Pages: « 12345 »
Posted on 10-09-12, 04:30 am
Boomboom


Karma: 2734
Posts: 781/1921
Since: 06-28-11
Its nice to see that you will implement the waterfalls and the noteblocks!

Ill try to create some graphics for it too resemble a NSMB feel
_________________________

Posted on 10-09-12, 07:03 am
Larry Koopa
The guy who does things.

Karma: 8042
Posts: 507/2383
Since: 07-01-11
Note Blocks will be easy. Waterfalls not so much.
NSMB2: Doki Doki Panic! Edition (Download)/Clone Tag Team 1 + 2 Double Pack (Download)/New Super Mario Advance + Take 2 (Download)
If you wanna break free, you better listen to me. You've got to learn how to see in your fantasy.
Posted on 10-09-12, 05:11 pm (rev. 2 by  gridatttack on 10-09-12, 06:00 pm)
Boomboom


Karma: 2734
Posts: 782/1921
Since: 06-28-11
Posted by MARIOFANATIC64
Note Blocks will be easy. Waterfalls not so much.

Noteblocks behaviour has already been done and waterfalls too via ASM

Ill try to get the graphics by the end of the week or before.
_________________________

Posted on 10-09-12, 05:53 pm (rev. 1 by  Freeze on 10-09-12, 05:53 pm)


Karma: 3502
Posts: 1553/2112
Since: 06-28-11
 Dirbaio already did Waterfalls and Note blocks.
Check out this video:

Posted on 10-09-12, 05:56 pm (rev. 4 by  gridatttack on 10-09-12, 06:01 pm)
Boomboom


Karma: 2734
Posts: 785/1921
Since: 06-28-11
Posted by NsmB_PrO
 Dirbaio already did Waterfalls and Note blocks.
Check out this video:


Thought the noteblocks are the same as SMAS, and the waterfalls looks...jagged.

So ill try to make them a bit nicer
_________________________

Posted on 10-09-12, 05:57 pm
Super Luigi
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 7189
Posts: 2673/4381
Since: 06-08-11
Posted by MARIOFANATIC64
Note Blocks will be easy. Waterfalls not so much.

Well I wasn't going to do the note blocks with the springboard trick. The note blocks on that video are custom behaviors, coded in ASM...
I need to add the code for them to the project, BTW. I have it somewhere in my external HDD...
Posted on 10-10-12, 03:20 am
Larry Koopa
The guy who does things.

Karma: 8042
Posts: 509/2383
Since: 07-01-11
LOL i meant the graphics of the Note Block and Waterfall respectively. It was a reply to gridatttack's post, I should have quoted it.
NSMB2: Doki Doki Panic! Edition (Download)/Clone Tag Team 1 + 2 Double Pack (Download)/New Super Mario Advance + Take 2 (Download)
If you wanna break free, you better listen to me. You've got to learn how to see in your fantasy.
Posted on 10-10-12, 03:23 am (rev. 5 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 02:32 am)
Boomboom


Karma: 2734
Posts: 791/1921
Since: 06-28-11
Posted by MARIOFANATIC64
LOL i meant the graphics of the Note Block and Waterfall respectively. It was a reply to gridatttack's post, I should have quoted it.

Yeah. I think the waterfall one will be the hardest. Ill do my best

EDIT:

Here is the WIP waterfall. I am not too fond of the top part.
Also, I decided to got with a wavy design rather than the U design other people here have used

Top part:


Bottom part:


Suggestions are welcomed.


_________________________

Posted on 10-11-12, 01:12 am
Super Luigi
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 7189
Posts: 2684/4381
Since: 06-08-11
Nice!
About the noteblocks, I already did some graphics for them that were animated, and they were kinda OK. Maybe we could use them?

I'll try to get the custom blocks code and put it in the project tomorrow or something. And the flying powerup too. But that thing needs fixing...
And then what will be left is coding the new level progress mechanics (replacing the world map with a level)
Posted on 10-11-12, 01:19 am (rev. 1 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 02:32 am)
Boomboom


Karma: 2734
Posts: 796/1921
Since: 06-28-11
Actually, I dont like the noteblocks graphics at all because they are taken from SMAS
Ill try to redo them with a cleaner style

Also regarding the waterfall:

The 2 tiles together:


(note: this are multiple gif images, so thats why there is spacing between them now, but they work properly horizontal)

_________________________

Posted on 10-11-12, 01:36 am
I am random… very random.

