Pages: 123 »
Posted on 05-18-12, 06:08 am
Goomba
Master of Fire & Ice!

Karma: 61
Posts: 4/33
Since: 06-28-11
I have been thinking about this for a very long time, and I think that you should be able to credit yourself for all the hard work and time you put into your hack after finishing the game.
Posted on 05-18-12, 07:15 am
Roy Koopa
The guy who does things.

Karma: 12614
Posts: 356/2796
Since: 07-01-11
It's probably not a good idea to edit the credits. It would rob the original developers of their credit. We edited the game, but they created it. Might even be unlawful. But if you want to create your own credits, you can make them appear in a level. For example, the second-last level of my hack is the credits level.
New Super Mario Bros.: Clone Tag Team 1+2 / New Super Mario Advance + Take 2 / Super Mario: Endless Earth
My two greatest assets have been mental stability and being, like, really smart.
Posted on 05-18-12, 02:25 pm
Banned for being a complete idiot.

Karma: 519
Posts: 843/987
Since: 07-09-11
Posted by MARIOFANATIC64
It would rob the original developers of their credit. We edited the game, but they created it.

Yea we edited it so much we might as well swap some names, like level design since we made new levels.

Posted by MARIOFANATIC64
Might even be unlawful.

Illegal? Naah the only real illegal thing is distributing a NSMB ROM. And obtaining a ROM Dump too. But ultimately, Nintendo won't care.
Posted on 05-18-12, 05:23 pm
☭ coffee and cream


Karma: 10388
Posts: 305/2765
Since: 06-26-11
Posted by ELMario
Posted by MARIOFANATIC64
Might even be unlawful.

Illegal? Naah the only real illegal thing is distributing a NSMB ROM. And obtaining a ROM Dump too. But ultimately, Nintendo won't care.

Um yeah? And then copyright notices are just decorative text?

If I were to add support for modifying the credits in an editor of mine, I'd only support adding your name at the end. Some shitheads, when given the possibility to fully modify credits, will remove any credits/copyright notices to Nintendo and instead shit their name all over the place, something I definitely don't support. Legal issues aside, Nintendo pretty much made the whole game you're messing with, so removing credits to them is being an arrogant bastard. If people are still doing that, I hope they receive a C&D order soon...
_________________________
Kuribo64 - RH-fucking-cafe - Kafuka

zrghij
Posted on 05-19-12, 04:27 am (rev. 1 by  gridatttack on 05-19-12, 04:30 am)
Birdo


Karma: 3308
Posts: 245/2020
Since: 06-28-11
I asked this a lot time ago on jul, wonder if anybody got some information?
Also editing the credits shouldn't be a bad idea, or do what megamario says, to simply put the extra text at beginning or end.
I would just simply add my name there and the special thanks in the credits.
_________________________

Posted on 05-19-12, 11:23 am (rev. 1 by  Dirbaio on 05-19-12, 11:25 am)
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 9846
Posts: 1722/4452
Since: 06-08-11
Okay. This sounds like a good feature.

If someone has info about how/where the end credit are stored, I'll probably add support for ADDING credits in NSMBe.
I suspect they might be stored in an overlay...

Something to start would be to check which overlays are loaded during the end credits using this, compare it to which overlays are loaded in menus/overworld/levels, and have a look at the overlays that seem to be specific to the end credits ...
Posted on 05-19-12, 04:57 pm
Banned for being a complete idiot.

Karma: 519
Posts: 844/987
Since: 07-09-11
Wait, adding only?
What if you want to remove credits that you added?
Posted on 05-19-12, 04:59 pm
Roy Koopa


Karma: 3996
Posts: 1504/2722
Since: 06-26-11
He isnt that silly that he would forget that ...
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 05-19-12, 05:13 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 9846
Posts: 1725/4452
Since: 06-08-11
Of course, it'd be both adding new credits and editing the ones you've added.

