Pages: 12 »
Posted on 12-30-18, 02:25 am (rev. 10 by  poudink on 09-02-20, 01:08 am)
Giant Goomba
H

Karma: 2711
Posts: 685/1230
Since: 02-12-16
Tired of being limited to 256x112 with your tilesets? Well boy do I have a tutorial for you. This is the second version of my extended tileset tutorial. My original tutorial allowed extending any tileset to 256x152 and tilesets that aren't used in conjunction with the sub nohara tileset to 256x176. This new version allows extending ANY tileset to 256x176. That's 256x64 of extra space compared to normal tilesets.

Here are the steps:

Setting it up:
1. Set up the ASM Patch Template if you haven't already. If you don't know how to, there are tutorials for that here and here.
2. Get the following code hacks in your rom:

3. Download this model.
4.
If you installed the "Signboard Upgrade" portion of the Sprite 93 always available and on higher layer priority code hack:
Using EFE, add the model to the rom. Set up the code to make it one of the available models.
If you haven't installed the "Signboard Upgrade" portion of the Sprite 93 always available and on higher layer priority code hack:
Replace enemy/yajirusi_l.nsbmd with the model.
5. For every instance of the end of level castle in your stages, delete everything except the small portion on the bottom right corner and place a signboard sprite such that the signboard's rightmost tile overlaps with the leftmost tile of the castle you just deleted.

Expanding your tileset to 256x176:
1. Find the _ncg.bin file for your tileset here and LZ77-decompress it.
2. Extract it.
3. Open both the _ncg.bin file you extracted in a hex editor.
5. Insert 0x4000 00 bytes at the end of the NCG
6. Reinsert the _ncg.bin file in the rom and LZ77-recompress it. It should now be 256x176.

If there's anything that doesn't work or that's unclear, please tell me so that I can improve this tutorial. It was a bit rushed so it may not be the best thing ever.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 02-06-19, 01:06 am
Giant Goomba
H

Karma: 2711
Posts: 735/1230
Since: 02-12-16
Updated first post: I realized you could actually extend your tilesets without sacrificing the sub nohara to 256x152 by optimizing the sub nohara tileset.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 02-15-19, 04:14 pm
Panser


Karma: 324
Posts: 272/329
Since: 01-28-17
Will this work with the Newer DS Sub Nohara tileset?
--___________
-/-----------------\
/-------------------\
|------|------|------|
|--------------------|
|---\________/---|
\-------------------/
-\___________/
Posted on 02-15-19, 04:48 pm
Giant Goomba
H

Karma: 2711
Posts: 750/1230
Since: 02-12-16
The newer ds sub nohara tileset is already extended but takes up too much space. you will have to reduce the space it takes, which you can do by removing the snow part. After you do that, just shove all the graphics in the bottom 256x32 section of the tileset, fix the map16 and you're good to go.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 02-15-19, 06:00 pm
Panser


Karma: 324
Posts: 273/329
Since: 01-28-17
Ok. Do I still have to mess with the Sub Nohara tileset for the first method, then? The original post says that I don't have to mess with Sub Nohara for it to work.
--___________
-/-----------------\
/-------------------\
|------|------|------|
|--------------------|
|---\________/---|
\-------------------/
-\___________/
Posted on 02-15-19, 08:02 pm
Giant Goomba
H

Karma: 2711
Posts: 751/1230
Since: 02-12-16
you don't need to mess with sub nohara for the first method, but you also won't be able to use the sub nohara in areas using tilesets made with that method. I suggest the second one though. Since Newer DS already has the double sub nohara size asm hack, it'll be just as easy to use and you'll have even more space.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 02-15-19, 08:23 pm
Paragoomba


Karma: 66
Posts: 63/67
Since: 09-23-17
Posted by poudink
LZ decompress it using NSMBe, go to offset 0x5000 using NSMBe's hex editor and select everything from there until the end. Copy, and then past at the end of the file. Save, close the hex editor and LZ compress the file. It should now be 256x144

Will editing tileset that uses a bitmap extended said way break NSMBe?
Posted on 02-15-19, 09:05 pm
Giant Goomba
H

Karma: 2711
Posts: 752/1230
Since: 02-12-16
nope, NSMBe can handle extended tilesets completely fine.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 07-09-20, 12:55 am (rev. 1 by  poudink on 07-17-20, 03:35 am)
Giant Goomba
H

