Pages: 12 »
Posted on 08-17-14, 10:16 pm (rev. 5 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 03:04 am)
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 9060
Posts: 4197/4434
Since: 06-08-11
Dirbaio's Background Tiler

This thing converts .png's to .nmb's ready for importing into NSMBe, and does a much better job at it than NSMBe. This is due to a new, much better algorithm I created for this (It does NOT increase the tile number, it's still 320 tiles: it just uses them much better)

Comparison of NSMBe vs the Background Tiler:


DOWNLOAD
v1.1: BackgroundTiler2.zip
v1.0: BackgroundTiler.zip
Includes source code, GPL licensed.

How to use
  • DRAG the PNG of your choice on top of tiler.exe
  • Enter whether it's a top or bottom background. IT WILL NOT WORK on the wrong slot.
  • Press Enter. Done!

It will create two files:
  • image.png.nmb: ready for importing into the editor!
  • image.tiled.png: Preview of the generated .nmb. Not really useful, it's just so you can see what the result looks like without having to import the NMB.
Posted on 08-17-14, 11:00 pm
Buzzy Beetle
Just watching...

Karma: 488
Posts: 383/386
Since: 07-01-11
That's awesome! I can't wait to see more information about this
_________________________
Posted on 08-18-14, 12:43 am
Roy Koopa
The guy who does things.

Karma: 12066
Posts: 1541/2784
Since: 07-01-11
My guess is that the editor is going to support two palette backgrounds.

I was gonna make a tutorial for this but there's no point now.
New Super Mario Bros.: Clone Tag Team 1+2 / New Super Mario Advance + Take 2 / Super Mario: Endless Earth
My two greatest assets have been mental stability and being, like, really smart.
Posted on 08-18-14, 06:35 am
Ninji


Karma: 360
Posts: 200/243
Since: 12-18-12
yay! so the new editor will make the bg smoother when imported because it support two palette backgrounds? thats cool!
anyway, the sample image you use is cute
Posted on 08-18-14, 06:37 am
Doesn't actually do anything.

Karma: 2857
Posts: 491/653
Since: 10-22-12
Actually, no. He showed us this on the IRC and it produces better results because it uses a better algorithm.
♪♫♩♬
Posted on 08-18-14, 10:10 am
Roy Koopa


Karma: 3916
Posts: 2645/2722
Since: 06-26-11
Posted by MarioFanatic64
My guess is that the editor is going to support two palette backgrounds.

I was gonna make a tutorial for this but there's no point now.


That wouldn't increase the amount of tiles available
_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 08-18-14, 10:39 am
Doesn't actually do anything.

Karma: 2857
Posts: 492/653
Since: 10-22-12
Posted by MarioFanatic64
My guess is that the editor is going to support two palette backgrounds.

I was gonna make a tutorial for this but there's no point now.


Well, two-palette backgrounds might not necessarily work with this, but IMO you should still do it if you were planning on it.
♪♫♩♬
Posted on 08-18-14, 12:05 pm
Fuzz Ball
KirbyFanatic64 (LOL)

Karma: 1301
Posts: 919/950
Since: 11-13-11
It will definitely help improving some background importing, this is very helpful! I'm really looking forward to seeing this got implemented!

The new result look much better despite same 8x8 tiles storage.
_________________________

Great games must be fun, not fancy.

Music Hacker needed! PM me if you wish!
Posted on 08-19-14, 03:22 pm
Birdo


Karma: 2556
Posts: 977/2060
Since: 06-26-11
Very nice! I wonder if this can be used to improve texture import quality.
Posted on 08-22-14, 04:14 pm (rev. 1 by Thierry on 08-22-14, 04:14 pm)
Once upon a time there was a tiger.

Karma: 4885
Posts: 1021/2625
Since: 01-17-13
Can you please put this in your new thing and give me the result? It'd be useful to me, because I can't reduce the number of tiles manually.
Posted on 08-22-14, 05:46 pm (rev. 2 by  Dirbaio on 08-22-14, 09:01 pm)
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 9060
Posts: 4206/4434
Since: 06-08-11
ASdasdaf with your request you made me implement alpha support in the importer, it wasn't working before. (It's in fact it's the thing I wanted to fix before release).

