MeroMero |
Posted on 06-04-16, 04:12 pm
|
Death by cuteness
Karma: 6589 Posts: 402/598 Since: 05-01-13 |
ray, Freeze I noticed an oversight in the documentation:
_in the Data-Node section you said: "0E02 DOES NOT BELONG TO THE POINTER WHEN CALCULATING IT." but actually it does belong, and rightfully so. If for example I wanted to put the path-data in your example at offset 0×19C0 in the arm9, I would need to replace 08 5C 0E 02 with C0 19 00 02. To calculate the pointer you need the RAM offset of the overlay (or arm9) you're using. For arm9, the RAM offset is 0×2000000. In the case of overlay 8, the RAM offset is 0×20CC2E0 (US version, for EU it is 0×20DE360). Now look at this: 08 5C 0E 02, if you read it in reverse instead, you'll read it as 02 0E 5C 08. This looks like an offset. Since the path-data is located in overlay 8, subtract the RAM offset of overlay 8 to 20E5C08. 0×20E5C08 - 0×20CC2E0 = 0×19928 In an hex editor, if you look at offset 0×19928 in overlay 8, you'll indeed see the path-data corresponding to the pointer. Now let's say I want to move the path-data located there to offset 0×19C0 in the arm9 (either to copy it as-is or to add more paths). To calculate what will be the new pointer, add the RAM offset of arm9 to 19C0. 0×19C0 + 0×2000000 = 0×20019C0 First things first, the result must be 8 hex numbers long, thus you must add as many non significant zeros as needed, 20019C0 must be written as 020019C0. Second, the result must be written in little-endian, thus 02 00 19 C0 (big-endian) must be written as C0 19 00 02 (little-endian). Now you can replace the old pointer (085C0E02) with the new one (C0190002). This will also clear a misunderstanding, technically all nodes are capable of holding a Path-Data size of 20 bytes (4 paths + End data) without having to sacrifice an already existing path-data. The only problem would be to repoint the Path-Data to a place in the RAM that goes unused. Such a place fortunately exists in NSMB, if you decompress the arm9, you can stuff a lot of things between offset 0×19C0 and offset 0×2FFF inclusive. If this place was theoretically to be filled exclusively with path-data, you would be able to define the path-data for up to 284 nodes, which would average 35 nodes per world, which is more than enough! |
Elrodorn |
Posted on 06-04-16, 04:20 pm
|
ray dupe, banned as per the no-dupe rule
Karma: 124 Posts: 6/6 Since: 06-02-16 |
Sweet, that actually makes perfect sense. When I'm home I'll make the Google Document I used for the PDF public so you guys can edit/add any information. There should be something similiar like a Sprite Database for this. Something everyone can edit. In best case it would be implemented into the forum for easy access.
|
KingYoshi |
Posted on 06-04-16, 04:26 pm (rev. 1 by KingYoshi on 06-04-16, 04:26 pm)
|
Fire Snake
Eugene Karma: 3810 Posts: 796/1156 Since: 11-29-11 |
Posted by Elrodorn Sweet, that actually makes perfect sense. When I'm home I'll make the Google Document I used for the PDF public so you guys can edit/add any information. There should be something similiar like a Sprite Database for this. Something everyone can edit. In best case it would be implemented into the forum for easy access. That actually is a really good idea, since there's still stuff about the Worldmap that isn't found out yet. |
RicBent |
Posted on 06-04-16, 07:05 pm
|
Mariomaster
Karma: 8573 Posts: 558/1681 Since: 06-09-12 |
KingYoshi |
Posted on 06-04-16, 07:09 pm (rev. 1 by KingYoshi on 06-04-16, 07:09 pm)
|
Fire Snake
Eugene Karma: 3810 Posts: 797/1156 Since: 11-29-11 |
ray |
Posted on 06-04-16, 08:11 pm
|
Roy Koopa
Karma: 4011 Posts: 2699/2722 Since: 06-26-11 |
Posted by KingYoshi
Personally, I prefer Google Documents Google Docs has way more possibilities than the wiki. _________________________ If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : ) |
KingYoshi |
Posted on 06-04-16, 08:22 pm (rev. 5 by KingYoshi on 06-04-16, 11:41 pm)
|
Fire Snake
Eugene Karma: 3810 Posts: 799/1156 Since: 11-29-11 |
This is a bit offtopic, but not inimportant (if that even is a word).
