54 pm
Administrator

Karma: 6749
Posts: 1222/1374
Since: 06-09-12
 Gericom's video enabler works really well



The first download version puts both screens vertically on av out 1 and the bottom screen on av out 2.
The second one puts the top screen on av out 1 and the bottom screen on av out 2.

Image quality really isn't the best. Though my setup is far from being optimal considering I am using a very cheap composite to HDMI converter.
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 05-19-18, 07:47 am
Shyguy


Karma: 105
Posts: 84/90
Since: 07-10-12
Posted by RicBent
 Gericom's video enabler works really well



The first download version puts both screens vertically on av out 1 and the bottom screen on av out 2.
The second one puts the top screen on av out 1 and the bottom screen on av out 2.

Image quality really isn't the best. Though my setup is far from being optimal considering I am using a very cheap composite to HDMI converter.

Nice! It's a pretty cool experience to play on a big screen imo. I see you have a wifi version by the way.
Posted on 05-19-18, 11:25 am (rev. 2 by RicBent on 05-19-18, 11:46 am)
Administrator

Karma: 6749
Posts: 1224/1374
Since: 06-09-12
Yup, wifi works exactly like on a normal system. You can host or join games via the ds menu.

Sleep mode is pretty strange btw: Closing the lid does nothing on the ds menu but works just fine in games

Also you can use regular games to save from the ISNE units. Their save hardware just has to match.
For example I use "Winx Club: Quest for the Codex" (Who knows what that game is or why I own it) to save NSMB.
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 05-19-18, 11:51 am (rev. 1 by  Gericom on 05-19-18, 11:53 am)
Shyguy


Karma: 105
Posts: 85/90
Since: 07-10-12
Posted by RicBent
Yup, wifi works exactly like on a normal system. You can host or join games via the ds menu.

Sleep mode is pretty strange btw: Closing the lid does nothing on the ds menu but works just fine in games

Nice. I did make something with a fpga, my pc and rpi to send and receive the wired wifi packets to and from actual wifi, but it was via a serial connection with a lower speed than 2MBit/s (causing drops at some point) and the latency was probably quite big. So it was possible to see each other in mario kart for example, but connecting wouldn't work. It should be possible to improve though, it was merely meant as a test.

Oh, yeah, I know. You can also backup their save with the pc software.
Posted on 05-19-18, 12:36 pm
☭ communist leader ☭


Karma: 9726
Posts: 2562/2618
Since: 06-26-11
'DS menu' might be an earlier/different version of the retail DS firmware. Would be interesting to dump it as well as the BIOS.
_________________________
Kuribo64 - RH-fucking-cafe - Kafuka

zrghij
Posted on 05-19-18, 01:06 pm (rev. 1 by RicBent on 05-19-18, 01:11 pm)
Administrator

Karma: 6749
Posts: 1225/1374
Since: 06-09-12
'DS menu' is not anything beta at least. The IS-NITRO-DEBUGGER software can update it so I assume they run a special version of the normal one. There for example is a feature to boot the system with the emulated cartridge being inserted to test if the banner is correct. Tho in that mode you are unable to launch the game and clicking the game does exactly nothing.

Though I noticed that the boot jingle is different between a regular ds lite and the debug unit.

Where in the memory is the firmware/bios? I could probably just dump it then.
Edit: I guess they are not mapped to mormal memory? Should be possible then to move it there then somehow..
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 05-19-18, 01:18 pm
Shyguy


Karma: 105
Posts: 86/90
Since: 07-10-12
Posted by RicBent
'DS menu' is not anything beta at least. The IS-NITRO-DEBUGGER software can update it so I assume they run a special version of the normal one. There for example is a feature to boot the system with the emulated cartridge being inserted to test if the banner is correct. Tho in that mode you are unable to launch the game and clicking the game does exactly nothing.

Though I noticed that the boot jingle is different between a regular ds lite and the debug unit.

Where in the memory is the firmware/bios? I could probably just dump it then.
Edit: I guess they are not mapped to mormal memory? Should be possible then to move it there then somehow..

The jingle you hear is the birthday jingle.

The firmware is dumpable by sending a couple of commands. You can directly control the firmware chip via spi via a couple of registers.
Posted on 05-19-18, 10:25 pm (rev. 2 by RicBent on 05-19-18, 10:40 pm)
Administrator

Karma: 6749
Posts: 1226/1374
Since: 06-09-12
Made a quick mod to  Gericom's video enabler to configure the thing as you wish:

https://nsmbhd.net/file/VlyKSj5v1hlccZlg/NitroVideoConfigurator.zip



Basically let's you do exactly what the official software let's you do with a non video unit plus a few more things.


Edit: I wonder if there is a way to force button inputs. Would make it way cooler to play games...
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 05-20-18, 12:14 am (rev. 1 by  Ninja NAH on 05-20-18, 12:15 am)
Koopa
Adventure Time is over and I'm sad.

Karma: 259
Posts: 84/110
Since: 06-19-17
A bit offtopic...

Posted by RicBent
Edit: I wonder if there is a way to force button inputs. Would make it way cooler to play games...


If someone were to make that, we could have an actual Super Mario Run hack for DS!

Or, heaven forbid, a spring power-up that spams the B button for you. Oh gawd no.
_________________________
Switch friend code:
SW-2893-0121-3239

Time is an illusion that helps things make sense
So we are always living in the present tense
It seems unforgiving when a good thing ends
But you and I will always be back then
Posted on 05-20-18, 02:35 am
Lakitu
Swagmaster

Karma: 525
Posts: 158/569
Since: 04-24-18
I love all this! You guys are so smart
___________________________________________________________
Check out some of my hacks!

New-ISH:https://nsmbhd.net/thread/4430-new-ish-super-mario-bros-ds-full-80-level-hack/
NSMBU DS:https://nsmbhd.net/thread/4444-demo-release-new-super-mario-bros-u-ds/
Super Mario Fall Fiesta:https://nsmbhd.net/thread/4515-super-mario-fall-fiesta/

Posted on 05-20-18, 08:26 am (rev. 1 by  Gericom on 05-20-18, 08:31 am)
Shyguy


Karma: 105
Posts: 87/90
Since: 07-10-12
Posted by RicBent
Made a quick mod to  Gericom's video enabler to configure the thing as you wish:

https://nsmbhd.net/file/VlyKSj5v1hlccZlg/NitroVideoConfigurator.zip



Basically let's you do exactly what the official software let's you do with a non video unit plus a few more things.


Edit: I wonder if there is a way to force button inputs. Would make it way cooler to play games...

Nice! Looks great. The only thing you didn't implement is rotation.

From what I know only the debug button can be controlled.
Pages: « 12345 »