skawo |
Posted on 03-10-16, 07:17 pm
|
Karma: 19807 Posts: 292/1100 Since: 04-02-13 |
That appears to work.
|
MeroMero |
Posted on 03-10-16, 07:30 pm
|
Death by cuteness
Karma: 6589 Posts: 386/598 Since: 05-01-13 |
Thanks. That indeed gives credence to my suspicion.
According to this thread, overlays 10 and 54 are the 2 predominantly used overlays for the level stuff. Now the question that need to be answered is why would it work when you apply the ASM-Template as-is then (as I tried), but not when there are loads of ASM mods (as in your case)? |
skawo |
Posted on 03-10-16, 07:39 pm
|
Karma: 19807 Posts: 293/1100 Since: 04-02-13 |
Possibly because I hook onto the level loading function?
|
MeroMero |
Posted on 03-10-16, 07:44 pm
|
Death by cuteness
Karma: 6589 Posts: 387/598 Since: 05-01-13 |
Am I correct in assuming you probably needed to do that to get the level preview working?
|
skawo |
Posted on 03-10-16, 07:46 pm
|
Karma: 19807 Posts: 294/1100 Since: 04-02-13 |
Indeed.
void hook_0200696C()
{
levelStart = true;
}
void hook_0200DD94()
{
if(levelStart == true)
{
if(timer < 42)
{
timer++;
}
else
{
timer = 0;
doIntro();
levelStart = false;
}
}
}
|
MeroMero |
Posted on 03-10-16, 07:49 pm
|
Death by cuteness
Karma: 6589 Posts: 388/598 Since: 05-01-13 |
Then in theory, fixing the problem is only a matter of transposing the code directly into ASM and hooking it in the free space between 0×19C0 and 0×2FFF in arm9.bin.
…Easier said than done. |
KingYoshi |
Posted on 03-10-16, 07:50 pm
|
Fire Snake
Eugene Karma: 3810 Posts: 665/1156 Since: 11-29-11 |
Sorry for interupting the 'Blue shell' thing.
Posted by skawo If an overlay isn't listed, you have to decompress all overlays and search the entire ROM. (This quote is from the first post) Before I start decompressing all overlays one by one, is there a way to decompress all overlays at the same time? |
skawo |
Posted on 03-10-16, 07:53 pm (rev. 2 by skawo on 03-10-16, 08:09 pm)
|
Karma: 19807 Posts: 295/1100 Since: 04-02-13 |
Posted by KingYoshi Sorry for interupting the 'Blue shell' thing. Posted by skawo If an overlay isn't listed, you have to decompress all overlays and search the entire ROM. (This quote is from the first post) Before I start decompressing all overlays one by one, is there a way to decompress all overlays at the same time? No. And, uh, it turns out it's not the hooks. Hold on, I'll see what it is exactly in a second. EDIT: It's including nds.h. Kinda can't avoid doing that. I don't know what you mean by that applying a clean template doesn't cause the same issues; it does. I even get this wonderful crash screen to boot; https://www.dropbox.com/s/r2uexxva96b7jwh/Screenshot%202016-03-10%2021.08.50.png?dl=0 |
MeroMero |
Posted on 03-10-16, 08:13 pm
|
Death by cuteness
Karma: 6589 Posts: 390/598 Since: 05-01-13 |
Hmmm… you know what, I'll try to replicate the level preview but without the ASM-template. I have my own idea on how to achieve that.
Should it work I'll post it there. About applying a clean template: well at least for me it ran smoothly :/ |
skawo |
Posted on 03-10-16, 08:14 pm (rev. 1 by skawo on 03-10-16, 08:15 pm)
|
Karma: 19807 Posts: 296/1100 Since: 04-02-13 |
Well, I mean, clean as in with all the default stuff in. Anything that includes nds.h or nsmb.h will do it.
And that wouldn't help, I'll have to use the template for more stuff later anyway :l |
MeroMero |
Posted on 03-10-16, 08:29 pm
|
Death by cuteness
Karma: 6589 Posts: 392/598 Since: 05-01-13 |
Posted by skawo Well, I mean, clean as in with all the default stuff in. Anything that includes nds.h or nsmb.h will do it. I'm pretty positive that I got it to work and that I wasn't dreaming but I'll try later just to be sure. Posted by skawo And that wouldn't help, I'll have to use the template for more stuff later anyway :l Damn… :/ |
MeroMero |
Posted on 03-11-16, 09:09 pm
|
Death by cuteness
Karma: 6589 Posts: 395/598 Since: 05-01-13 |
So, so, so…
I tried to mesh the Blue Shell patch with the ASM Template a first time, and I indeed got greeted with the RAM Viewer as I tried to move (like you reported earlier). But before that I extracted arm9 and overlay 10 just in case. So now that it failed, I re-inserted arm9 and overlay 10, ran a make and insert (in this order) and the Blue Shell code now co-exists with the ASM-Template. Here's the xdelta patch if you want to test: Blue Shell+ASM example.xdelta This ASM-Template also includes a 1coin=1UP .cpp made for testing purposes. Works on a flashcard, for what it's worth. But not happy with the results, I decided to try again and apply the ASM-Template on a second ROM with Blue Shell code, and this time it worked on the first attempt without crashing, even though the second ROM was a carbon copy of the first… So basically the things to try in order are: _extracting arm9 _re-inserting arm9 _running make clean _running make and insert _stubbornly repeat the previous steps until it works Be warned though, if you get it to work, Blue Shell sliding behavior under the effect of the Starman is slightly messed up when running alongside the ASM-Template, nothing game-breaking though but this needs further investigation on No$GBA Debugger. |
skawo |
Posted on 03-11-16, 09:25 pm (rev. 1 by skawo on 03-11-16, 09:26 pm)
|
Karma: 19807 Posts: 297/1100 Since: 04-02-13 |
Huh, alright. I will do this once the game is complete and all hacks are inserted so it doesn't break again when I add more code.
