Pages: « 123456 »
Posted on 01-13-14, 02:01 am (rev. 1 by  MarioFanatic64 on 01-13-14, 02:09 am)
Roy Koopa
The guy who does things.

Karma: 12046
Posts: 1243/2784
Since: 07-01-11
Posted by mrrikihino
WHY I CANT EDIT THE OBJ_E3_RING.NSBMD IN THE EDITOR????!!!! ITS ALWAYS SAYS IT ALREADY BEING EDITED BUT I"M DOING ANYTHING WITH IT!!!


Do what I said and use a Hex Editor. Trust me, it's not hard at all.

Edit: Here. I haven't tested it yet but it should be blue.
New Super Mario Bros.: Clone Tag Team 1+2 / New Super Mario Advance + Take 2 / Super Mario: Endless Earth
My two greatest assets have been mental stability and being, like, really smart.
Posted on 01-14-14, 04:46 pm
Snifit
Banned

Karma: 16
Posts: 233/286
Since: 08-05-13
In the beta, the Koopas and Goombas are 3-D models. We can get the 3-D Koopa from the chain link one, the shell from the title screen (), and the Goomba from the mega Goomba boss.
Posted on 01-14-14, 05:22 pm
Boomerang Brother
under probation

Karma: 3283
Posts: 290/1007
Since: 11-29-11
The Beta Goomba looks MUCH better than the 2D-Goomba, I think.
It's pity that Nintendo didn't use the 3D-models for Goomba and Koopa Troopa in the final release of NSMB.
Posted on 01-15-14, 08:30 am (rev. 1 by  Dirbaio on 01-15-14, 08:32 am)
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 8939
Posts: 3967/4433
Since: 06-08-11
I think they didn't use 3D models because of performance. You can get slowdown when there are too many polygons in screen, and there can be many goombas and koopas onscreen at the same time, which is not quite true of other enemies. Rendering a 2D sprite is much much faster.

EDIT: And uh, yes, we could get the models, but getting the sprites to display the 3d models would require lots of ASM hacking. Blarg.
Posted on 01-16-14, 01:21 pm
Birdo


Karma: 2541
Posts: 812/2059
Since: 06-26-11
You can try creating a render for the sprite, I tried it once and it appeared not to be low quality (I didn't manage animating it).
_________________________
Will pay unspecified $ for NSMB beta.
Posted on 01-17-14, 05:51 am
Roy Koopa
The guy who does things.

Karma: 12046
Posts: 1245/2784
Since: 07-01-11
iirc someone tried to rip the frames of the Big Goomba boss in the cutscene while it's still normal size (in W4 Castle) and import those frames over the standard Goomba sprite.

We never did see the outcome of that, but theoretically it could still work if someone gave it a shot.
New Super Mario Bros.: Clone Tag Team 1+2 / New Super Mario Advance + Take 2 / Super Mario: Endless Earth
My two greatest assets have been mental stability and being, like, really smart.
Posted on 01-17-14, 07:36 am
Super Mario
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Karma: 8939
Posts: 3972/4433
Since: 06-08-11
I don't think it would look better than the current goomba. The current 2d goomba is a result of a 3d render already, and it's higher quality than what the ds can provide. It seems to have antialiasing
Posted on 01-17-14, 08:00 am
Birdo


Karma: 2541
Posts: 814/2059
Since: 06-26-11
It's worth a try, to see if it really does reduce the quality of the image.
_________________________
Will pay unspecified $ for NSMB beta.
Posted on 01-17-14, 08:33 am (rev. 2 by  MarioFanatic64 on 01-17-14, 08:48 am)
Roy Koopa
The guy who does things.

Karma: 12046
Posts: 1247/2784
Since: 07-01-11
This was the rip



It's worth trying, at the least. I did a quick conversion to 16 colours with GIMP and there's a tiny bit of lost quality but to the untrained eye there's no difference.

Posted by Dirbaio
I don't think it would look better than the current goomba. The current 2d goomba is a result of a 3d render already, and it's higher quality than what the ds can provide. It seems to have antialiasing


This isn't about making a better Goomba, it's about making a beta Goomba. Aha wordplay
New Super Mario Bros.: Clone Tag Team 1+2 / New Super Mario Advance + Take 2 / Super Mario: Endless Earth
My two greatest assets have been mental stability and being, like, really smart.
Posted on 01-18-14, 03:00 pm (rev. 1 by  Hiccup on 01-18-14, 03:01 pm)
Birdo


Karma: 2541
Posts: 815/2059
Since: 06-26-11
I'm glad it doesn't ruin the import, but that rip isn't very good (no offence if you made it).
For my one frame rip I did this:

* Made an invisible tileset
* Put the Mega Goomba in a level with normal lighting,no effects, invisible tileset and no background
* Screenshot it with DeSmuME using OpenGL renderer.
* Made the black background transparent with Paint.NET (gimp will probably do as well) with 0% tolerance (easiest part).
_________________________
Will pay unspecified $ for NSMB beta.
Posted on 01-29-14, 06:12 pm
Boomerang Brother
under probation

Karma: 3283
Posts: 305/1007
Since: 11-29-11
Posted by Dirbaio
I think they didn't use 3D models because of performance. You can get slowdown when there are too many polygons in screen, and there can be many goombas and koopas onscreen at the same time, which is not quite true of other enemies. Rendering a 2D sprite is much much faster.


