Pages: « 123456 »
Posted on 07-03-15, 10:43 am
swamped with work

Karma: 5354
Posts: 1607/2709
Since: 01-17-13
Very nice. That map reminds me of NSMB2.

By the way, how stable the editor currently is?
Posted on 07-03-15, 12:18 pm
Mariomaster

Karma: 8168
Posts: 458/1613
Since: 06-09-12
I couldn't get any errors with the latest version, but there are some for sure.

(And that map textures are from NSMBW)
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 07-03-15, 02:23 pm
Hammer Brother


Karma: 3498
Posts: 454/1071
Since: 11-29-11
I'm not able to edit the path animations.
If I try to open w1_move.nsbca,
the editor says 'This Animation File was not created with this editor!'
Posted on 07-03-15, 02:48 pm (rev. 2 by RicBent on 07-03-15, 02:51 pm)
Mariomaster

Karma: 8168
Posts: 459/1613
Since: 06-09-12
Somehow the editor gave you the solution

You have to create a new animation file, because the original one is too complicated to write an editor for it. Use the button "Create Path Animations" instead

Also: The path animations editor is not easy to use. If I have a bit of time (and thats very rare) I'll try to recode it a bit or write a tutorial

_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 07-03-15, 02:50 pm
Hammer Brother


Karma: 3498
Posts: 455/1071
Since: 11-29-11
So... it's not possible to edit a original animation file..?
What a shame.
Posted on 07-03-15, 02:51 pm
Mariomaster

Karma: 8168
Posts: 460/1613
Since: 06-09-12
Sadly no. But you could recreate the original ones very fast with the editor
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 07-03-15, 02:59 pm
Hammer Brother


Karma: 3498
Posts: 456/1071
Since: 11-29-11
How? You're not able to see the path settings of the original one, are you?
Posted on 07-03-15, 03:08 pm (rev. 3 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 03:16 am)
Mariomaster

Karma: 8168
Posts: 461/1613
Since: 06-09-12
Posted by KingYoshi
How? You're not able to see the path settings of the original one, are you?

No. But you know which paths goes from which to which node (At least for World 1 by  ray).
I'll make a full list if I have time.


In addition to that you could also this you mentioned before

(I may also recreate the animations and publish them)
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 07-03-15, 03:12 pm
Hammer Brother


Karma: 3498
Posts: 457/1071
Since: 11-29-11
Okay, thanks

Posted by Mariomaster
(I may also recreate the animations and publish them)


That would be really nice
Posted on 07-03-15, 04:07 pm
Mariomaster

Karma: 8168
Posts: 462/1613
Since: 06-09-12
This contains the recreated version of World 1.

(And I found the first bug (Creation up "Down-Walks" not possible))
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 07-03-15, 04:29 pm
Birdo


Karma: 2669
Posts: 1406/2081
Since: 06-26-11
What do you mean by "Down-Walks"? Like hills and ladders or something?
Posted on 07-03-15, 04:35 pm
Mariomaster

Karma: 8168
Posts: 463/1613
Since: 06-09-12
Posted by Hiccup
What do you mean by "Down-Walks"? Like hills and ladders or something?


No. If you change Mario's Y-Coordinats to get bigger

_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 07-03-15, 04:48 pm
Hammer Brother


Karma: 3498
Posts: 458/1071
Since: 11-29-11
I think there's something wrong.
It seems nodes above the X-axis have a negative Y-value,
and nodes among the X-axis have a positive Y-value.

Shouldn't this be contrary?
Posted on 07-03-15, 05:28 pm
Mariomaster

Karma: 8168
Posts: 465/1613
Since: 06-09-12
What's wrong with that?
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 07-03-15, 05:30 pm (rev. 2 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 03:16 am)
Hammer Brother


Karma: 3498
Posts: 459/1071
Since: 11-29-11
The values above the X-axis should be positive and the values among should be negative..