Karma: 2711
Posts: 1079/1230
Since: 02-12-16
Completely remade the tutorial. Now any tileset can be expended to 256x176.
EDIT: Updated tutorial. I'd forgotten to mention LZ77 compression. If you were having trouble getting this to work, please try again.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 08-30-20, 09:15 am
Paratroopa
I do things sometimes

Karma: 433
Posts: 73/153
Since: 08-07-17
Definitely useful, though it does seem to present some disadvantages. Not only does the castle render a bit oddly (gets a bit wavy if you walk around it when playing on an actual DS, gets divided in MelonDS), but the broken flagpole seems to go under the tiles that cover Mario. Also, while I haven't followed the tutorial in full, wouldn't relocating the broken flagpole make it load tiles from your extended tileset? With that aside this is still extremely useful for adding variation to a hack
Posted on 08-30-20, 04:49 pm (rev. 1 by  poudink on 08-30-20, 04:52 pm)
Giant Goomba
H

Karma: 2711
Posts: 1101/1230
Since: 02-12-16
The broken flagpole? I didn't think of that, I'll have to look into it. About the thing looking kinda wavy and stuff, yeah, that's an issue. I'll try to fix it.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 09-01-20, 07:12 pm (rev. 3 by  poudink on 09-01-20, 07:26 pm)
Giant Goomba
H

Karma: 2711
Posts: 1104/1230
Since: 02-12-16
Welp, I looked into it. The broken flagpole issue is one I'm afraid I might not be able to solve without making the tutorial twice as complicated as it already is, though I'll try my best to keep that from happening.

The weird rendering of the castle is most likely due to my usage of MKDSCM to make the model (though I did at least use tgaconv so the textures were good), which is known to be pretty sub par. I only used it because I was too lazy to get other converters to work but since it doesn't seem to be working great I guess I'll try with ass2imd or the NNS blender plugins.
Note that the castle being split in melonDS is an issue with melonDS's OpenGL renderer. It's fixed if you use the software renderer.

I have also partially rewritten the second portion of the tutorial since I noticed it had issues. If you had issues with that part, try again now.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 09-01-20, 07:25 pm
Paratroopa
I do things sometimes

Karma: 433
Posts: 82/153
Since: 08-07-17
I was working on porting the nsmbu castle for this which seems to render better. If you want I can send you that to use as a base so you don't have to reconvert it n such
Posted on 09-01-20, 07:27 pm
Giant Goomba
H

Karma: 2711
Posts: 1105/1230
Since: 02-12-16
Are you actually making a new model or simply retexturing the one I made?
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 09-01-20, 07:32 pm
Paratroopa
I do things sometimes

Karma: 433
Posts: 83/153
Since: 08-07-17
It's based off the model you made but not a simple retexture
Posted on 09-01-20, 07:35 pm
Giant Goomba
H

Karma: 2711
Posts: 1106/1230
Since: 02-12-16
well, I prefer having the NSMBDS castle as the default model. also, you'd still have to replace all of the polygon_unit files, which would force me to make the tutorial longer to account for the NSMBU graphics you'd have to put there.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 09-01-20, 07:38 pm
Paratroopa
I do things sometimes

Karma: 433
Posts: 84/153
Since: 08-07-17
Does this use the polygon_unit toride tiles? I thought those weren't used because of that wall part in the castle model
Posted on 09-01-20, 07:41 pm
Giant Goomba
H

Karma: 2711
Posts: 1107/1230
Since: 02-12-16
It does. I wasn't going to use them at first but I realized that if I didn't use them the bottom of Mario's feet ended up being visible, like when Mario's going down a two tile high pipe. It's the reason we don't delete the bottom right portion.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 09-01-20, 07:45 pm
Paratroopa
I do things sometimes

Karma: 433
Posts: 85/153
Since: 08-07-17
Ah yes. So then does that make the wall part in that castle model unnecessary?
Posted on 09-01-20, 07:56 pm
Giant Goomba
H

Karma: 2711
Posts: 1108/1230
Since: 02-12-16
It might. I left it there just in case, since I'm sure the wall part will be correctly aligned but I'm not sure the toride textures will be.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Pages: 12 »