Pages: 1
Posted on 08-14-12, 04:50 pm
Fuzzy
Full mod

Karma: 1183
Posts: 454/785
Since: 06-28-11
I was working on NSMBe when I noticed tilesets 12 and 15 do not show up in the tileset list. They are present in the language file, but when the list is loaded, slots 12 and 15 have empty strings in them. I don't know if this is a problem with NSMBe or if this is intentional, but any information would be helpful.
Posted on 08-14-12, 04:58 pm (rev. 1 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 02:26 am)
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 10020
Posts: 2266/4457
Since: 06-08-11
O.o they do show up for me.


WTF.
Posted on 08-14-12, 04:59 pm (rev. 2 by  Piranhaplant on 08-14-12, 05:19 pm)
Fuzzy
Full mod

Karma: 1183
Posts: 455/785
Since: 06-28-11
That's... weird. I'll do some debugging and see what I can find.

Edit: I tried it with the official build on this site and they show up. So, it must be some of the new code I'm working on, but I have no clue why it would cause tilesets 12 and 15 to disappear.

Edit 2: Wow, that was just a really stupid bug I created. This thread can be ignored.
Posted on 08-14-12, 05:40 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 10020
Posts: 2267/4457
Since: 06-08-11
Lolol
Out of curiosity, what kind of but was it, that only affected tilesets 12 and 15?

XD
Posted on 08-14-12, 06:00 pm
Fuzzy
Full mod

Karma: 1183
Posts: 456/785
Since: 06-28-11
I'm working on this and I had renamed tilesets 12 and 15 and that was causing them not to show up. It was a problem that I was directly modifying the list from LanguageManager.getList() instead of making a copy of it.
Posted on 08-14-12, 06:01 pm (rev. 1 by  Dirbaio on 08-14-12, 06:01 pm)
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 10020
Posts: 2268/4457
Since: 06-08-11
ah
So we're going to see that feature up soon?
Posted on 08-14-12, 06:04 pm
Fuzzy
Full mod

Karma: 1183
Posts: 457/785
Since: 06-28-11
Yep! It's nearly done except I don't know a good place to put the interface for renaming music slots.
Posted on 08-14-12, 06:09 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 10020
Posts: 2269/4457
Since: 06-08-11
You could just make a "Custom names" button in the Tools tab where the user can rename anything.

Also it'd be nice if we stored the data in a file in the ROM or something so that it's included when exporting a patch or something, but I'm not sure which file to use. Editing BUILDTIME could bork the debug screen, and IDK if the "dummy" file is used for something...
Posted on 08-14-12, 06:16 pm
Fuzzy
Full mod

Karma: 1183
Posts: 458/785
Since: 06-28-11
Yeah, I think I'll make a button on the tools tab for renaming just music. The tileset and background renaming are already implemented into their respective tab.

That would be awesome if you could get this data stored in the ROM, but that is definitely not my area of expertise. Once I'm done with this feature I think you'll have to work on storing it in the ROM itself.
Posted on 08-14-12, 06:20 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 10020
Posts: 2271/4457
Since: 06-08-11
Accessing files is easy using the filesystem classes.
You get the file out of ROM.fs.
Then to read it, do
file.getContents()

To edit it:
file.beginEdit(this); file.replace(data, this); file.endEdit(this);


If you can't/don't want to do it, I'll do it, no problem
Posted on 08-14-12, 06:24 pm
Fuzzy
Full mod

Karma: 1183
Posts: 459/785
Since: 06-28-11
I'll give it a shot and see what happens

Also, I thought it would be a good idea if tileset and background names were stored in the .nmt and .nmb files when they are exported. Again I have no clue what the current format of those files is so I think you'll have to work on this.
Posted on 08-14-12, 06:31 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 10020
Posts: 2272/4457
Since: 06-08-11
Posted by Piranhaplant
I'll give it a shot and see what happens

Also, I thought it would be a good idea if tileset and background names were stored in the .nmt and .nmb files when they are exported. Again I have no clue what the current format of those files is so I think you'll have to work on this.


Ooh
That's a neat idea too.
When exporting a tileset, the editor could check if the tileset/bg contains a custom name and export it, and when importing, check if the nmt/b contains a name and put it in the name list
The tricky part will be getting the formats to be backwards-compatible.

(NMT and NMB files are just the tileset and background files exported and packed in a single file..)
Posted on 08-14-12, 06:35 pm
Fuzzy
Full mod

Karma: 1183
Posts: 460/785
Since: 06-28-11
Oh, yeah, backwards compatibility could be tricky. Well, if it doesn't work it's not a big deal. This isn't some super important feature or anything.
Posted on 08-14-12, 06:43 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 10020
Posts: 2273/4457
Since: 06-08-11
Posted by Piranhaplant
Oh, yeah, backwards compatibility could be tricky. Well, if it doesn't work it's not a big deal. This isn't some super important feature or anything.


Well, it'd make all previously-exported NMTs and NMBs fail to import, and it *would* be bad.
Posted on 08-14-12, 06:51 pm
Fuzzy
Full mod

Karma: 1183
Posts: 461/785
Since: 06-28-11
No, I meant that having the names stored in the files wasn't important xD. We absolutely need backwards compatibility for the old tilesets and backgrounds.
Pages: 1