Pages: 1
Posted on 12-14-14, 06:34 pm
Giant Red Koopa


Karma: 806
Posts: 1190/1315
Since: 11-12-12

(Sorry it's flat, the tabs wouldn't work)

This code SHOULD draw a cube of sprites with the width of the width variable and height of the height variable, but it is only drawing the final row! Any ideas why this is happening? (I know not many people here use GameMaker, but I don't think knoledge in GML is needed to help.)
Posted on 12-14-14, 07:28 pm
AxewAxew

Karma: 648
Posts: 579/583
Since: 07-02-11
I'm not familiar with Game Maker, but...
Where are those x and y variables you are using coming from?

Also, you can use [code] tags for code.
test rofl blarg
Posted on 12-15-14, 04:11 pm
Spiny


Karma: 368
Posts: 584/586
Since: 12-02-12
Posted by Nina
I'm not familiar with Game Maker, but...
Where are those x and y variables you are using coming from?

Also, you can use [code] tags for code.
test rofl blarg

Game Maker uses something called rooms, which are spaces where you can place objects, and the objects will do certain things.

The x and y variables are basically the coordinates of the objects in the room.
If this is wrong, sorry!
Posted on 12-16-14, 12:06 am
Giant Red Koopa


Karma: 806
Posts: 1193/1315
Since: 11-12-12
Posted by P-Wing
Posted by Nina
Game Maker uses something called rooms, which are spaces where you can place objects, and the objects will do certain things.

The x and y variables are basically the coordinates of the objects in the room.
If this is wrong, sorry!

Yes you're correct.

Also I tried that code tag, didn't work properly though...

Anyway, the x and y variables couldn't be the problem, because I moved the object and set different values for the width and height, but it was always only the final row of sprites.
Posted on 12-17-14, 08:32 am
(ーωー。)

Karma: 661
Posts: 55/240
Since: 08-12-13
Neither I am familiar with Game Maker, but:
draw_sprite(sprite_index,0,(i*32)-32+x,(d*32)-32+y)

You could try to play around, with the last 2 Variables.
Like, set the last one to just "y", Replace "32" into "16", etc.
This way, you can probably figure it out.
_________________________
Posted on 12-17-14, 10:45 pm
Giant Red Koopa


Karma: 806
Posts: 1197/1315
Since: 11-12-12
Hm, thanks, you gave me an idea I'll try with your code.
Posted on 12-22-14, 11:54 pm
supporter of PixelFox. oh boohoohoo

Karma: -115
Posts: 75/91
Since: 11-30-13
I used to code in Gamemaker, intill I realized how stupid it was, go learn a real programming language, but, 16x16 tiles is probably your best bet, and you should use tiles instead of sprites for floors/etc, only things you interact with (baddie/frendlie), not exacally tiles, trust me, I've used GM for 5 years. And also, I think that drawing a sprite is very useful, instead of doing Instance_Create() you did draw_sprite, Nice. (...)
Posted on 12-26-14, 12:58 am
Giant Red Koopa


Karma: 806
Posts: 1208/1315
Since: 11-12-12
Posted by mario1luigi9
I realized how stupid it was, go learn a real programming language


Why not got punch yourself in the face?

You're not helping, GML is a real programming language, so I don't care.

Serisously, why do you have so much against GM?
Posted on 12-26-14, 01:32 am
(ーωー。)

Karma: 661
Posts: 60/240
Since: 08-12-13
Posted by SaturnYoshi
GML is a real programming language, so I don't care.

Wrong, GML is a Scripting Language, not a Programming Language.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GameMaker:_Studio#Scripting

Posted by SaturnYoshi
Serisously, why do you have so much against GM?

If I'm allowed to answer it, now while we're at it, GameMaker is basically like half work: Half Programming, half Drag-and-Drop.
I understand SaturnYoshi's point entirely, because if you know how to Program, these kind of Apps aren't fun, at all.
I also started out, with Unity3D, and now I'm more and more going towards making stuff from scratch, as Unity3D is basically doing most of the work, for me.

Same happened, with Web Development, a whole lot earlier: I used to use PHP Builders, with an easy-to-use GUI, and now I even make whole PHP Apps, with only a Command Line Text Editor.
_________________________
Posted on 12-26-14, 03:17 pm
Giant Red Koopa


Karma: 806
Posts: 1209/1315
Since: 11-12-12
Posted by Yami
Wrong, GML is a Scripting Language, not a Programming Language.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GameMaker:_Studio#Scripting


Oh

Posted by Yami
If I'm allowed to answer it, now while we're at it, GameMaker is basically like half work: Half Programming, half Drag-and-Drop.
I understand SaturnYoshi's point entirely, because if you know how to Program, these kind of Apps aren't fun, at all.
I also started out, with Unity3D, and now I'm more and more going towards making stuff from scratch, as Unity3D is basically doing most of the work, for me.

Same happened, with Web Development, a whole lot earlier: I used to use PHP Builders, with an easy-to-use GUI, and now I even make whole PHP Apps, with only a Command Line Text Editor.


Drag and drop? KILL IT! KILL IT WITH FIRE!
I never use the drag and drop EVER, it's so mutch more efficient to just use GML (Well, ok, you do sorta need to drag and drop the script object in.)
Pages: 1