Pages: 12 »
Posted on 09-23-11, 04:47 pm
Roy Koopa


Karma: 4011
Posts: 696/2722
Since: 06-26-11
Yeah, some of you, know how annoying I am, but I still dont know how to add sprites to a DS homebrew game Can someone tell me how to do it, with a explanation WHAT I do?
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 09-24-11, 07:18 am
Porcupo
Did you win the game?

Karma: 211
Posts: 105/322
Since: 06-28-11
Well sure I can help, but I do not know what is happening.
Do you have the source to the particular DS homebrew game? Are you trying to display two sprites and the second sprite comes up with weird colours?
What is happening?
If you do not have the source to the DS game then... Good Luck!

Posted on 09-24-11, 08:00 am
Roy Koopa


Karma: 4011
Posts: 703/2722
Since: 06-26-11
I'm making my own homebrew^^ And for it, I need buttons and other things (It will be like a jumpn run). But i have NO idea how to show sprites and how to configure the grit files
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 09-24-11, 09:43 am (rev. 1)


Karma: 3752
Posts: 455/2112
Since: 06-28-11
Just put an image inside your homebrew game and then make it move or do anything else you want with it.

EDIT: Do you program with devkitPro and PAlib? If yes, here is a link to a german tutorial I used long time ago.
Posted on 09-24-11, 11:43 am (rev. 21)
Porcupo
Did you win the game?

Karma: 211
Posts: 106/322
Since: 06-28-11
Posted by lui1000
EDIT: Do you program with devkitPro and PAlib? If yes, here is a link to a german tutorial I used long time ago.

No ray does not use PAlib, also I would recommend that NOBODY uses PAlib, it is a very out dated and slow library.

BTW: Also I asked Dirbaio to create this Sub-forum so that I could post DS Devving tutorials... I have not written them yet.
Is that a good Idea? A thread with ONLY tutorial's on DS Dev?


Posted on 09-24-11, 11:44 am
Roy Koopa


Karma: 4011
Posts: 706/2722
Since: 06-26-11
WOAAW! Yes, Palib is crap But thank you for the WIP tutorial And I think its a good idea to create a DS Dev subforum
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 09-24-11, 11:48 am
Porcupo
Did you win the game?

Karma: 211
Posts: 107/322
Since: 06-28-11
I meant a DS dev tutorial Thread but never mind.

Anyway I will continue with the tutorial.
Posted on 09-24-11, 11:50 am
Roy Koopa


Karma: 4011
Posts: 708/2722
Since: 06-26-11
Posted by coolas1
BTW: Also I asked Dirbaio to create the Sub-forum so that I could post DS Devving tutorials... but that has not happened yet.


Look, you said, subforum
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 09-24-11, 12:32 pm
Porcupo
Did you win the game?

Karma: 211
Posts: 108/322
Since: 06-28-11
Ok The tutorial should be finished now.

BTW: If I neeeded to type that much then it is not a n00b question.
I took me about 1 year to figure out PAlib then another year to move to libnds.
That is NOT a n00b question.

If there is anyone trying to figure out how DS dev works ask a question instead of doing years of research, it is MUCH MUCH MUCH MUCH MUCH (etc) quicker.
Posted on 09-24-11, 03:56 pm (rev. 4)
Roy Koopa


Karma: 4011
Posts: 709/2722
Since: 06-26-11
I asked (after one month research ), but noone answered me Then I thought it could be useful to create a thread

EDIT:
I made it now, but I get a error

_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 10-02-11, 05:36 pm
Roy Koopa


Karma: 4011
Posts: 736/2722
Since: 06-26-11
Can someone tell me, why these 3 images have now transparency bugs?

I dont use black as transparenc color...
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 10-02-11, 05:43 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 10010
Posts: 938/4457
Since: 06-08-11
Try adding -gT FF00FF to the .grit file.
Posted on 10-02-11, 05:47 pm
Roy Koopa


Karma: 4011
Posts: 737/2722
Since: 06-26-11
I have already
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 10-02-11, 05:48 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 10010
Posts: 939/4457
Since: 06-08-11
Then, source please
Posted on 10-02-11, 05:53 pm
Roy Koopa


Karma: 4011
Posts: 738/2722
Since: 06-26-11

Can I then also ask, how I can load a new Image to a sprite?
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 10-02-11, 06:08 pm (rev. 1)
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 10010
Posts: 941/4457
Since: 06-08-11
I think the thing that's causing problems is

for (i=0;i<=Block1PalLen;i++)

Change it to

for (i=0;i<Block1PalLen;i++)

because if not it'd be overwriting the first color of the next palette. Palettes are 256 colors, going from 0 to 255
I'm not sure if this is the cause though.
Posted on 10-02-11, 06:14 pm
Roy Koopa


Karma: 4011
Posts: 740/2722
Since: 06-26-11
Doesnt fix the problem Any more possibilities?
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 10-02-11, 07:28 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 10010
Posts: 942/4457
Since: 06-08-11
Then I think I don't know.
What else do you have in your grit file?
Posted on 10-02-11, 07:30 pm
Roy Koopa


Karma: 4011
Posts: 742/2722
Since: 06-26-11
#An 8 bit sprite
-gB8
#A tiled image
-gt
#The Transperant colour of 0xFF00FF
-gT FF00FF

That's all...
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 10-05-11, 02:39 am (rev. 2)
Porcupo
Did you win the game?

Karma: 211
Posts: 117/322
Since: 06-28-11
Well actually I wonder why the DS displays anything at all!
I do not know why you:

1. Set ONLY VRAM_F to MAIN_SPRITE (unless I'm blind!No I'm not, you only set F to sprite)
2. Then Set VRAM_F to LCD
3. Then Set VRAM_F to Sprite palette
4. And expect there to be room for all your sprites, You are overwriting the Graphic data with the palette data =

You can not map a VRAM to hold two things at once! (Unless you are Dirbaio )


[offtopic]
Also why not link to the svn
[/offtopic]
Pages: 12 »