Pages: 1
Posted on 05-31-15, 03:46 am


Karma: 5
Posts: 4/6
Since: 04-05-15
Ok, so like 75% of the time when I finish making a level, I copy and paste a flag and tower thingy from a different level [since I don't know how to make one myself], and instead of Mario going in the tower, he just goes past it. I've been working on the level for hours with the flag error so I just decided, screw it, Bowser Jr. But I don't want that, so how can I get this thing to stop?
_________________________
k
Posted on 05-31-15, 11:08 am
We do what we must because we can

Karma: 5123
Posts: 988/1346
Since: 06-25-13
Posted by Bugs1Mints
Ok, so like 75% of the time when I finish making a level, I copy and paste a flag and tower thingy from a different level [since I don't know how to make one myself], and instead of Mario going in the tower, he just goes past it. I've been working on the level for hours with the flag error so I just decided, screw it, Bowser Jr. But I don't want that, so how can I get this thing to stop?


Take a closer look on the original towers. Take a close look how they are constructed and which tiles are used for it. Then you will be able to create an own one.
_________________________
Super Mario Bros. - The New Worlds | Full release
Super Mario Castle 2 | Full release
Pokémon Shining Diamond | Full release

My Youtube channel
Best friends forever
Posted on 05-31-15, 01:25 pm


Karma: 5
Posts: 5/6
Since: 04-05-15
Posted by Arceus
Posted by Bugs1Mints
Ok, so like 75% of the time when I finish making a level, I copy and paste a flag and tower thingy from a different level [since I don't know how to make one myself], and instead of Mario going in the tower, he just goes past it. I've been working on the level for hours with the flag error so I just decided, screw it, Bowser Jr. But I don't want that, so how can I get this thing to stop?


Take a closer look on the original towers. Take a close look how they are constructed and which tiles are used for it. Then you will be able to create an own one.


But still, Mario goes past the tower instead of inside of it. What do I do?
_________________________
k
Posted on 05-31-15, 02:56 pm
Once upon a time there was a tiger.

Karma: 4528
Posts: 1572/2541
Since: 01-17-13
Just make sure the three different tiles composing the tower are there, placed correctly as on the original towers.
Posted on 05-31-15, 03:22 pm
Shyguy


Karma: 112
Posts: 37/84
Since: 05-03-15
I am not 100% sure, but I think the flagpole's base and the tower structure's tiles must be placed exactly 8 tiles apart in order for the end-of-level sequence to function properly, because Mario/Luigi walks 8 tiles to right (give or take a few) after jumping off of the flagpole. Reason I say that is because it seems that is how the spacing appears in levels from the original game.
_________________________
My SMW Central Profile
My Kuribo64 Profile

There are Goombas somewhere below this footer, 'cause typing "Goombas" makes one appear!
Posted on 05-31-15, 03:58 pm
We do what we must because we can

Karma: 5123
Posts: 989/1346
Since: 06-25-13
Posted by Bugs1Mints
But still, Mario goes past the tower instead of inside of it. What do I do?


The you didn't look close enough...
_________________________
Super Mario Bros. - The New Worlds | Full release
Super Mario Castle 2 | Full release
Pokémon Shining Diamond | Full release

My Youtube channel
Best friends forever
Posted on 06-01-15, 07:14 pm


Karma: 5
Posts: 6/6
Since: 04-05-15
Posted by Thierry
Just make sure the three different tiles composing the tower are there, placed correctly as on the original towers.


Yep, this fixed it, thanks.
_________________________
k
Pages: 1