Those three letters haven't been blue/purple since.. how long was it? 1 year and 3 months? You must admit that this is one of the most interesting events happening on a board like NSMBHD (except that Worldmap doc in this thread's first post ) |
cros107 |
Posted on 06-05-16, 08:34 am
|
Fuzzy
Will never finish a hack Karma: 1873 Posts: 74/778 Since: 03-25-16 |
Posted by KingYoshi inimportant (if that even is a word). Unimportant is the word :p Anyway, I am excited as well, I came to the board a few months ago, after ray was banned. I knew he'd done a lot for NSMB hacking and he was kinda an inspiration Pretty sure ray's Youtube videos were also what led me to the site xD _________________________ hey look, I did a thing |
ray |
Posted on 06-05-16, 10:47 am (rev. 1 by ray on 06-05-16, 10:48 am)
|
Roy Koopa
Karma: 4011 Posts: 2700/2722 Since: 06-26-11 |
Here's the link to the Google Docs document. I put it into the first post as well.
See a lots of creative DS Hacking hereEdit: Nevermind I can't put it into the first post because I can't edit it x) Maybe an admin can copy-paste it from this post. _________________________ If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : ) |
KingYoshi |
Posted on 06-05-16, 11:00 am
|
Fire Snake
Eugene Karma: 3810 Posts: 800/1156 Since: 11-29-11 |
Great! But how does it work when I want to change/add something to that doc? Will my edits be in the doc right after I saved it? Or does the creator have to accept my edits first? Edit: Nevermind I can't put it into the first post because I can't edit it x) Maybe an admin can copy-paste it from this post. I don't know if it's possible for the admins to change that this thread's first post is written by you instead of Elrodorn? |
ray |
Posted on 06-05-16, 11:04 am
|
Roy Koopa
Karma: 4011 Posts: 2701/2722 Since: 06-26-11 |
The edits will appear in real-time. As soon as you edit something, it's there. Multiple people can edit it at once as well.
See a lots of creative DS Hacking hereAlso I think Admins can edit posts, so why wouldn't it be possible? _________________________ If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : ) |
KingYoshi |
Posted on 06-05-16, 11:06 am (rev. 1 by KingYoshi on 06-05-16, 11:16 am)
|
Fire Snake
Eugene Karma: 3810 Posts: 802/1156 Since: 11-29-11 |
Posted by ray The edits will appear in real-time. As soon as you edit something, it's there. Multiple people can edit it at once as well. Cool! Can you also see if other people are working at it? And what they are editing? Also I think Admins can edit posts, so why wouldn't it be possible? Of course admins can edit posts. I've seen them doing that before. But I thought you'd prefer being able to edit the post yourself EDIT: Also (I must be stupid), I don't see any 'Save' button |
ray |
Posted on 06-05-16, 11:50 am
|
Roy Koopa
Karma: 4011 Posts: 2702/2722 Since: 06-26-11 |
Yeah you can see all that.
See a lots of creative DS Hacking hereAnd it saves automatically. _________________________ If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : ) |
Luluca |
Posted on 06-05-16, 01:21 pm (rev. 1 by Luluca on 06-05-16, 01:23 pm)
|
Banned for being a complete retard.
Karma: 84 Posts: 24/140 Since: 02-25-16 |
Sorry bit of topic... I would give my Welcome back to ray.
