ray |
Posted on 10-05-11, 04:25 am
|
Roy Koopa
Karma: 4011 Posts: 754/2722 Since: 06-26-11 |
Ohhh.... I thought that would be Ok xD I didnt know, that I was overwriting the palette data, sorry
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here_________________________ If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : ) |
coolas1 |
Posted on 10-05-11, 06:04 am (rev. 1)
|
Porcupo
Did you win the game? Karma: 226 Posts: 119/322 Since: 06-28-11 |
Posted by ray Ohhh.... I thought that would be Ok xD I didnt know, that I was overwriting the palette data, sorry Yeah that is ok. Remember: Never set a VRAM twice for two different uses. @ Dirbaio Posted by Dirbaio I think the thing that's causing problems is for (i=0;i<=Block1PalLen;i++) Change it to for (i=0;i<Block1PalLen;i++) because if not it'd be overwriting the first color of the next palette. Palettes are 256 colors, going from 0 to 255 True, BUT if the next palette was used then it would be overwritten later on, but that would cause problems otherwise. |
ray |
Posted on 10-07-11, 04:59 pm
|
Roy Koopa
Karma: 4011 Posts: 767/2722 Since: 06-26-11 |
Wait, I changed it now like in your tutorial, but I have still the graphic problems What I'm doing wrong? Woah, its so confusing
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here_________________________ If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : ) |
coolas1 |
Posted on 10-08-11, 04:55 am (rev. 1)
|
Porcupo
Did you win the game? Karma: 226 Posts: 121/322 Since: 06-28-11 |
Source Please!
Is you could upload it to the svn it would be really good, as I can compile it! (Make sure your not remapping the Background VRAM Banks first though. eg: DONT map VRAM_C to MAIN_SPRITE now because it is for A Background) EDIT: Can you first try deleting the build folder and commiting again, please never commit this folder to a svn, it contains junk. But if that does not work, can you upload a zip of the DSCraft2D folder. |
ray |
Posted on 10-10-11, 05:40 pm (rev. 1)
|
Roy Koopa
Karma: 4011 Posts: 773/2722 Since: 06-26-11 |
Lol... I cant commit
See a lots of creative DS Hacking hereEDIT: Okay, comitted now _________________________ If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : ) |
coolas1 |
Posted on 10-11-11, 09:41 am (rev. 1)
|
Porcupo
Did you win the game? Karma: 226 Posts: 125/322 Since: 06-28-11 |
Hrm... I had NOOOO Idea what was wrong with that source.
Well I rewrote your demo and added some stuff and removed some other stuff, and it worked! I have no idea what I did different that made it work in this case. Anyway I rewrote your demo but without the heap of for (i=0;i<=PlayerRPalLen;i++)
VRAM_F_EXT_SPR_PALETTE[4][i] = PlayerLPal[i]; loops. I changed all of those loops when writing the code to a dmaCopy(PlayerRPal,VRAM_F_EXT_SPR_PALETTE[4],PlayerRPalLen); Piece of code. I don't know weather this was the problem, and it probably was not BUT it is what I know I did differently.The Rewrite has CoolAs (xD) gravity with a changable gravity value, proper colision, different block types, jumping and the thing you REALLY like: 32x32 blocks! Take a look at it. The 3rd and 4th blocks ARE meant to be able to fall through them and the last block SHOULD be bouncy! |
ray |
Posted on 10-11-11, 04:31 pm (rev. 2)
|
Roy Koopa
Karma: 4011 Posts: 792/2722 Since: 06-26-11 |
Uhm er... ok.... The falling speed is TOOO Fast xD The player always jumps a bit Good for beginning thank you I have to take some time to understand your code... I still dont know, how you load the block out of this ONE image...
