Pages: 1
Posted on 05-11-16, 12:10 am


Karma: 26
Posts: 18/21
Since: 06-27-14
Hi all,

So I've decided my next level in my New Super Mario Bros. hack (2-2) is going to be mostly vertical, but I noticed when I go to play the level, that it doesn't start up (the screen stays black even when Mario enters the level from the map). I'm trying to have the player start on the bottom-most area (if I can), and have them gradually work their way up by sometimes using switches that make parts of the ground swell up (or lower), in hopes that I can use those swelling ground parts in conjunction with. But, if I decide not to let the level wrap around on the left and right sides, the player can enter the level, but they die immediately (though oddly, the level music starts just before the player goes back to the map screen), which I'm quite certain has to do with the camera.

Can anyone help me out here, please? I'd like to try and get both of these issues resolved, and get the player to be able to wrap around either side of the screen in one way or another.

Thanks in advance.
Posted on 05-11-16, 12:23 am (rev. 1 by  TruelyJohn64 on 05-11-16, 12:25 am)
(Words)

Karma: 730
Posts: 25/265
Since: 01-03-16
I'm pretty sure you have to import a vanilla level that has wrap around in it to get it to work. (7-2 or 8-6)

Make sure that the starting point is in the view, have some tiles in it, and be sure that "Scroll vertically" is enabled in the view settings.
_________________________
"I strikingly thought you would know how but it clearly seems you have no knowledge of hacking" - MiiU 2017
Posted on 05-11-16, 12:27 am (rev. 1 by  Fluorescent on 05-11-16, 12:29 am)



Karma: 472
Posts: 22/139
Since: 04-08-16
You did say something about Mario getting killed instantly at the start of the level...

Did you putted a view? Because it's crucial to make your level playable

EDIT: Oops, I was writing this while you responded, TruelyJohn64 sorry
The Legendary Sprite 326:
Posted on 05-11-16, 01:12 am


Karma: 26
Posts: 19/21
Since: 06-27-14
Yes, I have a view in use (view 0), and I do have vertical scroll enabled. But is it not a good idea for the level to start at or near the bottom of the playing field in the editor? I have a feeling I'll need to adjust the camera's X and/or Y position here, right?
Posted on 05-11-16, 01:37 am (rev. 1 by  TruelyJohn64 on 05-11-16, 01:38 am)
(Words)

Karma: 730
Posts: 26/265
Since: 01-03-16
The level can take place anywhere in the editor from so far that I've seen. You shouldn't have any issues...
If you still are could you show a picture or something?

Oh, and is your entrance set to 0?

_________________________
"I strikingly thought you would know how but it clearly seems you have no knowledge of hacking" - MiiU 2017
Posted on 05-11-16, 02:43 pm
We do what we must because we can

Karma: 5558
Posts: 1164/1425
Since: 06-25-13
I know that error but it happens to me when I forget to set an entrance
But I would appreciate a screenshot too.
_________________________
Super Mario Bros. - The New Worlds | Full release
Super Mario Castle 2 | Full release

My Youtube channel
Best friends forever
Posted on 05-11-16, 05:18 pm
Not a hacker

Karma: 188
Posts: 41/153
Since: 04-05-16
Yes i have a similar problem: Whei i make multi-wiew levels when i set to an entrance to another wiew mario goes on the farthest corner of the screen and dies
_________________________
Discord server
Posted on 05-11-16, 05:23 pm (rev. 1 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 03:20 am)
Death by cuteness

Karma: 6564
Posts: 397/598
Since: 05-01-13
For your first problem:

Firstly you have to make sure that the X-coordinate of the camera is 0 (the red rectangle in the screen below).

If not the level will refuse to load.

And secondly you have to make sure that the camera width is equal to: 256×2n
with n being a whole number whose first iteration is 0.

Here are all the possible values:
_256×20 which is 256×1 whose result is 256
_256×21 which is 256×2 whose result is 512
_256×22 which is 256×4 whose result is 1 024
_256×23 which is 256×8 whose result is 2 048
_256×24 which is 256×16 whose result is 4 096
_256×25 which is 256×32 whose result is 8 192

For your second problem:
Usually this happens when the entrance from where Mario is supposed to enter is located under the view, if that's the case just place the entrance inside the view.
Also the view setting for the entrance must be equal to the view number of the View from where you want to load the entrance.

