Pages: « 12345678 »
Posted on 11-24-15, 09:57 pm
Boomerang Brother
under probation

Karma: 3299
Posts: 565/1013
Since: 11-29-11
Is there a solution for the 'how many times do I have to hit the boss' bug already? I mean:

Posted by KingYoshi
I changed the HP damage of Mummy Pokey so that you have to ground pound/stomp 5 times. But unfortunately if you groundpound on him 1 time and then stomp 1 time (or in opposing order), he'll be defeated too.
Posted on 11-24-15, 10:13 pm (rev. 1 by  skawo on 11-24-15, 10:14 pm)


Karma: 18801
Posts: 215/1087
Since: 04-02-13
Posted by Shadey21
Any idea where the delay for after Mario dies is? (The time before the Bowser icon appears)


0x21b753C in memory.

s there a solution for the 'how many times do I have to hit the boss' bug already? I mean:


Nope, sorry. I'll look into it when I'm hacking the bosses for Newer DS.
Posted on 11-25-15, 10:28 pm
dupe of MattCrafter

Karma: -33
Posts: 2/5
Since: 07-06-15
I'm working on a hack, and I need the no timer hack. But I am new to ASM hacking.
Could you please tell me what programs I need and what to do? Thanks in advance!
Posted on 11-25-15, 10:43 pm (rev. 1 by  Arceus on 11-25-15, 10:43 pm)
We do what we must because we can

Karma: 5145
Posts: 1093/1349
Since: 06-25-13
I'm working on a hack, and I need the no timer hack. But I am new to ASM hacking.
Could you please tell me what programs I need and what to do? Thanks in advance!


Read the main post, everything is explained well in it.
_________________________
Super Mario Bros. - The New Worlds | Full release
Super Mario Castle 2 | Full release
Pokémon Shining Diamond | Full release

My Youtube channel
Best friends forever
Posted on 11-25-15, 10:46 pm
dupe of MattCrafter

Karma: -33
Posts: 3/5
Since: 07-06-15
Sorry, it's just that I don't understand what a 'hex editor' is or what version of the editor to use. Im new to ASM.
Posted on 11-25-15, 10:47 pm
We do what we must because we can

Karma: 5145
Posts: 1094/1349
Since: 06-25-13
Here genius: http://lmgtfy.com/?q=hex+editor

And try r356 it works for me.
_________________________
Super Mario Bros. - The New Worlds | Full release
Super Mario Castle 2 | Full release
Pokémon Shining Diamond | Full release

My Youtube channel
Best friends forever
Posted on 11-25-15, 10:50 pm
dupe of MattCrafter

Karma: -33
Posts: 4/5
Since: 07-06-15
Ok thanks Sorry that I'm not that smart with ASM.Thanks again
Posted on 11-25-15, 11:31 pm (rev. 1 by Thierry on 11-25-15, 11:32 pm)
Once upon a time there was a tiger.

Karma: 4799
Posts: 1720/2603
Since: 01-17-13
Being 'smart with ASM' and not thinking about doing a bit of research to answer your questions on your own are a different thing. Trust me, I know because I wasn't any better before.
Posted on 11-28-15, 04:32 am
I Am Not Inteligent

Karma: 964
Posts: 103/380
Since: 03-04-14
I have a request, if it's not much to ask for: make the player always play as Mario. I always wanted this patch (not that I like Mario most). Hope you can make it happen.
Also, in the patches list, there's two 8's and 9's.
Posted on 11-28-15, 10:01 am


Karma: 18801
Posts: 217/1087
Since: 04-02-13
4C229FE50130A0E3 -> 4C229FE50030A0E3
70219FE50130A0E3 -> 70219FE50030A0E3
Posted on 11-28-15, 07:16 pm
I Am Not Inteligent

Karma: 964
Posts: 104/380
Since: 03-04-14
Thank you very much for your work and time!
Appreciate it. :D

I could not…
Posted on 12-13-15, 07:28 pm
Doesn't actually do anything.