See a lots of creative DS Hacking hereEDIT: I think I got it now. And I also fixed the silly Go up down thing Do you think we need now a world generator? Dynamic...is always better _________________________ If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : ) |
coolas1 |
Posted on 10-12-11, 06:21 am (rev. 3)
|
Porcupo
Did you win the game? Karma: 226 Posts: 127/322 Since: 06-28-11 |
Posted by ray I have to take some time to understand your code... I still dont know, how you load the block out of this ONE image... // ----------------------IMPORTANT CODE BELOW---------------------------
u8* tile=(u8*)&blocksTiles;
dmaCopy(blocksTiles,blocks[0],32*32); //Notice the 32*32, Copy only the first 32x32 pixels
//In the grit file there is a -gB8 line which means 8 bits per pixel this is one byte
// 32x32 pixels is the same as 32*32 bytes
tile+=32*32;
dmaCopy(tile,blocks[1],32*32);//I'm moving the pointer forward 32*32 pixels as well!
tile+=32*32;
dmaCopy(tile,blocks[2],32*32);
// --------------------------END OF IMPORTANT CODE---------------------- THAT is the code that loads the blocks out of one image it makes tile = the address of blocksTiles and sets the size to 8bits (one pixel) Then every block copied we have a tile+=32*32, which changes the address of 32x32 bytes which is the same as 32x32 pixels. Well, I just had to lol at revision 42 I'm just going to quote my self, but edit some words Posted by CoolAs
Well actually I wonder why the DS displays anything at all! I do not know why you: 1. Set ONLY VRAM_A to MAIN_SPRITE 2. Then Set VRAM_A to MAIN_BG 3. And expect there to be room for all your sprites, You are overwriting the Sprite data with BG data = You can not map a VRAM to hold two things at once! (Unless you are Dirbaio ) AND
Remember: Never set a VRAM twice for two different uses. So ray, the bg should have shown, you just need to remember to never set a VRAM twice for two different uses! EDIT: Dirbaio, do you mind if we make a MCDS2D thread? AND the svn is here: http://code.google.com/p/home-smash/ |
ray |
Posted on 10-12-11, 01:14 pm
|
Roy Koopa
Karma: 4011 Posts: 796/2722 Since: 06-26-11 |
Copying the BG to VRAM A was only a test. Before this, I tried it with D but didnt work
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here_________________________ If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : ) |
Dirbaio |
Posted on 10-12-11, 02:04 pm
|
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) Karma: 10081 Posts: 971/4458 Since: 06-08-11 |
Posted by coolas1
EDIT: Dirbaio, do you mind if we make a MCDS2D thread? AND the svn is here: http://code.google.com/p/home-smash/ Of course, go ahead |
ray |
Posted on 10-12-11, 04:58 pm
|
Roy Koopa
Karma: 4011 Posts: 797/2722 Since: 06-26-11 |
Fixed the BG thing, what would be the best VRAM to put the BG in?
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here_________________________ If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : ) |
coolas1 |
Posted on 10-13-11, 04:37 am (rev. 1)
|
Porcupo
Did you win the game? Karma: 226 Posts: 128/322 Since: 06-28-11 |
I depends, If you make a tiled bg, which is what I was going to do ,BUT requires more code then but it in a small vram.
BUT for a bitmap bg (a grit file with -gB8) you must but it in a bg of at least 96KB, (VRAM_B is good) EDIT: I also don't really want this project coded like a demo, and want to rewrite most of that code. I'm the final version VRAM_A & VRAM_B will be mapped as MAIN_SPRITE VRAM_C SUB_BG and VRAM_D SUB SPRITE Then a small vram as the main background, vram H for example. (The main BG will be tiled). |
ray |
Posted on 10-13-11, 04:40 am
|
Roy Koopa
Karma: 4011 Posts: 802/2722 Since: 06-26-11 |
Uhmm... ok.... Whats so good when its tiled? And yes, I also dont want the game like a demo
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here_________________________ If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : ) |
coolas1 |
Posted on 10-13-11, 04:49 am
|
Porcupo
Did you win the game? Karma: 226 Posts: 129/322 Since: 06-28-11 |
Tiled uses less room in VRAM, which means we mave more memory for our sprites.
AND I really want to rewrite the game AGAIN because I kinda rushed that demo and did not do things the way that It should have been done. |
ray |
Posted on 10-13-11, 02:32 pm
|
Roy Koopa
Karma: 4011 Posts: 803/2722 Since: 06-26-11 |
Ok... But please, add the comments again _________________________ If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : ) |