Pages: 1
Posted on 08-27-17, 10:45 pm (rev. 1 by woji__ on 08-27-17, 10:47 pm)


Karma: -16
Posts: 3/4
Since: 08-27-17
I've been searching on google for a while and I cannot find a way to edit the overworld. Is there an overworld editor to fully edit the overworld? If there is that would be great (and if there is a tutorial for it would be helpful too!)

Edit: I accidently gave it the tag "overworld" sorry bout that
Posted on 08-28-17, 02:34 am
Once upon a time there was a tiger.

Karma: 4527
Posts: 2238/2539
Since: 01-17-13
jesus

replace "overworld" by "world map" and search again
Posted on 08-28-17, 09:05 am
Administrator

Karma: 7198
Posts: 980/1459
Since: 06-09-12
Yeah, search first, ask then.

And in the future please use the General NSMB questions thread for short questions like this one.
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 08-28-17, 10:14 am


Karma: -16
Posts: 4/4
Since: 08-27-17
alright
Posted on 09-04-17, 11:20 pm
Red Paragoomba


Karma: 96
Posts: 10/56
Since: 08-10-17
Also you cannot change the paths, they are hardcoded in, only the decorations everywhere else.
Posted on 09-05-17, 07:42 am
Birdo


Karma: 2535
Posts: 2006/2057
Since: 06-26-11
You can change them.
_________________________
Will pay unspecified $ for NSMB beta.
Posted on 09-05-17, 02:18 pm
Red Paragoomba


Karma: 96
Posts: 11/56
Since: 08-10-17
Posted by Hiccup
You can change them.

That's interesting. Last time I explored the topic Skawo said somewhere how they were hardcoded in.
Posted on 09-05-17, 03:31 pm
Birdo


Karma: 2535
Posts: 2009/2057
Since: 06-26-11
Can't remember the details, but anyway hardcoded doesn't meaning "non-changeable". It basically means it is embedded into the code, especially in such a way that it is difficult to change.
_________________________
Will pay unspecified $ for NSMB beta.
Posted on 09-05-17, 04:20 pm
Administrator

Karma: 7198
Posts: 988/1459
Since: 06-09-12
Actually after having seen how the world map structure works I wouldn't say that stuff is coded in a difficult way. It is so easily implemented that I wonder that nobody like  Dirbaio found it before or why people allways said that the worldmap stuff is implemented in a stupid way. I'd actually do it the same.

The structs are also so easily replacable by simply replacing the pointers to the original structs to custom structs. That is also basicallly how Goombatlas works.
(Structs are all documented here)
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 09-06-17, 07:42 am


Karma: 18630
Posts: 1026/1086
Since: 04-02-13
I only assumed WMs were crappily coded early on because of NSMBW, where they are. Right now, the problem is modelling them, really.
Posted on 09-06-17, 09:03 am
Administrator

Karma: 7198
Posts: 990/1459
Since: 06-09-12
Yeah, modelling is only doable with maya and the sdk tools.
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 09-07-17, 06:20 pm
Bandit
hey look I'm 3 years old now

Karma: 1676
Posts: 403/815
Since: 02-12-16
Wouldn't sketchup + MKDSCM work?
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Posted on 09-07-17, 06:52 pm
Administrator

Karma: 7198
Posts: 992/1459
Since: 06-09-12
It would, but
a) you get a ton less features like selecting lighting, verting colors and culling
b) indivitual paths will not go from (semi-)transparent to solid when unlocking a level as you have to define sub meshes in maya with specific names
c) you won't be able to do animations
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Pages: 1