Pages: 1
Posted on 06-18-17, 08:35 am


Karma: -10
Posts: 30/31
Since: 06-10-17
Sometimes I'll be on my merry way, making a level in the editor, I'll hit save, and this will pop up.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Unhandled exception has occurred in your application. If you click continue, the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue. If you click quit, the application will close immediately.

Cannot access a closed file.

(Details) (Continue) (Quit)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is what it says when you click details.

See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.ObjectDisposedException: Cannot access a closed file.
at System.IO.FileStream.Seek(Int64 offset, SeekOrigin origin)
at NSMBe4.DSFileSystem.PhysicalFile.replace(Byte[] newFile, Object editor)
at NSMBe4.InternalLevelSource.save(ExportedLevel level)
at NSMBe4.LevelEditor.saveLevelButton_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.RaiseEvent(Object key, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleMouseUp(MouseEventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.8745 (WinRel.050727-8700)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework64/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
NSMBe5
Assembly Version: 5.1.0.0
Win32 Version: 5.1.0.0
CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Michael/Desktop/nsmb-editor-378/NSMBe5.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.8745 (WinRel.050727-8700)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.8759 (QFE.050727-8700)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing


_________________________
Currently working on: New Super Mario Bros. Luigi Time!
Posted on 06-18-17, 09:02 am
Administrator

Karma: 6855
Posts: 872/1394
Since: 06-09-12
Have you closed the main NSMBe window and still worked on your level?

There is the bug that the editor windows are not closed when the main window is.
When that happens NSMBe closes the ROM and saving obviously fails.
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 06-18-17, 09:13 am


Karma: -10
Posts: 31/31
Since: 06-10-17
Posted by RicBent
Have you closed the main NSMBe window and still worked on your level?

There is the bug that the editor windows are not closed when the main window is.
When that happens NSMBe closes the ROM and saving obviously fails.


I opened the main page again, but nothing happened, so im guessing this levels going down the drain?
_________________________
Currently working on: New Super Mario Bros. Luigi Time!
Posted on 06-18-17, 10:08 am
Administrator

Karma: 6855
Posts: 873/1394
Since: 06-09-12
If you reopen NSMBe and the level does not open itself your level is gone.

That's why you save levels from time to time while working on it.
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 06-18-17, 02:14 pm
Ninji
Ultimate Beta Restorer

Karma: 549
Posts: 167/245
Since: 11-20-15
To prevent that, whenever such a thing happens, take screenshots of your current level design (use the Print Screen key on your keyboard, or the Snipping Tool if you have Windows 7 or later), save the screenshots as images, and re-create your level using those screenshots
Posted on 06-19-17, 12:49 am (rev. 1 by  cros107 on 06-19-17, 12:49 am)
Lantern Ghost
Will never finish a hack

Karma: 1747
Posts: 616/766
Since: 03-25-16
I mean recreating the level shouldn't be too hard, the problem for me is inspiration. Once I've got that I can make levels pretty quick. If you've already got an idea of what the level will be then it won't take much time at all to get the basic layout of the level back.
_________________________
hey look, I did a thing
Posted on 06-19-17, 11:58 am
Panser
I AM DERP INCARNATE

Karma: 503
Posts: 323/328
Since: 08-20-16
You can just select your whole level, copy to clipboard (CTRL+C), close and reopen NSMBe, open the level slot you were building in, delete everything in it, and paste your level back (CTRL+V)
I had the same thing happening and by doing this i didn't lose anything
rip signature
Pages: 1