Pages: 1
Posted on 11-15-21, 09:54 pm


Karma: 3
Posts: 1/4
Since: 11-15-21
https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/896521468261842984/909566728252571698/IMG_7495.mov does anybody know how to solve this problem (Sound effects won't play)
Posted on 11-16-21, 10:30 am
Mole


Karma: 840
Posts: 353/356
Since: 11-20-15
Check your sound set settings in the level editor. Those control which objects can play sounds.

This can be a case if you cleaned the entire level and made one from scratch.
_________________________
Posted on 11-18-21, 01:27 am


Karma: 3
Posts: 3/4
Since: 11-15-21
what are my sound set settings supposed to be set to?
Posted on 11-19-21, 01:41 am
Red Paragoomba


Karma: 57
Posts: 55/56
Since: 08-27-20
Posted by bonmario
what are my sound set settings supposed to be set to?

Look for the "sound set (hex)" in the "level config" (the palette icon) under "options".
The specific sounds for each set can be found here https://nsmbhd.net/thread/408-sound-set-list/
_________________________

Current Hack
Posted on 11-24-21, 06:36 pm


Karma: 3
Posts: 4/4
Since: 11-15-21
all of the hexes are normal, what do i do?
Posted on 11-25-21, 08:52 pm
Pokey
the boy who always has something up his sleeve

Karma: 655
Posts: 685/690
Since: 02-01-21
In the level only the Hex set works for a specific area for example the Hex set for the bubbles and underwater is 10, the one for the ghost houses C, and more you can find the list here

https://nsmbhd.net/wiki/List_of_Sound_Sets/

And if you have placed the correct Hex sets and they don't work, it is because your music is causing problems.
_________________________
My projects:
Posted on 11-27-21, 12:20 pm
Mole


Karma: 840
Posts: 356/356
Since: 11-20-15
Posted by alpha

And if you have placed the correct Hex sets and they don't work, it is because your music is causing problems.


True.

Most DS games have a sound heap, which is allocation of some of the DS's RAM (which is only 4 MB). The size of sound heap varies for each game.

Your music might be too big in file size (KB), that might be overloading the sound heap. Try editing the MIDI file to reduce its size (remove notes, tracks, etc.) or if possible, try editing the music's sound bank (SBNK) and instruments (SWAR).

I came across that when I was making music hacks for Mario Kart DS, where the game music mutes if the SSEQ/SBNK/SWAR file sizes were too big and don't fit into the sound heap
_________________________
Posted on 11-28-21, 04:07 am
Pokey
the boy who always has something up his sleeve

Karma: 655
Posts: 686/690
Since: 02-01-21
Well editing swar and sbnk is an option but not very reliable (it depends), but I would recommend editing the MIDI as ktrmambiance said, you just delete everything unnecessary including muted tracks.
_________________________
My projects:
Posted on 12-01-21, 07:18 pm
Giant Red Paratroopa
"A delaye, a dela. A delayed game, a delayepb. Bad Game Design." -Shigeru Meat

Karma: 3278
Posts: 1439/1442
Since: 02-12-16
I personally always go for SWAR optimizations first. Unless you have a really bloated MIDI (has only happened to me once, with a MIDI that spammed pan commands to smoothly transition a track from one ear to the other back and forth), there's usually not much to save there. Same with SBNK, those are pretty much always really tiny. SWAR though? Just deleting the samples you don't need and downsampling the ones that are >32768hz helps a ton. You just have to remember to edit the SBNK to match the new sample IDs.
_________________________
Nothing to say, so jadnjkfmnjamnfjkldnajfnjkanfjdksan jsdnvj m.

Pages: 1