Pages: 1
Posted on 10-10-13, 02:54 pm
We do what we must because we can

Karma: 5123
Posts: 365/1346
Since: 06-25-13
Hey there,

I've build two levels (1-4 and 5-3) and the bg doesnt work properly in both of them. In Area 3 of 1-4 the bg completely disappears and is only black and in Area 2 of 5-3 only the bottom bg displays.
I already looked up and:

- both bgs are not corrupted or smth. like this.
- the view values are completely normal. Nothing special.

Do you know what this causes?
_________________________
Super Mario Bros. - The New Worlds | Full release
Super Mario Castle 2 | Full release
Pokémon Shining Diamond | Full release

My Youtube channel
Best friends forever
Posted on 10-10-13, 02:58 pm
Once upon a time there was a tiger.

Karma: 4659
Posts: 465/2564
Since: 01-17-13
Posted by Arceus
In Area 3 of 1-4 the bg completely disappears and is only black and in Area 2 of 5-3 only the bottom bg displays.



I had this, a day in a level. You should try to use another background and test if it work, firstly.
Posted on 10-10-13, 02:59 pm (rev. 1 by  SnakeBlock on 10-10-13, 03:00 pm)
a

Karma: 1159
Posts: 430/1289
Since: 02-12-13
Hmm, never encountered this kind of a thing. O_o

Try giving more information, like what top BG you are using and what bottom BG you are using for both of the levels, and also what tileset you are using. And are the BG(s) custom?

EDIT: Try doing what M-M64 said. Try using another BG and test if that works. If it does, tell me.
Posted on 10-10-13, 03:03 pm (rev. 1 by Thierry on 10-10-13, 03:04 pm)
Once upon a time there was a tiger.

Karma: 4659
Posts: 466/2564
Since: 01-17-13
Ah!

I had this problem when I was using... a grassland background, and a desert tileset... (if I remember)


Do you use this tilesets in your level, actually?
Posted on 10-10-13, 03:04 pm
a

Karma: 1159
Posts: 431/1289
Since: 02-12-13
I think tileset slots are attached to BG slots...?

Don't know though.

Are the BGs and tilesets getting mixed up? Like, snow tileset and desert background?
Posted on 10-10-13, 03:17 pm
We do what we must because we can

Karma: 5123
Posts: 366/1346
Since: 06-25-13
I use in 5-3: Tileset 4 (Sky/Mushrooms) and TBG 4 (Clouds) and BBG 4 (Clouds)
And in 1-4: Tileset 35 (Underground) and TBG 36 (underground) and BBG 36 (Underground)

I already tried to use another background but it doesnt work.
_________________________
Super Mario Bros. - The New Worlds | Full release
Super Mario Castle 2 | Full release
Pokémon Shining Diamond | Full release

My Youtube channel
Best friends forever
Posted on 10-10-13, 03:19 pm (rev. 1 by Thierry on 10-10-13, 03:29 pm)
Once upon a time there was a tiger.

Karma: 4659
Posts: 467/2564
Since: 01-17-13
Can you send me the level by PM? (you can use the private section of the uploader)
Posted on 10-10-13, 03:25 pm
Inactive, don't bother

Karma: 1280
Posts: 188/377
Since: 10-07-12


its hardcoded by Nintendo.
these area's only supports the bottom layer backgrounds.
it only appairs in the area 2 and 3.

There are a few ways to solve this:

*Import an fully working area in an area that appairs to have the black BG normal example: area 1 level 1 in area 3 level 2.

*Select the Top layer Background and click at "none" then Select the bottom background and click at an working background.




New Super Holiday Bros - Mario Kart GTA San Andreas
Posted on 10-10-13, 03:25 pm (rev. 1 by  SnakeBlock on 10-10-13, 03:33 pm)
a

Karma: 1159
Posts: 432/1289
Since: 02-12-13
Posted by Arceus
I use in 5-3: Tileset 4 (Sky/Mushrooms) and TBG 4 (Clouds) and BBG 4 (Clouds)
And in 1-4: Tileset 35 (Underground) and TBG 36 (underground) and BBG 36 (Underground)

I already tried to use another background but it doesnt work.


Well...then it shouldn't be causing problems.

Send the level to me too.

EDIT: Don't send me too :L
Posted on 10-10-13, 03:29 pm
Once upon a time there was a tiger.

Karma: 4659
Posts: 468/2564
Since: 01-17-13
Posted by wesley
its hardcoded by Nintendo.
these area's only supports the bottom layer backgrounds.
it only appairs in the area 2 and 3.

There are a few ways to solve this:

*Import an fully working area in an area that appairs to have the black BG normal example: area 1 level 1 in area 3 level 2.

*Select the Top layer Background and click at "none" then Select the bottom background and click at an working background.





@ Arceus: It should work. Don't send me the level.
Posted on 10-10-13, 03:33 pm
We do what we must because we can

Karma: 5123
Posts: 367/1346
Since: 06-25-13
Posted by wesley
its hardcoded by Nintendo.
these area's only supports the bottom layer backgrounds.
it only appairs in the area 2 and 3.

There are a few ways to solve this:

*Import an fully working area in an area that appairs to have the black BG normal example: area 1 level 1 in area 3 level 2.

*Select the Top layer Background and click at "none" then Select the bottom background and click at an working background.





Thanks it works. I already thought that Nintendo hardcoded it in the areas. But ok it works now. Thanks.
_________________________
Super Mario Bros. - The New Worlds | Full release
Super Mario Castle 2 | Full release
Pokémon Shining Diamond | Full release

My Youtube channel
Best friends forever
Posted on 10-10-13, 03:37 pm
Inactive, don't bother

Karma: 1280
Posts: 189/377
Since: 10-07-12


you're welcome!

one extra important note: Area 3 add's black stripes to the top BG,
but area 2 makes the top BG full black.


New Super Holiday Bros - Mario Kart GTA San Andreas
Posted on 10-10-13, 03:41 pm


Karma: 6219
Posts: 47/598
Since: 05-01-13
Pretty much what  Wesley said, buuuuuut I just wanted to clarify something, actually it's NOT hardcoded, otherwise you wouldn't be able to modify it without ASM.



This is caused by the bytes 11 to 14 in block 5 (block 3 if it was a bottom background) having their values as FF.
Posted on 10-11-13, 01:01 am
Roy Koopa
The guy who does things.

Karma: 12044
Posts: 1112/2780
Since: 07-01-11
This is a common occurrence in W3-A of CTT2. I just change the BG to something else, then change back. But if I edit the level again, the BG goes black again...
New Super Mario Bros.: Clone Tag Team 1+2 / New Super Mario Advance + Take 2 / Super Mario: Endless Earth
My two greatest assets have been mental stability and being, like, really smart.
Pages: 1