Pages: 1
Posted on 10-31-12, 11:06 pm (rev. 1 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 02:33 am)
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 10010
Posts: 2785/4457
Since: 06-08-11
<center></center>

Fireworlds is a Nintendo DS homebrew game I coded for the GBATemp.net 2011 Homebrew Bounty. The player has to collect energy bits in the level to unlock the exit. It offers a mixture of platform action and puzzles. And it features awesome particle effects!

Download of version 1.1: http://nsmbhd.net/file/yUwQMIdUAVIDUxIm/fireworlds.zip (Please do not mirror.)
What's New:
- Fixed lag in all levels.
- Improved all the levels: Fixed unintended shortcuts and made those very-frustrating-levels less frustrating.
- Reworked the appearance of the fireball. Now it has a more definite shape and looks more like fire!
- Some random graphical improvements/fixes
- It now has a pause screen!

Here's a screenshot of how the fireball looks now!

And another one.


Also I've moved the source code repo to GitHub. (Because git is better!)
https://github.com/Dirbaio/Fireworlds

No new content or levels for now, it's just a bugfix releas. But I'll make an update! Suggestions are welcome!
Posted on 11-01-12, 01:35 am
☭ coffee and cream


Karma: 10415
Posts: 748/2768
Since: 06-26-11
Sounds nice! I should try it out sometimes.

Also your first screenshot has a typo. 'PRESSS SELECT'
_________________________
Kuribo64 - RH-fucking-cafe - Kafuka

zrghij
Posted on 11-01-12, 10:17 am
Roy Koopa


Karma: 4011
Posts: 2269/2722
Since: 06-26-11
Shit just got real. I hope this is going to be a fireworlds 2 in the future
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 11-03-12, 10:58 am
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 10010
Posts: 2789/4457
Since: 06-08-11
Posted by Mega-Mario
Sounds nice! I should try it out sometimes.

Also your first screenshot has a typo. 'PRESSS SELECT'

Thatsssss not a typo. Itssss a nisssse creeperspeak!
Lol jk, thanks for pointing it out, lol.

And i need suggestions and ideas!!
Posted on 11-03-12, 11:24 am
Roy Koopa


Karma: 4011
Posts: 2277/2722
Since: 06-26-11
I would like to see more objects
Like Sprites in NSMB
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 11-03-12, 03:51 pm
Fuzzy
Full mod

Karma: 1183
Posts: 574/785
Since: 06-28-11
I suggest you make some backgrounds for the levels . Black looks ok, but I think it would look much better with some actual images for the background.
Posted on 11-03-12, 04:22 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 10010
Posts: 2791/4457
Since: 06-08-11
More objects? Sure
Maybe enemies that follow you around... Or moving platforms, or whatever

About the background thing: There's a reason there are no backgrounds in Fireworlds... It's motion blur. I'm doing it with display capture: every frame, it captures a "screenshot" and displays it the next frame as background, slightly darker. This doesn't work well with background images

I might remove the motion blur though...
Posted on 11-03-12, 04:37 pm
☭ coffee and cream


Karma: 10415
Posts: 752/2768
Since: 06-26-11
Doesn't capture support capturing only a specific layer? You'd then set the layer's background to be transparent instead of black, and the actual background would go on another layer...
_________________________
Kuribo64 - RH-fucking-cafe - Kafuka

zrghij
Posted on 11-03-12, 04:41 pm
AxewAxew

Karma: 673
Posts: 410/583
Since: 07-02-11
Posted by Dirbaio
More objects? Sure
Maybe enemies that follow you around... Or moving platforms, or whatever

I don't think enemies would fit well into the game.

But the game could definitely benefit from moving platforms and such.
Posted on 11-03-12, 04:46 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 10010
Posts: 2794/4457
Since: 06-08-11
Posted by Mega-Mario
Doesn't capture support capturing only a specific layer? You'd then set the layer's background to be transparent instead of black, and the actual background would go on another layer...

It does. But the thing is that capture doesn't take alpha into account. Capture just gives a completely opaque bitmap. And at the next frame I have to display it covering the whole screen, slightly darker.

What I could do is display it covering the whole screen, semitransparently, and put the BG under it. That would work if the color interpolation had good precision. But it doesn't. It leaves traces of objects onscreen and looks ugly-as-shit overall

It's already possible to see objects leaving traces on semitransparent objects, for example in lava...
Posted on 11-03-12, 04:58 pm
☭ coffee and cream


Karma: 10415
Posts: 753/2768
Since: 06-26-11
It doesn't take alpha into account? How shitty, GBAtek says it does. Oh wait, that must be limited to the 2D layers... blarg.

Or yeah, removing the motion blur alltogether can work too.
_________________________
Kuribo64 - RH-fucking-cafe - Kafuka

zrghij
Posted on 11-03-12, 05:09 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 10010
Posts: 2795/4457
Since: 06-08-11
It doesn't... It outputs a 15bpp bitmap that I can use as solid texture...

And if I remove motion blur, the particle effects look much less cool And they don't look cool in light-colored backgrounds.
IDK
Posted on 11-04-12, 07:42 pm
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 10010
Posts: 2800/4457
Since: 06-08-11
Also, something that I should've mentioned before.  ray made a walkthrough





Pages: 1