Pages: 1
Posted on 01-11-14, 07:39 pm
We do what we must because we can

Karma: 5123
Posts: 486/1346
Since: 06-25-13
Hey,

Since yesterday my ROM is 2 MB(!) bigger than normal. I don´t know what causes this because I build only two small levels and didn´t changed much graphics (I only recolored the crow but that doesn´t matter). I already looked for reason in my backup from 3 days ago but couldn´t find anything.
Does someone of you have got an idea?
_________________________
Super Mario Bros. - The New Worlds | Full release
Super Mario Castle 2 | Full release
Pokémon Shining Diamond | Full release

My Youtube channel
Best friends forever
Posted on 01-11-14, 08:31 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 8928
Posts: 3957/4432
Since: 06-08-11
When you edit files inside the ROM in NSMBe, the filesystem code tries to find free space in the ROM to put the file, and if there is none, it will put the file at the end of the filesystem. The original ROM is not completely used (IIRC it was like 17 out of 32 MB) so usually you won't see the ROM grow in size. It happens if you import big files, or edit files many many times changing their sizes.

It's nothing you should worry about, the ROM still works and all

If you don't like it anyway, you can export a .nmp patch and import it into a clean ROM, it will make your ROM small again (just be careful of modifications .nmp doesn't see: overlays and binaries)
Posted on 01-11-14, 08:52 pm
We do what we must because we can

Karma: 5123
Posts: 487/1346
Since: 06-25-13
Ok thanks it works.
I first thought it would be a problem because one of my levels did not work and I couldn´t find any reason for it. I will make a new thread for that problem.
_________________________
Super Mario Bros. - The New Worlds | Full release
Super Mario Castle 2 | Full release
Pokémon Shining Diamond | Full release

My Youtube channel
Best friends forever
Posted on 01-12-14, 09:20 am
Roy Koopa
The guy who does things.

Karma: 12044
Posts: 1239/2780
Since: 07-01-11
I had a bit of a concern recently too regarding this.

Clone Tag Team 2 just exceeded the game's standard filesize, after that one of my tilesets became corrupted (most of the tiles were just randomly removed from the tileset), and I had to go to my backup and restore it. Doing that corrupted another tileset. I restored that one, then the first tileset was corrupted again.

The first tileset was tileset 4, I can't remember the second tileset but I think it was 50-something.

I fixed the problem by putting a copy of the first tileset into a different tileset slot and everything's fine now. But now I only have one remaining tileset slot, which I'll have to use for the Final Castle.
New Super Mario Bros.: Clone Tag Team 1+2 / New Super Mario Advance + Take 2 / Super Mario: Endless Earth
My two greatest assets have been mental stability and being, like, really smart.
Posted on 01-12-14, 03:00 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 8928
Posts: 3961/4432
Since: 06-08-11
Was it corrupted in an emulator, in a DS with a flashcard, in the editor, or a combination of them?

The only thing I can think of that could cause this is that the ROM header has a field to store the log2 of the rom size in bits, the editor is not updating it in case the ROM grows. (There is another one that stores the ROM size in bytes, the editor does update that one)

If it's caused by this, it would NOT be corrupted in the editor for sure, it would probably not (?) be corrupted in emulators, and it could be corrupted in flashcards if they're reading that bit (It happened with the other ROM size field before, lol).

 MarioFanatic64: does what I described match with what you experienced?

Also tileset slot has nothing to do with file location in the ROM. The fact that you changed tileset slot and fixed it is probably pure luck (or something completely different like tileset animations)
Posted on 01-13-14, 01:13 am
Roy Koopa
The guy who does things.

Karma: 12044
Posts: 1241/2780
Since: 07-01-11
The tilesets were corrupted in the editor and emulator, I hadn't tried it on a flashcard. It was brought to my attention when I was reviewing a level from a while ago and there was nothing to walk around on so I just fell and died.

It's a very odd occurrence.
New Super Mario Bros.: Clone Tag Team 1+2 / New Super Mario Advance + Take 2 / Super Mario: Endless Earth
My two greatest assets have been mental stability and being, like, really smart.
Posted on 01-13-14, 03:37 am
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 8928
Posts: 3964/4432
Since: 06-08-11
Very odd indeed, it's not caused by this thing I guess.

Well, whatever. If you get something weird like this and think it's a NSMBe bug, send me the rom that's causing the problem and I will try to debug it.
Pages: 1