Pages: « 12345
Posted on 08-27-18, 07:24 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 8903
Posts: 4430/4431
Since: 06-08-11
devkitPro for Windows already contains an ndstool compiled for windows BTW.
Posted on 08-28-18, 03:57 am (rev. 1 by famiac on 08-28-18, 04:00 am)


Karma: 11
Posts: 2/2
Since: 08-25-18
Oh. I had just looked at their github repo, and I couldn't find any windows binaries.
Posted on 12-17-18, 01:51 am (rev. 1 by TiredKorok on 12-17-18, 07:54 am)


Karma: 1
Posts: 1/1
Since: 12-16-18
Really cool work going on here, the video enablers and workaround for GBA are especially awesome!

The only feature a debugger unit is missing now is running retail ds games.

Hoping to get a debugger myself soon, maybe I can help figure something out

Edit: I know it is used just for flashing games and backup memory but I wonder if that's just a software limitation like the gba slot.
Posted on 01-22-19, 11:33 am (rev. 1 by RicBent on 01-22-19, 11:41 am)
Administrator

Karma: 7198
Posts: 1412/1459
Since: 06-09-12
The FCC actually makes a ton of pictures/documents of the tested hardware public. This includes internal photos, tho mainly only of the radio hardware.

Considering  Dirbaio took apart a non wifi version this doc is pretty interesting:
https://fccid.io/document.php?id=509647

There are a ton more docs including pictures and manuals of the IS-NITRO-EMULATOR available here:
https://fccid.io/SRX-ISNWIRE

If you want to see some stuff about other dev hardware made by Intelligent Systems here is a list of all their hardware inspected by the FCC:
https://fccid.io/SRX
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 03-14-19, 08:10 am


Karma: 2
Posts: 1/3
Since: 03-14-19
Hey there!

I’m using an IS-NITRO-CAPTURE on 2 stacked CRTs (14in on top of 20in).

Anyone know if it would be theoretically possible to make a homebrew ROM which can swap the screen that the AV outs display? If it is, I’ll look into it. I see that Gericom's video controller program can make either AV out display either screen so at least that part is possible, but not sure about the ability to do it from the unit itself. Basically, since a lot of DS games tend to have one more important screen, I like to have it on the bigger CRT and I’m looking for a way to do that without having to swap cables per game.

If anyone has any input on this I’d appreciate it.
Posted on 03-14-19, 11:58 am (rev. 1 by RicBent on 03-14-19, 12:01 pm)
Administrator

Karma: 7198
Posts: 1456/1459
Since: 06-09-12
You cannot control the AV-Out registers from the DS system. You always have to do it via PC.

You could possibly mod your roms to swap the screens tho: https://problemkaputt.de/gbatek.htm#dspowermanagement

New Super Mario Bros. iirc uses that to get the gameplay on the bottom screen in some underground sections.
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 03-15-19, 08:14 pm


Karma: 2
Posts: 2/3
Since: 03-14-19
Posted by RicBent
You cannot control the AV-Out registers from the DS system. You always have to do it via PC.

You could possibly mod your roms to swap the screens tho: https://problemkaputt.de/gbatek.htm#dspowermanagement

New Super Mario Bros. iirc uses that to get the gameplay on the bottom screen in some underground sections.


Hmm, a little unfortunate but at least now I know. Now that you mention it, I believe some games even have screen swapping cheat codes. Maybe that will be good enough. Swapping cables isn’t that much of a big deal either, it just would have been nice to have a convenient all in one solution.

In any case, thanks for the help!
Posted on 03-15-19, 11:55 pm (rev. 2 by RicBent on 03-16-19, 12:14 am)
Administrator

Karma: 7198
Posts: 1458/1459
Since: 06-09-12
Couldn't you hook up your two AV cables to a DPDT switch? Would allow swapping the screen with a single switch


_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 03-19-19, 12:53 pm


Karma: 2
Posts: 3/3
Since: 03-14-19
Using a switch for this is quite a good idea. I’ve been meaning to get an Extron matrix switcher and one would be able to achieve exactly what I’m looking for, similar to what you describe. They can map many inputs to many outputs in any way you want which is handy. Basically, I would just have to break the S-video mini-DIN out into 2 cables for Y/C and then combine them back into the mini-DIN on the outputs.

I hadn’t really thought of this until you mentioned using a switch because most people only use these for RGB video, but I’m almost certain that they just output whatever you input to them so it should work.

I could always mod the IS-NITRO for RGB if I had to, but I think this would work fine without doing that. I’ve read of someone RGB modding one before, but I personally find the S-video output on these to be very good so I see no need.

Anyways, thanks for the idea. This may be my best bet, though it’ll probably be a while until I get the hardware to actually try it.
Pages: « 12345