Pages: 1
Posted on 01-03-16, 05:06 pm
I Am Not Inteligent

Karma: 979
Posts: 107/380
Since: 03-04-14
So I have found these two animations which seem not to be used at all in the final game:



They use the same palettes as the “4: Sky/mushrooms (world 7 style)” and “39: Tower” tilesets, respectively. Although the lava tile does appear in the tower tileset, it isn't animated or maybe it doesn't work properly due to some misconfiguration or stuff. What do you think? Is there a way to make them work on?

I could not…
Posted on 01-03-16, 05:09 pm
Birdo


Karma: 2754
Posts: 1516/2091
Since: 06-26-11
I wonder what the first one was meant to be?
Posted on 01-03-16, 05:11 pm (rev. 1 by  gridatttack on 01-03-16, 05:12 pm)
Birdo


Karma: 3304
Posts: 1790/2021
Since: 06-28-11
The first one seems to be the red dots for the end of the lines that the moving platforms use.

They are in a similar fashion to the ones used in SMB3.
_________________________

Posted on 01-03-16, 05:12 pm (rev. 2 by Asprok on 01-03-16, 05:15 pm)
I Am Not Inteligent

Karma: 979
Posts: 108/380
Since: 03-04-14
You just read my mind. I was about to post that. xD Though I wonder why they ‘removed’ it.

I could not…
Posted on 01-03-16, 06:48 pm
Birdo


Karma: 2754
Posts: 1517/2091
Since: 06-26-11
It does look a bit 8-bit. The used ones seem to fit in a bit better.
Posted on 01-03-16, 09:11 pm
この記号は… 解読できないよ…


Karma: 6010
Posts: 1753/2719
Since: 01-17-13
The animated lava was actually used.

Pick a rom and put some in 1-castle or something.
Posted on 01-03-16, 10:33 pm
I Am Not Inteligent

Karma: 979
Posts: 109/380
Since: 03-04-14
No, it is unused. The animation for the lava tile in the castle tileset does work, it is stored in d_2d_TEN_I_yakata_ncg.bin, but the one we were talking about was the tower one, which does not work.

I could not…
Posted on 01-04-16, 02:24 pm
Red Paratroopa
Friend of N64s and DSes

Karma: 516
Posts: 81/171
Since: 07-26-15
The only castles where the lava animation does not work is the World 8 castles, then again, they do use different tilesets from the other castles. Although, I think when I was still starting with NSMB hacking, I placed a lava tile in the World 1 Tower and if I remember correctly, it did have animations, but my memory could just be playing tricks on me.
_________________________
My Youtube Channel
Never use a flash drive unless you are transferring files...
Posted on 01-04-16, 06:42 pm
Birdo


Karma: 2754
Posts: 1519/2091
Since: 06-26-11
It may depend on the background/tileset combo.
Posted on 01-05-16, 10:02 am (rev. 3 by RicBent on 01-05-16, 10:07 am)
Mariomaster

Karma: 8518
Posts: 525/1681
Since: 06-09-12
Posted by Arctus Platner
The only castles where the lava animation does not work is the World 8 castles, then again, they do use different tilesets from the other castles. Although, I think when I was still starting with NSMB hacking, I placed a lava tile in the World 1 Tower and if I remember correctly, it did have animations, but my memory could just be playing tricks on me.


I can remember using it in 1-Castle working just fine.
In 1-Tower I simply didn't get any animations, just still lava, IIRC.
_________________________
GitHub - Kuribo64 - YouTube
Posted on 04-20-16, 12:34 pm
Goomba


Karma: -133
Posts: 17/22
Since: 07-14-15
i wanted lava in level 1-1 just for fun, changed everything (bg's tileset) to castle but it wont work
Pages: 1