If there's something not clear, don't hesitate to ask for clarifications
Posted on 05-12-16, 05:52 am
Not a hacker

Karma: 188
Posts: 42/153
Since: 04-05-16
*toad is confused*

*toad is too confused and he hits himself*

Yes, the phrase is BAD -.-
_________________________
Discord server
Posted on 05-12-16, 08:36 pm (rev. 1 by  Hiccup on 05-12-16, 08:36 pm)
Birdo


Karma: 2754
Posts: 1599/2091
Since: 06-26-11
Which part don't you understand?
Posted on 05-13-16, 01:20 pm (rev. 2 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 03:20 am)


Karma: 26
Posts: 20/21
Since: 06-27-14
Alright guys, I'm going to upload a screenshot to show you what I have so far for the level (I apologize in advance if it's too big):



Anyway, I have another question, for the ability to wrap around the left/right side of a screen to work properly, does the level have to be one screen long? I'm nervous that if this is the case, that my swelling ground ideas might not work the way I wish for them to work.
Posted on 05-13-16, 07:52 pm (rev. 1 by  TruelyJohn64 on 05-13-16, 07:55 pm)
(Words)

Karma: 730
Posts: 27/265
Since: 01-03-16
Posted by Knight of Time
Anyway, I have another question, for the ability to wrap around the left/right side of a screen to work properly, does the level have to be one screen long? I'm nervous that if this is the case, that my swelling ground ideas might not work the way I wish for them to work.

I don't believe so, the ice level on Mario vs Luigi works fine being both able to scroll vertically and wrap around at the same time.
Edit: Also, try setting the Y value back to 0...
_________________________
"I strikingly thought you would know how but it clearly seems you have no knowledge of hacking" - MiiU 2017
Posted on 05-14-16, 01:00 am


Karma: 26
Posts: 21/21
Since: 06-27-14
Alright, I think I made some progress here, but now I have a new question.

When I made my level 2 screens long and used the left/right wrap option, it apparently made the level scroll around like an endless loop, and made some sprites like the swelling ground and moving platforms often invisible, why is this?
Posted on 05-14-16, 01:51 am (rev. 2 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 03:20 am)



Karma: 472
Posts: 25/139
Since: 04-08-16
Oh, I tested it, it sure is glitchy...



I have no idea what's causing this...

But it works if you export and import a Mario and Luigi level


The Legendary Sprite 326:
Posted on 05-14-16, 02:22 am
(Words)

Karma: 730
Posts: 28/265
Since: 01-03-16
Posted by Knight of Time
When I made my level 2 screens long and used the left/right wrap option, it apparently made the level scroll around like an endless loop, (...) some sprites like the swelling ground and moving platforms often invisible, why is this?

1. Isn't it supposed to be like that? I'm not understanding what you want exactly...
2. Not sure, I myself haven't gotten the chance to test any of this besides looking at 8-6...

_________________________
"I strikingly thought you would know how but it clearly seems you have no knowledge of hacking" - MiiU 2017
Posted on 08-05-16, 11:29 pm (rev. 1 by  Luluca on 08-05-16, 11:30 pm)
Banned for being a complete retard.

Karma: 84
Posts: 77/140
Since: 02-25-16
If you still trying make this level (probably not because the date), you could share your "nml" level for download, even unfinished, so the community can replicate the error, and see what is the problem and presents a solution to you.
Posted on 08-06-16, 06:53 am
a

Karma: 1579
Posts: 1194/1290
Since: 02-12-13
Posted by Knight of Time
Alright, I think I made some progress here, but now I have a new question.

When I made my level 2 screens long and used the left/right wrap option, it apparently made the level scroll around like an endless loop, and made some sprites like the swelling ground and moving platforms often invisible, why is this?


Uh, now that Luluca decided to bump this for NO apparent reason...again... IIRC the endless loop is intentional, and the invisible sprites are unavoidable.

So well, if you want two screens and for the level to wrap around, then that's how you can do it. Don't go any lesser than exactly two screens, or any higher. It'll bug the fuck out.

A video of me setting the width to one block more than the maximum you can set it for it to wrap around (2 screens):


ignore the fucking terrible quality
Posted on 08-06-16, 08:07 am
Roy Koopa
The guy who does things.

Karma: 12694
Posts: 2141/2796
Since: 07-01-11
2-Castle in the original Clone Tag Team used the 2-screen wrap around effect. This forced me to remove a lot of enemies and hazards because Mario would walk right through them.
New Super Mario Bros.: Clone Tag Team 1+2 / New Super Mario Advance + Take 2 / Super Mario: Endless Earth
My two greatest assets have been mental stability and being, like, really smart.
Posted on 08-06-16, 11:23 am


Karma: 1064
Posts: 102/200
Since: 02-02-15
I had the same problem some time ago. With this visual explanation from hamza62240, it got easier to understand why this happens.

[] -P
Posted on 08-06-16, 12:03 pm (rev. 3 by  Luluca on 08-06-16, 12:09 pm)
Banned for being a complete retard.

Karma: 84
Posts: 80/140
Since: 02-25-16
I need take off the crown of my head, because  snake block really put something useful for community see how the vertical phenomenon works on wide views.

I'm happy for bumped this thread. If people still give these good feedbacks for the community, I think I will keep bump other older no clarified threads for someone follow me and rebump with some good post like that.

Thank you, and kisses.
Pages: 1