Pages: 1
Posted on 07-06-18, 01:41 pm (rev. 1 by Skylander on 07-06-18, 01:43 pm)
Mole
The Model Train Man

Karma: 193
Posts: 303/357
Since: 04-24-18
I have been trying for months now to get Mero Mero's Jyotyu and Subnohara working. Everytime, there's some kind of issue that requires some kind of ASM that I don't know HOW TO DO. I can't do ASM, so if someone could help fix, that would be great! I would send the helper a .nmp file of my hack.

The main reason I need this is that I used Arceus's Jyotyu for a while, and now that the hack's demo is released, I need to use Mero Mero's instead. And yes, I have tried again, and yes. Failure. I just can't do it!

I tried importing the files manually, and the flagpole was broken.
I used the .xdelta patch, and then I couldn't import custom tilesets. It's one thing or the other it seems.


So if anyone is willing to take an .nmp of my hack, that would be great!
Whoever volunteers first, I will PM you the .nmp, and credits will be added.
___________________________________________________________
Check out some of my hacks!




Posted on 07-07-18, 05:50 am
Melon Bug
Will never finish a hack

Karma: 1690
Posts: 724/732
Since: 03-25-16
What issues have you been having with ASM?
_________________________
hey look, I did a thing
Posted on 07-07-18, 10:32 am
Koopa
W1 close to completetion

Karma: 251
Posts: 114/118
Since: 10-22-17
Why can't you import asm hacks? Do you keep getting errors or are you using a non-supported system (system = eg Windows/Linux/macOS/...)?
_________________________
o.O
Posted on 07-07-18, 01:36 pm
Mole
The Model Train Man

Karma: 193
Posts: 304/357
Since: 04-24-18
When I imported Mero Mero's ASM in an xdelta, everything was fine.....until I added custom tilesets, which we all need to make a good hack.

The first thing I tried to do with ASM is adding files using Skawo's tutorial. And there was a part where I had to take the Rom apart and put it back together. My rom wasn't put back together right. I have tried so many times, and I just give up. I may sound kinda stupid for saying it, but I can't do ASM.
___________________________________________________________
Check out some of my hacks!




Posted on 07-07-18, 01:59 pm
Melon Bug
Will never finish a hack

Karma: 1690
Posts: 725/732
Since: 03-25-16
...is adding files really necessary at the stage you're at with your hacks? Regular ASM should work just fine, I don't think you need to do anything fancy for importing mero's tilesets. What error do you get when trying to import the ASM into the ROM?
_________________________
hey look, I did a thing
Posted on 07-07-18, 03:16 pm
Koopa
W1 close to completetion

Karma: 251
Posts: 115/118
Since: 10-22-17
you need to add files in order to use the custom level intros made by skawo. Don't know if Skylander is using this one.

But you can fix your rom: You can simply export all your levels using NSMBe and export the files you edited (graphics, asm hacks and so on) and put them into a clean rom. Helped me a lot!

Beside that, backups are equal to gods. You don't think you need them once you mess things up and then you are glad that they are there.
_________________________
o.O
Posted on 07-07-18, 07:37 pm (rev. 1 by Skylander on 07-07-18, 07:37 pm)
Mole
The Model Train Man

Karma: 193
Posts: 305/357
Since: 04-24-18
My Rom is fine. I tried adding files when I wanted custom intros, and the rom went back together incorrectly. There are no error messages. Guser123123 is importing custom intros that I am designing. I did copy the rom during this process, so that's how it's still fine.

I'm just saying, that I really need Mero's tileset in here and I need it to not screw up any custom tilesets I import. If I import the files manually, the flagpole gets messed up
___________________________________________________________
Check out some of my hacks!




Posted on 07-07-18, 10:42 pm
(Words)

Karma: 535
Posts: 185/186
Since: 01-03-16
Define what "messed up" is.

What gets broken and how, being vague with your response doesn't help.
Explain your process so we can better help you.
_________________________

"I strikingly thought you would know how but it clearly seems you have no knowledge of hacking" - MiiU 2017
Posted on 07-08-18, 12:16 am
Mole
The Model Train Man

Karma: 193
Posts: 307/357
Since: 04-24-18
After I imported the files manually from Mero's first post about the NSMBWii Jyotyu, The flagpole looked fine in the editor, and then, it was glitched out with random colors in game. The castle too. All of it. When I imported the xdelta ASM hack, everything was fine. When I imported a custom tileset, it glitched the old original tileset. It's hard to describe, but I can snap screenshots on Monday
___________________________________________________________
Check out some of my hacks!




Posted on 07-08-18, 06:12 am
Melon Bug
Will never finish a hack

Karma: 1690
Posts: 726/732
Since: 03-25-16
Try importing the ASM hack yourself instead of using an xDelta. Doesn't an xDelta require a clean base ROM to work properly?
_________________________
hey look, I did a thing
Posted on 07-08-18, 01:47 pm
Mole
The Model Train Man

Karma: 193
Posts: 310/357
Since: 04-24-18
That's what I did when I was trying to start the project. When I came up with the idea of NSMBU DS, I got my rom, got all the graphics (tilesets and backgrounds) and the xdelta. And yes, the Rom was clean and brand new at the time.

I can't import ASM hacks because my ROM won't rebuild itself properly in the folder. I used DS Lazy to do so and it's just a mess. The reason I posted this thread is because I need someone good to do it for me. I know it sounds child-ish, but I have had it up to here with ASM. Trust me, I wish I knew how. I wouldn't have to ask others
___________________________________________________________
Check out some of my hacks!




Posted on 07-08-18, 02:55 pm
Koopa
W1 close to completetion

Karma: 251
Posts: 116/118
Since: 10-22-17
Wait, did i get this right: you use DS Lazy for ASM hacks?
The best (and working) way is using the patch template dirbaio made
_________________________
o.O
Posted on 07-08-18, 03:56 pm
Mole
The Model Train Man

Karma: 193
Posts: 311/357
Since: 04-24-18
nonono, I kinda worded it wrong. Skawo's tutorial to add files told me to use it. I thought I had to use it to make it compatible for ASM hacks or something.

Anyway, back to the main question in this thread: Can somebody get the Jyotyu and Subnohara working for me? Whoever offers to do it will receive an .nmp of my hack. Remember, I am only offering the job to one person.
___________________________________________________________
Check out some of my hacks!




Posted on 07-11-18, 01:18 am (rev. 2 by Skylander on 07-11-18, 02:17 am)
Mole
The Model Train Man

Karma: 193
Posts: 321/357
Since: 04-24-18
UGH.



I tried an expirement. I used Mero Mero's stuff from the first post, and for the subnohara... I used Newer's. Everything was fine except for this.




Give me a few more days. I am expirmenting and maybe I will find a solution to the flagpole issue.
But if somebody knows how to fix this, please tell me. Hopefully it won't need ASM.
___________________________________________________________
Check out some of my hacks!




Posted on 07-12-18, 05:57 pm
Mole
The Model Train Man

Karma: 193
Posts: 329/357
Since: 04-24-18
I give up. I have tried and tried and tried and it won't work. I guess I will have to keep the jyotyu and subnohara original...
___________________________________________________________
Check out some of my hacks!




Posted on 07-14-18, 03:07 pm (rev. 1 by Skylander on 07-14-18, 03:08 pm)
Mole
The Model Train Man

Karma: 193
Posts: 333/357
Since: 04-24-18
Alright!!



castle is a little glitchy still, but it will do for now
Jyotyu is no longer Arceus's. It's Mero Mero's
___________________________________________________________
Check out some of my hacks!




Pages: 1