Here's the result I get:

NSMB Hills Top.png.nmb

Not bad, hmm?

EDIT: This thing is released! See the first post!
Posted on 08-22-14, 09:23 pm (rev. 3 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 03:04 am)
Roy Koopa


Karma: 3916
Posts: 2646/2722
Since: 06-26-11
I'm curious, why doesn't it work on the wrong slot (top / bot)?

EDIT: BTW, got this when using my img:

_________________________
See a lots of creative DS Hacking here
If you want to support me, you might check out my Patreon Page : )
Posted on 08-22-14, 09:40 pm (rev. 1 by ImageBot on 11-21-16, 03:04 am)
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 9060
Posts: 4207/4434
Since: 06-08-11
Posted by ray
I'm curious, why doesn't it work on the wrong slot (top / bot)?

Because the tile offset is different. The .nmb file contains the raw ncl/ncg/nsc files, the nsc has to be generated with the correct tile offsets for it to work

Posted by ray
EDIT: BTW, got this when using my img:


Shit. A bug in the algorithm.
Can you send me the image that causes the bug? Thanks!
Posted on 08-22-14, 10:01 pm
Doesn't actually do anything.

Karma: 2857
Posts: 496/653
Since: 10-22-12
Can't wait to rerip my backgrounds (once I remember where I put the pictures). :D
♪♫♩♬
Posted on 08-22-14, 11:14 pm (rev. 1 by  Dirbaio on 08-23-14, 12:00 am)
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 9060
Posts: 4208/4434
Since: 06-08-11
 ray: I got your image, I'm not read, I'm trying to fix the bug. ASDASDASD
 TRS: yay

Also I have a few improvements to the algortihm in mind to use tile flipping and the two palettes, that could result in even more improvements to quality. But they'll come later...

EDIT: FIXED!
I fixed  ray's bug and also another bug that caused .nmb's to get corrupted when using it on Windows.

EVERYTHING SHOULD WORK AWESOME NOW.
Posted on 08-23-14, 10:22 am
Red Koopa


Karma: 331
Posts: 89/131
Since: 05-11-13
Why are there such ' - things when I download it?
'BackgroundTiler2.zip'

I have to remove the ' then...
_________________________
I'm out of Hacking. Of ALL HACKING...
I don't know how long, but there are so many reasons why I have no time to be here for a (long) while or to hack some game
sry guys...
Posted on 08-23-14, 09:58 pm (rev. 1 by Thierry on 08-25-14, 03:28 pm)
Once upon a time there was a tiger.

Karma: 4885
Posts: 1024/2625
Since: 01-17-13
Posted by TRS
Can't wait to rerip my backgrounds (once I remember where I put the pictures). :D


Maybe not. Because Dirbaio's BG tiler doesn't render the details better than nsmbe, in some cases.

Dirbaio's BG tiler ->
NSMBe ->

There's still place for progress.

EDIT: Shiiiit I accidentally swapped NSMBe and Dirbaio's BG tiler, so my post made no sense at all. >.<
Posted on 08-23-14, 10:44 pm
Doesn't actually do anything.

Karma: 2857
Posts: 497/653
Since: 10-22-12
Actually, yeah. I've tried to rerip a couple of them. Turns out I had reduced the background size on most of them to be small enough to use 320 tiles or fewer (and repeated the background so it's still 512x512), so this actually doesn't help for these.

That said, this program is still excellent. I had a background that I didn't like how it turned out, but I re-ripped it yesterday with this and it's pretty good.
♪♫♩♬
Posted on 08-24-14, 02:41 am
Fuzz Ball
KirbyFanatic64 (LOL)

Karma: 1301
Posts: 921/950
Since: 11-13-11
 Dirbaio! Is this condisered a bug? It turns some colors into transparent one!

becomes

Thank you! I love this new algorithm BG tiler!
_________________________

Great games must be fun, not fancy.

Music Hacker needed! PM me if you wish!
Posted on 08-24-14, 09:15 am
Doesn't actually do anything.

Karma: 2857
Posts: 498/653
Since: 10-22-12
Did you insert it as a top or bottom background?
♪♫♩♬
Pages: 12 »