Karma: 700
Posts: 273/682
Since: 01-17-12
The waterfall and note blocks seem good ideas,but I believe we might need to use the note block.
<Silvreus>It has been 1 month, 4 days, 2 hours, 21 minutes and 3 seconds since I last remember being lazy.

Posted on 10-11-12, 01:38 am
Super Luigi
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 7189
Posts: 2685/4381
Since: 06-08-11
Posted by MK7
The waterfall and note blocks seem good ideas,but I believe we might need to use the note block.
Yeah that's what we're going to do, we're going to add a note block. I don't understand what you mean
Posted on 10-11-12, 02:24 am (rev. 2 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 02:32 am)
Boomboom


Karma: 2734
Posts: 798/1921
Since: 06-28-11
I finished the noteblock now

here it is:




Suggestions welcome

I am concerned that it looks a little flat, but I can fix that, but I want to hear your opinions about it too.

Also here it is. Noteblock and waterfall:

_________________________

Posted on 10-24-12, 08:36 am
Porcupo
Captivated by Persona 4

Karma: 570
Posts: 187/306
Since: 01-06-12
Just a little question about the HUB World:
I think we're going to import the Hub into a level slot, but a level slot contains a timer, so the question:
Can we get rid of that timer? Because when walking through the HUB World, I'd like to take my time with choosing the level I want.
_________________________
I apologize to everyone for my horrible English.
Posted on 10-24-12, 08:39 am (rev. 1 by  Dirbaio on 10-24-12, 10:32 am)
Super Luigi
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 7189
Posts: 2747/4381
Since: 06-08-11
Oh, the level timer. I'll find a way to get rid of it, it should be easy.
You have a good point there, thanks!



EDIT: Updated the todo list on the first post
Posted on 10-24-12, 03:25 pm
Roy Koopa


Karma: 3686
Posts: 2256/2722
Since: 06-26-11
Posted by RiksKing
Just a little question about the HUB World:
I think we're going to import the Hub into a level slot, but a level slot contains a timer, so the question:
Can we get rid of that timer? Because when walking through the HUB World, I'd like to take my time with choosing the level I want.


Did I miss something? No idea what the HUB world is...
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 10-24-12, 03:30 pm
Porcupo
Captivated by Persona 4

Karma: 570
Posts: 188/306
Since: 01-06-12
Posted by ray
Did I miss something? No idea what the HUB world is...

Posted by Dirbaio
Yay. So I've been thinking of something we could do for the hack.
We can entirely trash the entire world map. And replace it with a hub level, like the peach castle in SM64. You enter doors, or pipes, or whatever, from the castle, and end up in the different levels. WHen dying or completing the level, you'd go back to the hub. The castle could have multiple floors, every floor would be like a world, or something...

On the technical side of this: I'm NOT planning on using the area overflow bug. We'll do this properly. I already figured out how to load a level from another one. I just gotta fix some glitches (it's not unloading textures properly or something) and add the gameplay part of it

Suggestions, comments, ideas are welcome.

Yes, you did miss something .
It's gonna replace the World Maps
You can also look in the Story/Text Thread

_________________________
I apologize to everyone for my horrible English.
Posted on 10-24-12, 03:36 pm
Super Luigi
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 7189
Posts: 2750/4381
Since: 06-08-11
Yeah  ray you've missed the most epic thing that this hack is going to have
And it's not "HUB". It's "hub". It's a normal word. lol.

Also, I've found how to remove the time limit for the hub levels. I've found the variable the game sets for the mushroom houses (there's no time limit in mushroom houses). I'll commit it soon
Posted on 11-16-12, 09:34 pm


Karma: 3502
Posts: 1632/2112
Since: 06-28-11
Question about the hub world:
How will you handle the star coins? Can you somehow show the player in the hub, what star coins he's already collected in a level?
Posted on 11-16-12, 10:43 pm
Super Luigi
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 7189
Posts: 2860/4381
Since: 06-08-11
I have no idea. Probably yes. The star coin data is stored in the savegame data, and I know where it is stored on RAM, so it can be done
Pages: « 12345 »