Pages: 1
Posted on 01-24-19, 02:12 am (rev. 1 by Midevilgmer on 01-24-19, 02:12 am)


Karma: 2
Posts: 1/1
Since: 01-24-19
I am trying to add a new world in New Super Mario Bros DS and I can't figure out how to do it.
Posted on 01-24-19, 02:28 am
Boomerang Brother
Thinking of something clever to put here

Karma: 2012
Posts: 717/1014
Since: 02-12-16
ASM hacking is the only way. Without it the most you can do is trying to cram two worlds into one using custom worldmaps.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 01-24-19, 02:21 pm
Hammer Brother
Swagmaster

Karma: 1175
Posts: 732/1069
Since: 04-24-18
I've seen this asked before. Not only would it take ASM, but worldmaps are hardcoded. Adding a 9th World is nearly impossible. If it was easy, Newer would've done it in Newer DS.
___________________________________________________________


New Super Mario Bros. U DS:
https://nsmbhd.net/thread/4444-new-super-mario-bros-u-ds-demo-release/
Discord: https://discord.gg/vzf8jpJ
Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDVgpALFwJf_u5hjfKEuQSA
Posted on 01-24-19, 04:39 pm
Administrator

Karma: 7490
Posts: 1413/1529
Since: 06-09-12
Posted by Skylander
Not only would it take ASM, but worldmaps are hardcoded.

That sentence doesn't make any sense. If you do code modding you change the code.

Also NewerDS was very capable of doing full custom world maps and potentially adding a world. We chose not to do it as it would've delayed the release quite a bit.
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 03-01-19, 12:32 am
Red Koopa
Captain Underpants

Karma: 11
Posts: 41/133
Since: 02-01-19
Wait, you helped develop Newer DS?
_________________________
One small step for man, and a flag too, I guess.
Posted on 03-01-19, 01:39 am
Boomerang Brother
Thinking of something clever to put here

Karma: 2012
Posts: 772/1014
Since: 02-12-16
yes, he did code hacking. iirc he's the one who made the final boss.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 03-01-19, 03:57 pm
Red Koopa
Captain Underpants

Karma: 11
Posts: 42/133
Since: 02-01-19
Oh. I wouldn't know because MEGA takes forever to download stuff.
_________________________
One small step for man, and a flag too, I guess.
Posted on 03-01-19, 11:28 pm
Boomerang Brother
Thinking of something clever to put here

Karma: 2012
Posts: 774/1014
Since: 02-12-16
what does mega have to do with that
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 03-04-19, 02:17 am
Fuzzy
Will never finish a hack

Karma: 1773
Posts: 770/777
Since: 03-25-16
dunno but mega gives me some of the fastest download speeds of any website, not sure why it takes forever for him
_________________________
hey look, I did a thing
Posted on 03-04-19, 09:37 am
Red Koopa
Captain Underpants

Karma: 11
Posts: 44/133
Since: 02-01-19
Mega is the download site for Newer DS and it fails after 15%.
_________________________
One small step for man, and a flag too, I guess.
Posted on 03-04-19, 03:02 pm
Boomerang Brother
Thinking of something clever to put here

Karma: 2012
Posts: 784/1014
Since: 02-12-16
well mega does suck quite a bit ever since they decided that letting you download stuff normally would just be too simple so they had to code a new thing that fails all the time instead.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 03-05-19, 01:01 pm (rev. 1 by  Wither19 on 03-05-19, 01:02 pm)
Red Koopa
Captain Underpants

Karma: 11
Posts: 48/133
Since: 02-01-19
Well, at least it does what I said it did on my computer. But on my tablet, it downloads it all in about 7 seconds.
_________________________
One small step for man, and a flag too, I guess.
Posted on 03-05-19, 02:02 pm
Administrator

Karma: 7490
Posts: 1440/1529
Since: 06-09-12
This is way offtopic. Considering the question got answered I am closing this
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Pages: 1