But it won't happen unless someone figures out how credits are stored

Posted on 05-19-12, 05:20 pm
Roy Koopa


Karma: 3996
Posts: 1505/2722
Since: 06-26-11
But you can already add support for enpg files (The credit images) Look here: http://nsmbhd.net/?page=thread&id=722
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 05-19-12, 08:52 pm
Goomba
Master of Fire & Ice!

Karma: 61
Posts: 5/33
Since: 06-28-11
A possible location that may contain the credits could be the files in root/demo.

That could be a good place to start.
Posted on 05-20-12, 01:09 am
☭ coffee and cream


Karma: 10388
Posts: 308/2765
Since: 06-26-11
The credits are the staffroll_blahblah.epng files, iirc.

Adding and keeping track of what was added is going to be a pain though, unless you add the new credits in new files. But I guess the credit file list is hardcoded in an overlay so adding isn't gonna be easy...
_________________________
Kuribo64 - RH-fucking-cafe - Kafuka

zrghij
Posted on 05-20-12, 04:47 am
Fuzz Ball
KirbyFanatic64 (LOL)

Karma: 1331
Posts: 404/950
Since: 11-13-11
I think we should edit only the level pictures in the top screen. We should keep their hard works in the bottom as they were. But maybe we could add extra names at the end...
_________________________

Great games must be fun, not fancy.

Music Hacker needed! PM me if you wish!
Posted on 05-20-12, 10:26 am
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 9846
Posts: 1730/4452
Since: 06-08-11
Posted by Mega-Mario
The credits are the staffroll_blahblah.epng files, iirc.

Adding and keeping track of what was added is going to be a pain though, unless you add the new credits in new files. But I guess the credit file list is hardcoded in an overlay so adding isn't gonna be easy...


Yeah.. Maybe ASM hacking is needed for this...
Nooo one wants to have a look at the overlays to look for the data?
Posted on 05-20-12, 10:47 am
Roy Koopa


Karma: 3996
Posts: 1507/2722
Since: 06-26-11
I tried but I dont really understand that stuff Is it possible to find that variable which says if mario is behind a fence or not, too?
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 05-20-12, 10:55 am
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 9846
Posts: 1731/4452
Since: 06-08-11
Maybe, with desmume ram search...
But this is going offtopic.
Posted on 05-20-12, 11:06 am (rev. 1 by  ray on 05-20-12, 11:06 am)
Roy Koopa


Karma: 3996
Posts: 1508/2722
Since: 06-26-11
And how can I now see what Overlay it is? (I made this screen while the credits)
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 05-20-12, 11:25 am (rev. 2 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 02:13 am)
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 9846
Posts: 1732/4452
Since: 06-08-11

So the overlays loaded are 0x28, 0x00, 0x0B, 0x36, 0x2B, 0x37, 0x08, 0x0D, and 0x1C (in hex so you have to convert them to decimal)
Yea there are many, you can now have a look at which overlays are loaded during overworld, menus, and levels, because the end credits will probably be in an overlay that's *only* loaded during the credits.
Posted on 05-20-12, 11:35 am (rev. 2 by  ray on 05-20-12, 11:39 am)
Roy Koopa


Karma: 3996
Posts: 1509/2722
Since: 06-26-11
Ah ok... So i've read everthing wrong You should post that in your tutorial
I made antoher screen before the credits (the boss fight)


There arent many changes between these two images

It seems to be the Overlay Id "08" that changes
But can you explain me the Overlay star adress thing? For example forOV ID "2B": There are many OV ID's with that start adress...
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 05-20-12, 11:42 am
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 9846
Posts: 1733/4452
Since: 06-08-11
THe start address is basically "where" is the overlay in RAM.
When NSMB loads an overlay, it reads it from ROM, copies it to RAM and decompresses it.

Basically, if you go to the start address of an overlay in the RAM viewer, you'll see the data from the overlay in there.
Many overlays can have the same start address, that just means that only one of them can be loaded at a time.
Pages: 123 »