Pages: 1
Posted on 12-07-14, 10:35 am
Mariomaster

Karma: 8168
Posts: 397/1613
Since: 06-09-12
So recently I showed a friend NSMBe.
Now he also wants to use it. But he only has a Mac (running 10.10.1 if this matters).

I have no idea how to solve this problem. Any help is greatly appreciated
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 12-07-14, 02:54 pm
swamped with work

Karma: 5354
Posts: 1300/2709
Since: 01-17-13
Tell him to install Windows on his Mac? (I dunno how to do that tough)
Posted on 12-07-14, 05:23 pm
Birdo


Karma: 2669
Posts: 1190/2081
Since: 06-26-11
Try mono, which is like wine, but allows you to run .net apps on other OSs better than installing .net on wine does (.net is a windows-only platform).
Posted on 12-07-14, 05:46 pm
Mariomaster

Karma: 8168
Posts: 398/1613
Since: 06-09-12
Thank you for your respond

I am trying to run NSMBe executing "mono NSMBe5.exe", but it allways throws out error messages. Maybe I did something wrong, but I do not have any idea how to solve these. Has anybody running it correctly using mono (on OS X) and may give me a tutorial?

Also: Using Wine it works, but inside the level editor the tiles do not display correctly. So it is unusable.
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 12-07-14, 07:30 pm
Birdo


Karma: 2669
Posts: 1193/2081
Since: 06-26-11
I think dirbaio made a special version for Mac.

You should search for:
"mono" (with quote marks).

Could you post the error message/s?
Posted on 12-07-14, 08:08 pm (rev. 1 by RicBent on 12-08-14, 07:05 pm)
Mariomaster

Karma: 8168
Posts: 399/1613
Since: 06-09-12
Here are the error messages:

_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 12-07-14, 08:11 pm
swamped with work

Karma: 5354
Posts: 1312/2709
Since: 01-17-13
Posted by Hiccup
I think dirbaio made a special version for Mac.

You should search for:
"mono" (with quote marks).

Could you post the error message/s?


He did it for 4.4 to 4.7 versions (I have them), but I never found a mono version of any NSMBe5 version.
Posted on 12-12-14, 10:47 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 9591
Posts: 4265/4446
Since: 06-08-11
Searching the error on google reveals this StackOverflow question with a possible solution, maybe you'll want to try it:
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/26667656/mac-mono-helloworld-example

Yes, there are no Mono-specific versions since 4.7, there's no need for them, the regular version works fine both on Mono and on Windows now.
Posted on 12-13-14, 01:29 am
I am random… very random.

Karma: 750
Posts: 624/682
Since: 01-17-12
You could install BootCamp on OS X. I know I've done it before when I used to have a MacBook Pro.

Boot Camp allows you to install Windows alongside OS X on your Mac. Only one operating system can be running at a time, so you'll have to restart your Mac to switch between OS X and Windows. If you've ever dual-booted Linux on your Windows PC, it's basically like that.
<Silvreus>It has been 1 month, 4 days, 2 hours, 21 minutes and 3 seconds since I last remember being lazy.

Posted on 02-03-17, 04:29 am, deleted by RicBent: Useless bump
Posted on 02-08-17, 09:14 pm (rev. 3 by  HD Erick Games on 02-08-17, 09:17 pm)
Red Paratroopa
Someone who speaks Portuguese

Karma: 484
Posts: 61/166
Since: 11-02-16
Nsmbe for mac: http://www.mediafire.com/download/5e6cd213awvhihw/NSMBe_Mac.app.zip

ported by: Ndymario

video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-jGcsi-j370

EDIT: i noticed that this is an old thread (can someone delete my post if this is unecessary plz?)
Pages: 1