You're some kind of legend for newbies like me. Your technical contributions in this site were significant to the community, although, on the other hand, I've heard that your behavior earned to you more than a year in the refrigerator. I see our lives as a software which every year we evolved our version. Because this I believe that now, all community a little older and wiser, can leave the first level behind and move on to other more challenging kingdoms. |
KingYoshi |
Posted on 06-05-16, 01:57 pm (rev. 2 by KingYoshi on 06-05-16, 02:25 pm)
|
Fire Snake
Eugene Karma: 3810 Posts: 803/1156 Since: 11-29-11 |
About the new Worldmap Editor, I have some suggestions*:
(*these are based on things that weren't implemented yet in the first WMe and RicBent's WMe) 1.) It would be great if we could see the corresponding Level icons on top of the node images in the 'Node selecting window' (or whatever you'd like to call it), like this (but than without those white squares of course): 2.) In RicBent's WMe, you can only see one path at once. It would be nice if you were able to see all of them at the same time. Of course the selected path should have another colour than the not-selected paths. |
ray |
Posted on 06-05-16, 02:34 pm
|
Roy Koopa
Karma: 4011 Posts: 2703/2722 Since: 06-26-11 |
Posted by KingYoshi
2.) In RicBent's WMe, you can only see one path at once. It would be nice if you were able to see all of them at the same time. Of course the selected path should have another colour than the not-selected paths. As far as I know in RicBent's WMe you can see the animation path, not the actual path. That's a big difference. Freeze is currently working on making those paths visible. It's not yet complete tho. Yellow paths are forward paths and Orange paths are the matching backward paths. Also, I would not recommend RicBent's Animation Path generator since it creates incredible big files. A file created with his generator, storing only one animation, is already 2 KB bigger than Nintendos File with all of the animations. _________________________ If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : ) |
KingYoshi |
Posted on 06-05-16, 02:53 pm
|
Fire Snake
Eugene Karma: 3810 Posts: 804/1156 Since: 11-29-11 |
Posted by ray Posted by KingYoshi
2.) In RicBent's WMe, you can only see one path at once. It would be nice if you were able to see all of them at the same time. Of course the selected path should have another colour than the not-selected paths. As far as I know in RicBent's WMe you can see the animation path, not the actual path. That's a big difference. Freeze is currently working on making those paths visible. It's not yet complete tho. Yellow paths are forward paths and Orange paths are the matching backward paths. Also, I would not recommend RicBent's Animation Path generator since it creates incredible big files. A file created with his generator, storing only one animation, is already 2 KB bigger than Nintendos File with all of the animations. Wow, it seems like you can edit the backward paths independent from each other xD Also, why those diagonal paths? I mean, if you make it into the WMe that way, you'll be able to make 1-line-paths and 2-line-paths only, and no 3+-line-paths. |
ray |
Posted on 06-05-16, 03:00 pm (rev. 1 by ray on 06-05-16, 03:02 pm)
|
Roy Koopa
Karma: 4011 Posts: 2704/2722 Since: 06-26-11 |
Posted by KingYoshi
Wow, it seems like you can edit the backward paths independent from each other xD Also, why those diagonal paths? I mean, if you make it into the WMe that way, you'll be able to make 1-line-paths and 2-line-paths only, and no 3+-line-paths. Of course you can? You have to explain a little bit better what your worry is. I don't quite understand the problem lel. EDIT: The lines in the image have nothing to do with how many lines Mario is walking along. That still is just visual stuff. Those lines represent the paths that exist for every node. The paths that use the animations to make Mario walk. Gosh, it's a little bit confusing. _________________________ If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : ) |
RicBent |
Posted on 06-05-16, 04:32 pm
|
Mariomaster
Karma: 8573 Posts: 559/1681 Since: 06-09-12 |
Freeze |
Posted on 06-06-16, 12:51 pm
|
Karma: 3767 Posts: 2110/2112 Since: 06-28-11 |
Posted by Mariomaster Well, if Freeze has no time for the path animation thing, I could do that. The file sizes were only that big, because I set all types to x/y/z transformations. I was too lazy to implement all different types That would be awesome. But first things first, I need to get the current version to compile and put it on my NSMBe fork on GitHub. |