Karma: 2837
Posts: 561/653
Since: 10-22-12
Posted by Thierry
I can't find '2183E00BB220D2E1' (Disable the opening cutscene) in the US ROM.


I seem to be having this problem too. I'm using r356 as suggested earlier in the thread. Editor says it's already decompressed, so I extract it, open it in hex editor, and search for 2183E00BB220D2E1, but it's not found. I can find everything else in the first post that uses overlay 0.

I have a feeling I'm missing something obvious, but I have no idea what the problem is. Help would be much appreciated.
♪♫♩♬
Posted on 12-13-15, 08:01 pm
Red Paratroopa
Hero of Nintendo 64s

Karma: 496
Posts: 77/171
Since: 07-26-15
You have to open the actual rom in a hex editor, that's what I had to do for it to find the values.
_________________________
My Youtube Channel
Never use a flash drive unless you are transferring files...
Check Out My Mario Maker Levels
Posted on 12-13-15, 08:06 pm
Doesn't actually do anything.

Karma: 2837
Posts: 562/653
Since: 10-22-12
Posted by Arctus Platner
You have to open the actual rom in a hex editor, that's what I had to do for it to find the values.


An odd solution, but it works. Thank you for the help (and the quick reply).
♪♫♩♬
Posted on 12-13-15, 11:39 pm (rev. 1 by  skawo on 12-13-15, 11:40 pm)


Karma: 18801
Posts: 220/1087
Since: 04-02-13
...that's weird. I wonder if another version of the ROM has this code in another overlay, then. Do you know which scene release you're using? All of the info in the topic is based on 0434 - New Super Mario Bros. (U)(Psyfer), and the code is definitely in Overlay 9_9.
Posted on 12-13-15, 11:52 pm (rev. 1 by  TRS on 12-13-15, 11:54 pm)
Doesn't actually do anything.

Karma: 2837
Posts: 563/653
Since: 10-22-12
Er... the post I quoted has the correct hex values but not the correct patch description. I was actually looking to disable the titlescreen cutscene (not the opening cutscene), which should be in overlay 0.


Posted by skawo
All of the info in the topic is based on 0434 - New Super Mario Bros. (U)(Psyfer)


I am using the correct ROM, yes.
♪♫♩♬
Posted on 12-14-15, 03:57 am


Karma: 18801
Posts: 221/1087
Since: 04-02-13
...huh, it appears that code's not in an overlay at all. Curiouser.
Posted on 12-14-15, 06:12 am (rev. 3 by Thierry on 12-14-15, 06:15 am)
Once upon a time there was a tiger.

Karma: 4799
Posts: 1742/2603
Since: 01-17-13
Did you perchance make all these codes using the same overlays multiple times? Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe that if you keep editing them without ever switching to a unedited one, it may be the cause..

Half of your codes doesn't work for me it seems, by the way. Regardless if I decompress the overlay properly or put the whole ROM in the hex editor.


Edit: Sorry, I meant I can't ever find the values to search in the ROM for those.
Posted on 12-14-15, 01:33 pm (rev. 3 by  skawo on 12-14-15, 01:36 pm)


Karma: 18801
Posts: 222/1087
Since: 04-02-13
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe that if you keep editing them without ever switching to a unedited one, it may be the cause..


You are wrong. That would only happen if the code overlapped and it's rather impossible/I'd notice.

Half of your codes doesn't work for me it seems, by the way.


That's nice. Mentioning which, of course, you deem unnecessary?
Posted on 12-15-15, 03:24 am (rev. 1 by Thierry on 12-17-15, 11:14 pm)
Once upon a time there was a tiger.

Karma: 4799
Posts: 1745/2603
Since: 01-17-13
I replaced the overlay with a clean one, redecompressed all the overlays listed in the first post, now it works right. Sorry for the mistake.

But do you really need to decompress all of them, or only some of them?


Edit: Okay, now it's official I can't read.
Pages: « 12345678 »