Arisotura |
Posted on 07-06-13, 01:18 am (rev. 5 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 02:35 am)
|
☭ coffee and cream
Karma: 10542 Posts: 1025/2780 Since: 06-26-11 |
Slap me a billion times if my title is wrong. I don't think anything like that has been done before, though.
This custom sprite is very basic. It is built off the useless sprite #100. All it does is display a 1x2 quad with a texture on it. For those who are interested into making their own sprites, here's the code: source.zip You extract that in the source folder of the ASM hacking template package. You also need to replace your symbols.x with this one: http://nsmbhd.net/get.php?id=1431 Basically, this hooks sprite 100's constructor to use our custom vtable instead of the default one. The rendering is handled in sprite100.c. It works by writing to the GX registers directly, which is what the game does for simple stuff like flat quads. The whole part about loading a texture is explained there: Reversing the 3D tile system Known issue: this doesn't clean up the texture when the sprite is destroyed. The collider created by this sprite is also always in the colliders list. Questions? Ask me. Have fun _________________________ Kuribo64 - zrghij |
TRS |
Posted on 07-06-13, 01:25 am
|
Doesn't actually do anything.
Karma: 3022 Posts: 184/653 Since: 10-22-12 |
So, a question. You say this uses "sprite 100's constructor". Does this mean that you can only make one custom sprite right now, in sprite 100's slot?
♪♫♩♬ |
Arisotura |
Posted on 07-06-13, 01:27 am (rev. 1 by Arisotura on 07-06-13, 01:28 am)
|
☭ coffee and cream
Karma: 10542 Posts: 1026/2780 Since: 06-26-11 |
RicBent |
Posted on 07-06-13, 04:20 pm (rev. 1 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 02:35 am)
|
Mariomaster
Karma: 8573 Posts: 308/1681 Since: 06-09-12 |
Arisotura |
Posted on 07-06-13, 04:25 pm
|
☭ coffee and cream
Karma: 10542 Posts: 1028/2780 Since: 06-26-11 |
RicBent |
Posted on 07-06-13, 04:27 pm
|
Mariomaster
Karma: 8573 Posts: 309/1681 Since: 06-09-12 |
Arisotura |
Posted on 07-06-13, 04:28 pm
|
☭ coffee and cream
Karma: 10542 Posts: 1029/2780 Since: 06-26-11 |
Try using this one: http://nsmbhd.net/get.php?id=1431
If it fails I don't see what else I can do. _________________________ Kuribo64 - zrghij |
RicBent |
Posted on 07-06-13, 04:30 pm
|
Mariomaster
Karma: 8573 Posts: 310/1681 Since: 06-09-12 |
Arisotura |
Posted on 07-07-13, 07:29 pm
|
☭ coffee and cream
Karma: 10542 Posts: 1031/2780 Since: 06-26-11 |
Stunt_LP |
Posted on 07-22-13, 10:08 am
|
Red Cheep-cheep
Reregistered Karma: 13 Posts: 88/214 Since: 03-04-13 |
What does that Sprite make?
|
Dirbaio |
Posted on 07-22-13, 10:57 am
|
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) Karma: 10081 Posts: 3536/4458 Since: 06-08-11 |
Read the first post, it's all explained there.
Seriously. |
ray |
Posted on 08-07-13, 12:49 am (rev. 2 by ray on 08-07-13, 12:52 am)
|
Roy Koopa
Karma: 4011 Posts: 2539/2722 Since: 06-26-11 |
Seriously I don't understand that Texture Loading thingie, so I'm using the hated "is it possible"
See a lots of creative DS Hacking hereIs it possible to load the unused .nsbmds & their corresponding .nsbca with a custom sprite? (The unused SM64DS ones) EDIT: I want to know if it's possible before I start trying it EDIT 2: Well I know everything is possible, but I mean with just that Texture loading thingie, because then I would need to learn only a small part of all the ASM stuff _________________________ If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : ) |
Dirbaio |
Posted on 08-07-13, 12:51 am
|
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) Karma: 10081 Posts: 3620/4458 Since: 06-08-11 |
Yes, it is possible.
Basically when you do ASM hacking you're modifying the game's program code. So ANYTHING is possible. (Unless its a hardware limitation.) :trollface: nah just kidding. Of course it's possible, it'd be a matter of loading it and displaying it, and figuring out how to do that... Whether it's easy or not, that's an entirely different story. |
ray |
Posted on 08-07-13, 12:53 am
|
Roy Koopa
Karma: 4011 Posts: 2540/2722 Since: 06-26-11 |
Oh well, I just edited my post and explained that I wanted to know if it's possible to load it with the texture thingie only. But seems like it won't be possible?
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here_________________________ If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : ) |
Dirbaio |
Posted on 08-07-13, 12:54 am
|
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) Karma: 10081 Posts: 3621/4458 Since: 06-08-11 |
Ah...
I think... no? This sprite displays a flat quad polygon and puts a texture on it... Not a whole 3D model |
ray |
Posted on 08-07-13, 12:55 am
|
Roy Koopa
Karma: 4011 Posts: 2541/2722 Since: 06-26-11 |
NSMB really hates me I can't get my dream to work. F*** you Nintendo.
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here_________________________ If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : ) |
Dirbaio |
Posted on 08-07-13, 12:57 am
|
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) Karma: 10081 Posts: 3622/4458 Since: 06-08-11 |
Well, start learning ASM hacking
You actually have half of it done, you already know C/C++, right? |
ray |
Posted on 08-07-13, 12:59 am
|
Roy Koopa
Karma: 4011 Posts: 2542/2722 Since: 06-26-11 |
Posted by Dirbaio Well, start learning ASM hacking That sounds so ... "easy" ... But when I'm looking into ASM hacks I just have no fucking damn idea how you can reach that kind of stuff with only a few lines o0 For example to not load the NARCs. IIRC it is just 2 lines My mind is blown then, so I don't think it's somewhat easy. And yeah I know C/C++ _________________________ If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : ) |
Dirbaio |
Posted on 08-07-13, 01:06 am
|
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) Karma: 10081 Posts: 3623/4458 Since: 06-08-11 |
Yeah, you're right, most of the work in these "short" ASM hacks is figuring out *what* stuff you have to change, not actually writing the code. I spend hours in IDA Pro looking for stuff here and there
|
ray |
Posted on 08-07-13, 01:09 am (rev. 1 by ray on 08-07-13, 01:12 am)
|
Roy Koopa
Karma: 4011 Posts: 2543/2722 Since: 06-26-11 |
Basicially I could start learning ASM, but I don't have IDA Pro and my current internet connection is so fucking bad (0.04 mbit donstream) that I can't
See a lots of creative DS Hacking hereEDIT: Also I probably won't have the time since I'm trying to make an own MOBA _________________________ If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : ) |