|
skawo |
Posted on 03-16-16, 03:22 am (rev. 1 by skawo on 03-16-16, 06:58 am)
|
Karma: 19807 Posts: 298/1100 Since: 04-02-13 |
Added patch #20
EDIT Added patch #21, which also crosses off one of that list 2. Regular switch w/Bowser Battle 5. Balloon Boo "Normal Boo" mode hitbox 6. Giant Swooper's Disappearing Hitbox |
Pedroalone |
Posted on 04-16-16, 03:28 pm
|
Paratroopa
Karma: 427 Posts: 128/147 Since: 07-03-13 |
Grounded fire piranha plants can't be killed with shells.
Can someone look at this when you have time? off-topic, is this /\ sentence correct? _________________________ New Super Mario Bros. The Next Levels. Progress: W1: 100% | W2: 100% | W3: 33% | W4: 100% |
Arctus Platner |
Posted on 04-16-16, 03:40 pm (rev. 1 by Arctus Platner on 04-16-16, 03:41 pm)
|
Red Paratroopa
Friend of N64s and DSes Karma: 516 Posts: 133/171 Since: 07-26-15 |
Posted by Pedroalone Grounded fire piranha plants can't be killed with shells. Can someone look at this when you have time? off-topic, is this /\ sentence correct? I noticed the same thing with swoopers not being defeated by enemy shells(Beetle, Koopa). And yes, your sentence appears to be correct. _________________________ My Youtube Channel Never use a flash drive unless you are transferring files... |
Sherry_ |
Posted on 05-08-16, 05:26 pm (rev. 2 by Sherry_ on 05-08-16, 05:27 pm)
|
Karma: 1430 Posts: 197/355 Since: 05-26-15 |
Posted by skawo/MeroMero Replace 0x84 of zeroes with the following at offset 0×19C0: 1C002DE9444490E5441480050600000ABC20D0E1463FA0E3030052E1000000 1A444480E51C00BDE86D8B05EABC20D0E1463FA0E3030052E10000001A4444 80E51C00BDE8708B05EA00000000000000001A002DE9BC10D0E1014BA0E314 4084E2460F51E30300001A304084E22C1490E5443490E5012083E0042080E7 1A00BDE8BA8D05EA Can someone explain this I apologise for my ignorance... |
skawo |
Posted on 05-08-16, 05:28 pm
|
Karma: 19807 Posts: 336/1100 Since: 04-02-13 |
It means to replace 132 (0x84) of "0" bytes.
|
Sherry_ |
Posted on 05-08-16, 05:57 pm (rev. 2 by Sherry_ on 05-08-16, 06:22 pm)
|
Karma: 1430 Posts: 198/355 Since: 05-26-15 |
Erm, I have to select 132 zeroes and then I paste the code?
If yes... it doesn't work... EDIT: I have found that the editor paste the code in the second side... |
skawo |
Posted on 06-06-16, 11:42 am
|
Karma: 19807 Posts: 352/1100 Since: 04-02-13 |
Move Petey Piranha and Mummypokey bosses to different worlds
There's some absolutely retarded code that deletes Peach if Worlds 2 and 5 are cleared when you enter the boss battles with Mummypokey and Petey Piranha. If this code isn't adjusted and you move the bosses to a different world, this happens if you try battling them again: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q_zleiDDP6Y Hooray. Here's the fix; ------- 010050E30C00001A7C009FE5 -> 0X0050E30C00001A7C009FE5 040050E30B00001A48009FE5 -> 0X0050E30B00001A48009FE5 ------- 010050E30300001A34009FE50010A0E3 -> 0X0050E30300001A34009FE50010A0E3 040050E30200001A20009FE50010A0E3 -> 0X0050E30200001A20009FE50010A0E3 ------- 94009FE5200090E5010050E30100000A040050E3 -> 94009FE5200090E50X0050E30100000A0X0050E3 200090E5010050E30100000A040050E31B00001A9F3AFBEB -> 200090E50X0050E30100000A0X0050E31B00001A9F3AFBEB 200090E5010050E30100000A040050E31C00001A0000A0E34571FBEB -> 200090E50X0050E30100000A0X0050E31C00001A0000A0E34571FBEB 200090E5010050E30100000A040050E31C00001A0000A0E3BB6EFBEB -> 200090E50X0050E30100000A0X0050E31C00001A0000A0E3BB6EFBEB Replace the Xes with the world numbers your relocated bosses appear in. The first two patches go together, so put the Mummypokey boss in the first one and then the Petey boss in the second one. |