----

Posted by Mariomaster
This contains the recreated version of World 1.

Thank you very much!
Posted on 07-03-15, 06:57 pm
Mariomaster

Karma: 8168
Posts: 466/1613
Since: 06-09-12
Posted by KingYoshi
The values above the X-axis should be positive and the values among should be negative..

I see what you mean, but if I would do it like that the maps would be mirrored along the Y-axis.

Posted by KingYoshi
Thank you very much!

Is it working?
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 07-03-15, 07:15 pm
Hammer Brother


Karma: 3498
Posts: 460/1071
Since: 11-29-11
Posted by Mariomaster
I see what you mean, but if I would do it like that the maps would be mirrored along the Y-axis.

Really? Weird.. But if you are the one who makes this editor,
you should be able to decide yourself which numbers are positve/negative shown in the editor.
(Or am I talking bullshit now? )

Posted by Mariomaster
Is it working?


Er.. I don't know yet. I just opened it, but I haven't tested anything yet.

But there is one thing:
If you go to Nodes --> Node 4 --> Normal Exit,
the Path 1 ID is '5'.

But if you go to that path at Paths Animations,
there's '6' at Selected Path.

I think this miscalculation is caused by the first path from W1-0 to W1-1.
At 'Paths Animations', the Path ID is '1',
and at 'Nodes', the Path ID is '0'.

If I'm right about this, I think it would be a good idea to set that both starts with the same number.
Posted on 07-03-15, 07:18 pm (rev. 1 by RicBent on 07-03-15, 07:18 pm)
Mariomaster

Karma: 8168
Posts: 467/1613
Since: 06-09-12
Posted by KingYoshi
Er.. I don't know yet. I just opened it, but I haven't tested anything yet.

But there is one thing:
If you go to Nodes --> Node 4 --> Normal Exit,
the Path 1 ID is '5'.

But if you go to that path at Paths Animations,
there's '6' at Selected Path.

I think this miscalculation is caused by the first path from W1-0 to W1-1.
At 'Paths Animations', the Path ID is '1',
and at 'Nodes', the Path ID is '0'.

If I'm right about this, I think it would be a good idea to set that both starts with the same number.


That's a bug. Thanks for reporting. Will be fixed in the next buid
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 07-04-15, 07:45 pm
Hammer Brother


Karma: 3498
Posts: 461/1071
Since: 11-29-11
I have discovered some things. - But it could be that this was discovered by other people already.
It aren't things that make more possible with World Map editing,
but it's mainly to help people to understand how things work.

You probably have seen that all of the Nodes (except some of World 3) have Z-coordinate '0'.
But if you look at the animation paths, you'll see that all frames have Z-coordinate '6'.

I think I know the reason for that. (So I'm not sure )

The animation paths don't have to do with only the paths, but also with the movement of the 3D model of Mario.
You have to see it like this. First, presume that the height of the 3D model is 12.
If you set the Z-coordinate to '0', the model will be centered in the Z-axis.
With that, I mean the upper half of the model will be above the Z-axis,
and the lowest half of the model will be under the Z-axis.

So the height of the 3D model is 12.
To make sure that the whole 3D model is above the Z-axis, we'll have to move the model 6 up.




The second thing, behind the Tower at the World 1 Map, there's higher ground.
I wanted to set a Node on that ground, so I tested some values, and I found out the needed Z-coordinate.
The node has to have Z-coordinate '28', so the Z-coordinate of the Mario 3D model has to be 28 + 6 = '34'.
(Now nobody else has to find this out. )



I hope this information was useful.

I tried to explain this as clearly as possible. If you know something to make it clearier, send it to me so I can edit this post.
Posted on 07-05-15, 03:09 am
Birdo


Karma: 3252
Posts: 1770/2017
Since: 06-28-11
Nice work!

Just out of curiosity, how does Bowser Jr works?

Does he has his own separate route, or he follows the paths he is on?
_________________________

Pages: « 123456 »