But they could do a sort of the same as here:
Posted by MarioFanatic64
This was the rip


They could look the Goomba 'better' like the Mega Goomba now.
Then, they had to take pictures of the animation of the Mega Goomba and set those pictures in a 2d-model,
like the normal Goomba now, you get? Then, the normal Goomba would look much better

Or would that costed too much colors than the Nintendo DS can handle?
Posted on 01-29-14, 08:35 pm
Paratroopa


Karma: 406
Posts: 94/146
Since: 07-03-13
I managed to put that goomba instead the original one. The problem is there is only 8 frames for goomba, so..
watch the video

_________________________
New Super Mario Bros. The Next Levels.
Progress:
W1: 100% | W2: 100% | W3: 33% | W4: 100%
Posted on 01-30-14, 04:31 am
Roy Koopa
The guy who does things.

Karma: 12046
Posts: 1259/2784
Since: 07-01-11
Posted by Pedroalone
I managed to put that goomba instead the original one. The problem is there is only 8 frames for goomba, so..
watch the video


Hmmm... Not bad, but not great.

It does make it look like it is a 3D model, but the framerate is a bit choppy (that's to be expected) and the walking animation doesn't quite match up with the distance the Goomba is travelling.

Maybe we should try editing those sprites manually to make the Goomba spread his feet a bit more.
New Super Mario Bros.: Clone Tag Team 1+2 / New Super Mario Advance + Take 2 / Super Mario: Endless Earth
My two greatest assets have been mental stability and being, like, really smart.
Posted on 01-30-14, 07:55 am
Birdo


Karma: 2541
Posts: 816/2059
Since: 06-26-11
I guess a custom animation might be needed.
_________________________
Will pay unspecified $ for NSMB beta.
Posted on 01-30-14, 02:19 pm
Boomerang Brother
under probation

Karma: 3283
Posts: 307/1007
Since: 11-29-11
Posted by Pedroalone
I managed to put that goomba instead the original one. The problem is there is only 8 frames for goomba, so..
watch the video


Wow! Really good, I think. Except that there are only 8 frames, but the Goomba looks great!
Posted on 03-05-14, 08:19 pm (rev. 1 by  Pedroalone on 03-06-14, 04:16 pm)
Paratroopa


Karma: 406
Posts: 101/146
Since: 07-03-13
I just made a quick conversion of the textures of the nokonoko.nsbmd file (the beta version Koopa?) to karon_body and karon_head.nsbmd, a.k.a Dry Bones. This is what happened:


_________________________
New Super Mario Bros. The Next Levels.
Progress:
W1: 100% | W2: 100% | W3: 33% | W4: 100%
Posted on 03-05-14, 08:29 pm (rev. 1 by Thierry on 03-05-14, 09:09 pm)
Once upon a time there was a tiger.

Karma: 4753
Posts: 609/2591
Since: 01-17-13
Wut. I did the same in a hack that I didn't shown yet.... .-.



I hope you had the idea by yourself, and not just stole it from me.
Posted on 03-05-14, 08:54 pm
Paratroopa


Karma: 406
Posts: 102/146
Since: 07-03-13
Posted by Thierry
Wut. I did the same in a game that I didn't shown yet.... .-.



I hope you had the idea by yourself, and not just stole it from me.


Hmm, no. I didn't know this already was used ;P. Anyway that's not for my hack.
_________________________
New Super Mario Bros. The Next Levels.
Progress:
W1: 100% | W2: 100% | W3: 33% | W4: 100%
Posted on 03-05-14, 09:12 pm
We do what we must because we can

Karma: 5128
Posts: 536/1346
Since: 06-25-13
Posted by Thierry
Wut. I did the same in a hack that I didn't shown yet.... .-.


And why didn´t you post it earlier? Your video was 2 months old and I´m sure you recognized this thread in this time. Anyways it doesn´t matter. Luckily Pedroalone had the same good idea
_________________________
Super Mario Bros. - The New Worlds | Full release
Super Mario Castle 2 | Full release
Pokémon Shining Diamond | Full release

My Youtube channel
Best friends forever
Posted on 03-05-14, 09:14 pm
Once upon a time there was a tiger.

Karma: 4753
Posts: 610/2591
Since: 01-17-13
I am just too much busy to even make the damn last things of that hack.
Pages: « 123456 »