Pages: 1
Posted on 07-19-18, 03:24 pm
Banned: That secret reveal fired back, didn't it?!

Karma: -136
Posts: 2/28
Since: 07-19-18
I am working on hack called Modern Super Mario Bros DS, and I wanna add all the models from Odyssey with the animations from that game, is it possible? and if so how do I do it? are there any side effects for doing it?
Posted on 07-19-18, 03:36 pm (rev. 1 by RicBent on 07-19-18, 03:37 pm)
Administrator

Karma: 7375
Posts: 1285/1481
Since: 06-09-12
Of course! Models made for a home console game in 2017 are perfectly suitable for a game made for a portable console in 2006!

Hint: The model of Mario in SMO is almost as large as the entire NSMB ROM.
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 07-19-18, 03:40 pm
Banned: That secret reveal fired back, didn't it?!

Karma: -136
Posts: 5/28
Since: 07-19-18
Posted by RicBent
Of course! Models made for a home console game in 2017 are perfectly suitable for a game made for a portable console in 2006!

Hint: The model of Mario in SMO is almost as large as the entire NSMB ROM.


But what if I resize it?
Posted on 07-19-18, 03:45 pm
Administrator

Karma: 7375
Posts: 1286/1481
Since: 06-09-12
Then you got a model as good looking as the one already in the game.

And even if you manage to import a new Mario model (which nobody has ever done yet) you would have to create custom code that uses the new animations. And that is pretty much impossible for anybody not into asm hacking.
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 07-19-18, 04:08 pm
Banned: That secret reveal fired back, didn't it?!

Karma: -136
Posts: 6/28
Since: 07-19-18
Posted by RicBent
Then you got a model as good looking as the one already in the game.

And even if you manage to import a new Mario model (which nobody has ever done yet) you would have to create custom code that uses the new animations. And that is pretty much impossible for anybody not into asm hacking.


Do you know someone who can make the model I want? I'll learn ASM later.
Posted on 07-19-18, 04:12 pm
Administrator

Karma: 7375
Posts: 1287/1481
Since: 06-09-12
No, nobody has yet imported a new player model. Recreating the bone structure is just way too tedious.
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 07-19-18, 04:17 pm
Banned: That secret reveal fired back, didn't it?!

Karma: -136
Posts: 8/28
Since: 07-19-18
Posted by RicBent
No, nobody has yet imported a new player model. Recreating the bone structure is just way too tedious.


I am asking if someone will make the model and help me.
Posted on 07-19-18, 04:40 pm
Red Super Koopa
Swagmaster

Karma: 1004
Posts: 348/896
Since: 04-24-18
Making a model is not just a hop, skip and a jump. Editing models are very hard.
___________________________________________________________


New Super Mario Bros. U DS:
https://nsmbhd.net/thread/4444-new-super-mario-bros-u-ds-demo-release/

Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDVgpALFwJf_u5hjfKEuQSA
Posted on 07-19-18, 04:43 pm, deleted by RicBent: No.
Posted on 07-19-18, 04:54 pm


Karma: 11
Posts: 1/1
Since: 07-19-18
Hey, we already talked about this on discord. Doing so would look almost no different since the DS has a 144p screen, and downsizing the models to fit in the game at all would be a complete waste of time, in my opinion. Do what you will, though. (Just don't get excited and expect to get Cappy or something stupid like that.) :r
Posted on 07-19-18, 04:56 pm
Banned: That secret reveal fired back, didn't it?!

Karma: -136
Posts: 10/28
Since: 07-19-18
Posted by grishhung
Hey, we already talked about this on discord. Doing so would look almost no different since the DS has a 144p screen, and downsizing the models to fit in the game at all would be a complete waste of time, in my opinion. Do what you will, though. (Just don't get excited and expect to get Cappy or something stupid like that.) :r


LOL, I am not even planning on making cappy in the game.
Posted on 07-19-18, 06:42 pm (rev. 1 by EddieGames on 07-19-18, 06:42 pm)


Karma: -19
Posts: 11/24
Since: 07-13-18
Posted by RicBent
No, nobody has yet imported a new player model. Recreating the bone structure is just way too tedious.
You do know that MarioFanatic64 has changed the player model to Toad in a version of his hack, "New Super Mario Advance + Take 2" .
Posted on 07-19-18, 06:49 pm
Administrator

Karma: 7375
Posts: 1290/1481
Since: 06-09-12
That mod was done by  ray and only replaces the head model as it has no bones.
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 07-19-18, 06:56 pm
Once upon a time there was a tiger.

Karma: 4795
Posts: 2421/2596
Since: 01-17-13
nobody has ever successfully replaced the model for mario's body. this is largely because there's nothing to gain in doing so.

also, in the perfect scenario where you managed to add the model you wouldn't even see a difference ingame at all. did you ever realize the pixeled resolution wouldn't let you?

why replace the perfectly optimized model Nintendo put in thier game to just add a buggy one when you can't see any difference?
Posted on 07-22-18, 02:40 pm
Boo
Watched the Endless Eight twice.

Karma: 1846
Posts: 647/944
Since: 02-12-16
king yoshi replaced mario's body to be wario's body from sm64ds, altough it screwed up the head (from what I heard because misnamed the head bone). Anyway, just to say that it's been done, although I don't see any use in importing the odyssey model.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Pages: 1